Philippine Web3 Festival & Meeting My Boss for the First Time

in Hive PHlast year

Hi, Hivers! I was inactive for a few days because I was preparing for one of the biggest web3 events in metro, the Philippine Web3 Festival. It is currently happening in BGC, Taguig.

I am so thankful for my clients who gave me an opportunity to join the event for free! It's not everyday that we get invited in these kinds of events and to be given the VIP privilege. Super thankful to these beautiful souls!

SDD - Web3 1.png

Met Axie Infinity's Jihoz, too!

Let us have a glimpse on what has happened for the first 2 days.

Nov 17 (Monday) - Pre-registration

It was flowing cocktails in the Island Bar, BGC, where the pre-registration happened. We tired from the trip from Laguna to Taguig and headed straight to the venue after a few minute rest.

SDD - Web3 2.png

I don't have a lot of photos that day but I can say half of the people during the cocktail event are foreigners.

The Philippine Web3 Festival is organized by Yield Guild Games and BlockchainSpace.

Nov 17 (Tuesday) - Conference Day 1

The following day was indeed an exciting day!

We were late for an hour but Filipino time, the national anthem was playing when we arrived at Marquis Events Place.

The program was led by BlockchainSpace's Jen Bilango and YGG's Luis Buenaventura.

SDD - Web3 Fest 3.png

It was followed by the talk from Sec. Jeffrey Ian Dy from Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT), who made a lecture on the history of Web1 to Web3.

SDD - Web3 Fest 4.png

It sounded like a lecture in a university but it was good for people with limited knowledge about Web3 (just like me.)

I was papparazi mode on looking for Company execs - and when I saw Jihoz, it was target locked.

SDD - Web3 Fest 5.pngSDD - Web3 Fest 6.pngSDD - Web3 Fest 7.png

The stage was passed on to Colin Goltra, also from YGG, who discussed the history of crypto in the Philippines.

SDD - Web3 Fest 8.png

Did you know that Philippines is considered the epicenter of Web3 adoption?

And while Colin was speaking, another target was locked, my boss. It was the first time we are meeting (although I was working for him and her wife for more than 2 years already) and I was really nervous! And so I made a skit in my head on how to introduce my self. It goes like this.

Me: Excuse me, pwede pong pa-picture [can I ask for a photo]?
Him: Sure, sure. (We both smiled for the photograph)
Me: Btw, ako po si --- [Btw, I am ---]
Him: Oh, ikaw pala yan?! [Oh, it's you!]

SDD - Web3 Fest 9.png

When nervous, be kengkoy [joker/funny]

I was still nervous after the short talk but it was a nice experience.

It was now time for Jeffrey "Jihoz" Zirlin's talk. For those who are not familiar, Jihoz is one of the founders of Axie Infinity, which made much noise last year for bringing income to families in the Philippines when the pandemic struck.

His talk was followed by a fireside chat with Rappler's Ralf Rivas. They discussed about Axie, what they are doing now and plan for the future.SDD - Web3 Fest 10.png

After a quick break, it was time for Gabby Dizon, YGG's CEO, for a fireside chat hosted by Regina Hing of One News.

SDD - Web3 Fest 11.png

Not to be biased (but maybe I am since I work for him) but his talk/story is truly inspiring especially for those who are just starting in the Web3 space.

SDD - WEb3 Fest 12.png

The next talk was a panel including Beryl Li (YGG), Colin Goltra (YGG), and Ramon Tayag (BloomX), hosted by BitPinas' Mike Mislos. They talked about being Filipino Founders at the Dawn of Open Metaverse. They also discussed about the issue of FTX.

SDD - Web3 Fest 13.png

Another panel followed which is composed of panelists Paul Kim (XPLA), Ryo Matsubara (Oasys), Matt Sorg (Solana), and host (Chris Sirise (Saison Capital). They talked about Game Development in the Web3 space.

Final talk before lunch break is the one of the "legends" in metaverse, Yat Siu of Animoca Brands. In a fireside chat with Malk Kahn, they talked about the importance of Digital Rights.

SDD - Web3 Fest 14.png

It is so surreal to be seeing Yat in person. I remember the days when I was just started working in a blockchain organization and his name was like a regular - need I say famous. To be seeing him now in the the flesh felt different.

 SDD- Web3 Fest 16.pngSDD - Web3 Fest 15.png

I guess I would be making a pause from here. I thought I can cover everything that happened yesterday but I realized a lot of things have happened (exciting things). Let us continue the chitchat tomorrow :)

Oh, by the way, I also did some fan girling with Luis Buenaventura. I wanted to be kengkoy but he looked really busy that time so I just introduced myself properly after the photo. Here's our photo.

SDD - Web3 Fest 17.png

Thank you for reading! See you in the next one :)

Sort:  

What a wonderful event! I understand why you were so excited. And the way to meet your boss is epic! Absolutely brilliant 😃

Heya! Thanks for dropping by. Yeah, this conference made me just more keen into doing my job well and staying on this space because web3 has huge huge things to offer.

Congratulations @glade1989! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - 50000 Ecency Points added to the prize pool!
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 4500 HIVE prize pool
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you for this informative article, you will be very happy if you visit my blog about playtoearn..