Rooftop bar in Poblacion, Makati

in Hive PHlast year

DSCF9605.jpg

Shot with Fuji X-T4

What's the point of going to Makati if you don't go to Poblacion? This area has a lot of hotels, bars, condo, but is mostly known for nightlife. In Kalayaan area, there's one hostel that I really liked that has a chill place, since this area can get wild for partying. xD



2018

z1.jpg

I actually have been here back in 2018 during the Art Fair Philippines. Funny story, when I was traveling to Manila, the airline had to re-route to another city before landing to Manila so there was a bit of a delay. Because of that, we were given one free domestic roundtrip flight. I was able to attend the Art Fair because of the free flight. :P

This was also during the time when I was very new to Ste*m, after having one post on trending I withdrew those liquids and was able to use it for my allowance for the trip hahaha. Sorry, had to try how it feels like getting rewards early on. xDD

Anyway, I stayed at a hostel in Poblacion called Z Hostel. I found out about it online and since I was on a budget, I can't afford to book a room for myself. Since I saw some pictures online how there were a lot of really good ratings, I decided to give it a go.

It's a hostel and in one room there's like 8 beds. This place is mostly popular to foreign tourists although Filipinos also book here as well. There's a room for females-only, males-only, and also a mixed one if you're into it. It was I think 600 pesos ($11) per night which was really cheap. The introvert in me couldn't believe how I was okay being with strangers in a room, and it turned out to be a really nice experience (no stealing happened) :p.



IMG_5567.jpg

Z Hostel rooftop, 2018.

Another thing this place is famous for is its rooftop bar which can be accessed by both guests and outsiders. I feel safe here because it's a chill place and also cos outsiders have to be registered first before going up.



2023

IMG_4310.jpg

Lounge and front desk. You can use their PC and that table football for free.

DSCF9559.jpg

During the recent Art Fair Philippines held at the same place in Makati, I went back here after 5 years!



DSCF9560.jpg

DSCF9565.jpg

DSCF9562.jpg


I was able to convince @spintwister to come here first then we can explore other bars around the area if we get bored. We ended up staying here (and not bar hop lol) and we even went back the next night.



DSCF9569.jpg

I don't know what happened, but they now added the glass walls, probably for safety and also for protection from rain. Still nice tho!



DSCF9582.jpg

DSCF9584.jpg


The prices here were good compared to other bars. Their food and drinks range from 100-250 pesos. I like the taste of their cocktails. :D



DSCF9600.jpg

As an introvert, this is my ideal place since it doesn't force you to socialize you know what I mean? Plus the views of the city is really beautiful. This area in itself doesn't have a lot of the tall buildings (as you can see they are at a distance) so you will really have a nice look at them with a nice wind as well.



IMG_4255.jpg

Their food is so good! My favorite was the chicharon bulaklak and chicken skin.



DSCF9623.jpg

The place is just small but comfy enough and not intimidating. There are like 2 "rooms", one is mostly for eating cos it has tables lol and the other is mostly for standing and dancing. I don't know if there are DJs every night or if it was only for Friday and weekends but luckily there was one when we went there! :D

At 10pm onwards, this place can get really packed especially the dancing area like literally full of people. xD It was nice dancing here cos the guests are mostly my age so they play the music according to my generation's taste. 😌



DSCF9607.jpg

Now this is something new to me and I don't think they opened this before? But apparently there is another "very rooftop" rooftop with tables hahah. So this was my first time coming up in here and wow the view was so nice.



IMG_0469.jpg

This area is mostly for talking to each other, catching up with friends etc and not more of a party area. There's still music since it has a speaker but it's not as loud as downstairs.



IMG_0638.jpg

IMG_0644.jpg




DSCF9605.jpg



IMG_4297.jpg

It was a bit cold in here cos of the wind lol.



DSCF9602.jpg

It was really nice to be back in here not only because of the vibe but also because it was nostalgic and important experience for me. In this place I learned to socialize for the first time, learned to trust strangers, hangout with people from different cultures, and just had a trip alone for the first time. It was amazing how I felt safe and "at home" here with the nice staff as well.



z2.jpg

On the left was me in 2018 vs me in 2023 at the same spot. You can tell by the quality of camera it was shit before hahah but now I'm in a much better place. So much has learned since then and this place was part of that journey. :P

Of course I will come back the next time when I had the chance. :D

Sort:  
 last year  

Yung 2023 mo nag smile na with jacket, pero the rest immortal ka parin.

That’s the Asian face!🤣 I get asked sometimes if I don’t have any classes for today cos they assume I’m in high school. Feel young din dapat! Hahaha

 last year  

Highschool pa talaga yung reference point nila? mas immortal pala yung experiences mo, sakin ID lang to buy alcoholic drinks or get into a club. Nahiya nalang ako mag pakita ng PRC ID ko.

Nakadepende sa suot at ayos ko rin. Pag naka jogging pants/workout clothes tapos walang makeup at ponytail lang, mukhang high school. Pag nakaporma naman nadadagdagan ng konting age🤣 baby face ka pala adam!

 last year  

Kilala mo si Diether Ocampo? Yeah malayo ako sa itsura nun at pangarap lang. Si @jazzhero yung rumored Richard Yap based sa nakakita na sa kanya. Pero nag grow ako ng beard at mustache para lang di na need mag explain. By default call center agent or university student na outfit ko.

Haha nag upgrade sa uni student! Isa lang solusyon jan sa rumor na yan kay jazz, magpakita sya! 🙄 char lang no pressure @jazzhero respect naman namin anonymity mo gahah

oohhh I always recommend Z Hostel for backpackers and those that are okay with sharing rooms with other people as it is a lot cheaper .

A friend of mine used to DJ there every Friday and its cozy. That strip has a lot of roof top bars and speakeasy spots making it a great place to just drink and have fun.

This is very near the place we will have the meet up Lobo.

If you need coffee I recommend Commune as always. Great local coffee. They do have teas as well and other drinks but its the coffee that makes me go back.

Oh we weren't able to explore the street but yeah it was packed! There was also some bars beside it but looks like we won't be able to vibe with those cos they were mostly for older people LOL.

Yeah I saw the venue was just across. XD I will have to try that coffee shop when I come back in here :D

That's near one of my former workplaces, Tycoon Animation, in a building along EDSA named Pet Plan Towers.

And if you can, go check out Gramercy Residences nearby. With 73 floors, it's the tallest building in the Philippines. I've been to the rooftop bar there, 71 Gramercy, twice.

And yeah it's on the 71st floor, making it the highest bar in the country.

We might check it out next time!

Thank you, madam, for bringing me there. It was fun having a complimentary cocktail :D However, let us not go there when it's weekend. For sure, they will make magic water cocktails again that doesnt make you drunk and keep you buying more :D

Hahaha I forgot to mention that in the blog! True. Let’s go weekdays para iwas scam🤣🤣 I will still go kahit ganun nangyari hahah

Got to say its amazing how you found pictures from five years ago, would take me a day if Im looking for any of my pictures from 5 years ago, the food looks good and the glass walls probably to prevent people to throw things or like someone's glass falls by accident, I really miss traveling and has become a bit expensive doing it with the entire family, the dj looking out the windows looks cool, creative

Thankfully I had them stored in an external drive and are also organized. 😎

Yeah it is quite expensive but I’m also seeing a few flight discounts now and then. Not sure about hotels tho

 last year  

Nice cozy place!! Anhi ta..? HAHA charot lang!
But seriously, I think it's nice to hang out here and see MNL at night.
I'm not sure about meeting with people but well, the introverted you overcame it so I guess I'll do well too. 😅
Love the selfie at the end! Nice upgrade of the phone. 😅

Tabok rani sa venue gorl hahah. If ever mudayon ko kay muadto jud ko diri balik, depende nalang if u wanna come with me 🤣. You can go with friends you’re familiar with para dili ka ma forced to socialize to others. But yeah I liked socializing here cos most guests here are foreigners, so they’re more of a friendly non malicious way and not necessarily hitting on you or something lol. Topics are most probably about what to do in the Philippines and not your personal life. 🤣

the cityscape looks so beautiful 😍 would love to experience a bar in a rooftop 😍

This is just across the street from the venue of the meetup on April. Hahaha gooo!

@wittyzell and @cthings i wonder if we could come here after the party

 last year  

Hahaha same thoughts but let's see..

 last year  

leggooo!

 last year  

Ahhh, what a nice experience. I want to experience something like this even once in my life. Just for experience na, I want to check if I really like a peaceful place like no hotels, bars or a tall building everywhere. If ever this place is a perfect place for me to test it hehe. I can already imagine myself sitting on the corner, sipping alcohol and just enjoying the view. Wahhhhh, I'm so inggit huehue.

Yeah it might be your place. :D Just go to the room where you can sit and not the dance/party floor... but if you get drunk and feel like dancing you can also always just go to the party floor hahah

 11 months ago  

I stayed here at Z Hostel and met my friends here in Poblacion, Makati. Must go place and meet-up place namin ito. hehe!

Yess hahah I see it’s really popular for pipz our age :D

 11 months ago  

hahaha, oo it was fun to party!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

ganda naman ng rooftop view. pretty lights.

Yes! Mahangin din :D

Rooftop bars are a whole lot of fun, for sure. I got to spend some quality time on one down in Miami a couple months back overlooking the ocean. Very beautiful.

I was also at a house party just a few weeks ago when I was telling the owner that he needed a dog so introverts like me could sit on the floor and play with the dog instead of trying to engage in small talk. I feel your introvert desires!

these places to dine or have an aperitif are beautiful