A much needed time under the sun

in Hive PH2 years ago



cl4zs2w2m01t415p7djji5nfc_1.jpg
cl4zs3vof01pj0pp73m219jt0_2.jpg
cl4zs6ud401tc15p70ekxdo3b_5.jpg
cl4zs4pd201t715p73qcx18ho_3.jpg
cl4zs5pss01rg2bp7bzi4bthj_4.jpg
cl4zs7rdw01ph1up7fuczcbar_6.jpg
cl4zs8mf301rl2bp7aqqyfgs3_7.jpg
cl4zs9jpr01qs1lp78l0gcqqh_8.jpg

After months of reducing my melanin levels by staying under the roof of home and work, I was finally able to go to the beach and bask under the sun. The first photo shows me attempting calisthenics at the beach. For some reason, Blue Reef Island Resort had a row of rings under their cottages that people can use for pull-ups and hanging stunts. I go to the gym for strength training but secretly wish to be able to do calisthenic stunts. I became a fan of Chris Heria after watching his YouTube exercise videos at the start of the pandemic.

Anyway, I was looking forward to hitting the beach because I thought I was looking a bit pasty and needed a tan. I know that having a darker complexion helps with muscle definition. But aside from my vanity intentions (I'm just coming clean 😅), my goddaughter's birthday was celebrated at the resort. Her mother is a close friend and it was good catching up with her. I also brought my girlfriend with me and I was glad to have them finally meet.

After having lunch and a good chat with my friend and her husband, my girlfriend and I took a tour around the resort. Blue Reef, as we call it, has been around for decades. I remember it being a favorite destination when I was still in high school. It's cheap and offers good accommodations. It has water slides for kids. And it has good security and many lifeguards. It has a patch of white sand where I laid down for my sunbathing. I didn't bring a towel or a mat with me and I ended up with red marks on my body from laying on the coarse sand.

It was low tide when I decided to go for a swim. This was on a weekend so there were a lot of people. I had to walk toward deeper waters while avoiding rowdy kids going back and forth to the slides, and teenagers boarding a small boat and playing the Bongo drum. The atmosphere was pretty festive. There were no indications of a pandemic, I'd say. I spent a couple of minutes in the water before heading back to our cottage and spent the remainder of our time filling our stomachs with lechon.

I didn't get as much tan as I wanted but my time under the sun with the cherished people in my life was more than enough. 😊

📍 Blue Reef Island Resort, Marigondon, Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

nice story, I had a good time reading it :) Seems like you really enjoyed this place and I hope you’ll managed to tan at your desired complexion !

have a pleasant weekend !

I have a few beach trips coming in the next weeks. I'm sure I'll get more than the tan I deserve. 😅

hahaha :)

It looks peaceful and very nice place, my daughters would definitely love the slide 😂 however as you mention, time shared with the ones we love is the most valuable thing.

The kids were having the time of their lives in the slides. I'm sure your daughters will love it there. 😂

I do not doubt it, every child loves the slides in the parks and these that are in the water, my daughters love the water, sure this would be great fun for them and for every child and even us adults. 😂

Ang ganda naman ng resort na yan kabayan, sana makabisita din ako dyan, yun nga lang ang layo.

Hindi natin alam, baka makarating karin dito. 😁

Sana nga (^_^)

Sans all my muscles...😅..
Ang ganda jan

Hehe. Flex pa minsan2x.
Cheap resort sya pero ang ganda na. If high tide, ang sarap ligoan. Safe pa dahil parang circular yung area nag beach nila.

Sa cebu ba yan?