Unlocking New Doors: My Thrilling Interview Experience at Cebu Technological University

in Hive PH2 months ago (edited)

images - 2024-03-05T212601.162.jpeg

Hi guys, how are you feeling? Is everything alright?? Nahh, everything's fine as long as we'll never give up on our daily lives. It's me again, haruki.tls123 with my latest blog about my experienced in my interview for admission in upcoming college years yesterday at Cebu Technological University (CTU) and how thrill, exciting and fun is it.

As a graduating student, I'm on a mission to seize every opportunity that comes my way hihi, especially when it comes to scholarships and universities. Because for me, it show a potential path to dreams, and I want to explore them all. Scholarships is not just financial aid, but also a gateways to knowledge, experience, and maybe the realization for my courses. Each university or programs that offers scholarships stands as a light of possibility, offering unique pathways to personal and my professional growth and also for some students


Last month, in February, I applied for a entrance exam at Cebu Technological University (CTU). It was an online application process.After a nail-biting two-week wait, an email from CTU's main campus brightened my inbox, bearing the news I had qualified to proceed to the next stage: an online examination.

Screenshot_2024-03-05-21-41-10-77_e307a3f9df9f380ebaf106e1dc980bb6.jpg

I applied for the Bachelor of Secondary Education - Major in Mathematics. Originally, I wanted to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Biology with a focus on Zoology because that is my number one and golden course that I want to take. However, CTU only offers a Bachelor of Science in Biology with a focus on Ecology, which isn't exactly what I wanted because I prefer animals over plants, being a botanist is not my forte TwT. So, I chose my alternative option, which is the Bachelor of Secondary Education majoring in Mathematics at CTU.
I was a little bit nervous about this decision because I'm not really good at mathematics. I like numbers, but I struggle with them sometimes. So, to prepare for the Mathematics entrance examination , I started studying some basic elements. I read books on calculus, reviewed my notes from grade 11, practiced basic algebraic expressions, recall some topics about arithmetic and geometric sequences, and even tackled logarithmics and trigonometry.

images - 2024-03-05T215429.406.jpeg

images - 2024-03-05T215415.754.jpeg

Reading through all those topics made my head spin a bit! But I remember my motto: "never give up". This studying might make me dizzy, but it's nothing compared to the sacrifices my parents made for me. So, I'll do whatever it takes to secure my future, not just for me, but for them too.


On the day of the examination, I decided to prioritize this to fully prepare myself. Despite having a class scheduled for that Thursday morning, I knew I couldn't afford to miss this opportunity at CTU. So, I crafted an excuse letter, explaining my absence from class due to personal reasons. With my priorities set, I focused on the upcoming examination. As the examination started, I felt a mix of nervousness and excitement. The test consisted of 50 items covering various topics.To my delight, some questions were related to the topics I had reviewed beforehand. However, there were moments of confusion, especially when faced with questions that required calculations. Without the aid of calculators, it was challenging to navigate through questions involving limitations. Despite these hurdles, I managed to keep my composure.


After receiving the results of the examination, I was literally shocked—in a good way! I had qualified for the next phase, which was the face-to-face interview at the main campus, ahhh the final boss 😭✊🏻. The interview was scheduled for yesterday, and I couldn't believe it was happening so soon.

FB_IMG_1709647473146.jpg

Instead of stressing out, I decided to take a chill approach, surrounded by my supportive friends from "our circle." Their encouragement and positivity made me feel more at ease about the upcoming interview. However, there was one major problem—I had no idea where CTU was located! Many people had warned me that it was quite far away. This realization left me feeling a bit anxious and lost 🥲😓. But with determination and a bit of humor, I resolved to figure it out and make my way to the interview venue, no matter how far it might be.


Yesterday morning, I am fully prepared to the journey at the Cebu City, where the CTU Main Campus is located. However, before setting off, I made a quick stop at school for the weekly flag-raising ceremony. It was a kind of activity every monday morning that I couldn't afford to miss, not only because of its importance but also, perhaps, because I secretly hoped to catch a glimpse of my crush —just kidding 😜❤️ BWAHHAHAA

The real reason I showed up was to check on my group's activities. As their leader, I wanted to ensure everything was in order before I left. After a brief check-in, I hit the road around 9 a.m. But before commuting, I made a pit stop at the church to pray. It's a ritual for me— I always seek guidance and blessings from a higher power, especially on important days like this.

IMG20240304093805.jpg

IMG20240304093738.jpg

Plus, I hadn't quite memorized the route to the CTU campus yet. Luckily, my Auntie offered to drive me there, fearing I might get lost on my own. I was incredibly grateful for her support and guidance—a true blessing in disguise. With her help, I felt more confident about finding my way to the interview venue.


Around 12 p.m., we finally arrived at our destination. But before heading to CTU, we decided to grab some lunch. We settled on dining at the Elizabeth Mall (EMall) to fuel up for the rest of the day.

IMG20240304121225.jpg

IMG20240304121312.jpg

IMG20240304094736.jpg
And a little bit of snacks also ☺️

However, my auntie mentioned that she needed to leave early for another important appointment. Despite her departure, I felt reassured knowing that I could rely on the directions she provided for my journey back home. As I approached the College of Education Department on the second floor, where the interviews were being held, I couldn't help but feel nervous. The sight of fellow applicants waiting in line only added to my nervousness huhu.

IMG20240304134836.jpg

Nevertheless, I made sure to double-check that I had all the necessary documents, including my permit, before stepping into the interview room.

IMG20240304172444.jpg
behind this door, the fate awaits me HAHAHA

IMG20240304135617.jpg


It was already around 4 p.m. when I finally got my turn for the interview, as there were quite a lot of us waiting. After the interview, I couldn't help but feel relieved and happy with how smoothly everything went. What's even more amusing is that the interviewer only asked me two questions! Apparently, I managed to answer everything he had planned to ask in just my response to the first question. He even commented, "Oh, thank you for the well-explained answer. I can't proceed with more questions because you already covered everything and answered some of my questions in advance"...like what sir? HAHAHA I was literally shocked.

Even though English isn't my best language, I felt okay speaking it during the interview. I was happy the interviewer liked my answers. It was surprising when he said I could join an organization at CTU if I picked it. I thought he'd be strict, but he was nice. Being the SSLG President in senior high school, thinking about more responsibilities in college makes me nervous. But I'm determined to handle whatever comes my way with a positive attitude. While I have other universities in mind for scholarships, I hope to pass at CTU, even if it wasn't my first choice. It'll show I can do it and give me new chances to learn and grow.


As I journeyed home, I felt a sense of relief knowing I had someone to accompany me. She happened to be a first-year college student from Cebu Normal University, heading towards San Fernando, which is close to our location in Naga. Even though we were strangers, I appreciated the chance to chat with a new friend on the way home.

Overall, the experience was tiring but fulfilling. It was my first formal interview, and though it was nerve-wracking, I felt happy with how it turned out 🍀✊🏻❤️!!

This journey reminded me of the importance of perseverance and resilience. It's easy to feel daunted by new challenges and unfamiliar situations, but it's essential to push through and embrace them head-on. The road to success is often filled with twists and turns, but it's those moments of uncertainty that shape us and propel us forward 😇💯.
Thank you for reading this blog of mine and I hope your doing your best right now!! haruki.tls123 out!
Sayonara<3

IMG20231116165540.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations I know you did it!

You did well @haruki.tls123. Congratulations in advance and we'll see you at the university🤗

The road to success is often filled with twists and turns, but it's those moments of uncertainty that shape us and propel us forward.

This is indeed true because sometimes our plans will not go the way we wanted, but just always trust the process for someday you'll surely reap what you sow!

Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

Congratulations! I am sure everyone is proud of you. Keep soaring!

Wow, break a leg! It's okay not to get the course that you really want but atleast you have your other alternative which is you also love which is slight I guess hahaahahhaa but its okay and I believe to the qoute that it happens for a reason and find the reason why God put you on that situation. God bless❤️❤️

Welcomeeeee in advance to CTU, ka Techno! 🤩🤩

Eeeyyy congrats dol, 100% maka passing kay gi roasted ang teachers HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Congratulations!You did great! 🥳