EMBARKING ON A HEARTWARMING ADVENTURE ON MY PARENTS' FARM

in Hive PH7 months ago
Hi, my dear Hivers! How have you been? It's been almost a week since my last update. I've been checking Hive from time to time, reading your posts, but haven't posted on my wall yet because I've been too busy with school lately due to our midterm exams. Now, I am so happy that I finally have the time to catch up with you guys with a new blog!

Screenshot_2023_1114_202910.jpg


I actually missed writing here since it has been part of my routine, and I missed talking a lot with you. I missed you, just like I miss home. So as for today, I'll be sharing more of our life in the province. I want to give you guys a glimpse of our farm. Yes, we do have a farm in the province, which we just had this year, and it's all of our parents' sweat and hard work. Now, this blog also serves as an appreciation post for my parents, who have been so hardworking always in all ways, and I just want to share with you how amazing they are by sharing all these to you guys.
Picsart_23-11-14_20-24-40-529.jpg
Initially, my parents didn't actually have full knowledge of how to do farming at all. They just learned from the experienced ones. It all started when my father stopped working in the city as a company driver due to some reasons and decided to have a farm instead of going to faraway places.
KOLORO_1699947603321.jpg
This picture was taken last week during our visit to the farm with my father and my sister. During that long break from work and school, we accompanied our parents everyday whenever they went to check on the carabao and the farm.
KOLORO_1698800670213.jpg
KOLORO_1698800649670.jpg
In this modern time, it is already common for farmers to have tractors plow the fields. But here in our place, corn farmers are still practicing the traditional way of plowing the farm by using "carabao", a water buffalo used by Filipinos. Carabao is the national animal of the Philippines, which has actually been very significant in Philippine culture because it has been an essential being in people's subsistence since before, when farming was the primary source of livelihood.
KOLORO_1698800624617.jpg
KOLORO_1698800526331.jpg
This carabao is actually not ours. It belongs to my uncle, my father's younger brother, who used to own a farm. However, my father took over the farm and initiated taking care of the carabao since my uncle has to work in the city. My father has already learned and is still continuously learning how to plow. He has been asking for guidance from his older sister's husband, basically my uncle, who is a farmer, for so long.


MY PARENTS' FARM

“Before the reward, there must be labor. You plant before you harvest. You sow in tears before you reap joy.” – Ralph Ransom

KOLORO_1698800458541.jpg
KOLORO_1698800436086.jpg
KOLORO_1698800487233.jpg
KOLORO_1698799842600.jpg
There has never been an easy way to farm. You may not know it, but I am one of those teenagers who still help harvest corn up until today. My mother loves it, so do I. Though there was food on the table already, that is not what we rely on. It's the thought that there's no need to buy rice in the market because we already have corn.
KOLORO_1698800410676.jpg
It is really very beneficial, particularly in these expensive times for both rice and corn. In this way, we could save money. Although it is exhausting, it is enjoyable, especially when done with cousins and neighbors. We've been practicing it up since then, which is probably why I've become so accustomed to it. With the sun's heat, I don't mind at all. In all honesty, I don't care, I'm happy that my parents would be pleased if harvest time arrived, and I came home from the city. We consider it to be a family tradition.
KOLORO_1698799489193.jpg
As of now, crops are still young and not ready to harvest. It takes more time. I'm proud and happy that my parents will soon reap the reason behind all their tears and sweats in the farm. I am forever thankful and blessed to have them.
KOLORO_1698799501700.jpg
Now, there are some young corns that are already good to eat when boiled or grilled. My parents had some last week for us, and they were the sweetest, indeed. My parents always melt my heart and make me cry silently in gratefulness. More than that, I know some here are already familiar with boiled and grilled young corns, but for those who don't know yet, here's how it looks like.

Boiled Corn

KOLORO_1699947874857.jpg
KOLORO_1699947895332.jpg

Grilled Corn

KOLORO_1699947795733.jpg
KOLORO_1699947772267.jpg
KOLORO_1699947673652.jpg
KOLORO_1699947752892.jpg
In Cebuano, we call this "anagon," which comes from the word "anag," which means grill. We grilled the corn on the farm, and the plant that we took it from has been given to the carabao. We eat the corn, and he eats the leaves.
KOLORO_1699947732837.jpg
KOLORO_1699947701296.jpg
We also have bananas, moringa leaves, malabar spinach, and peanuts on the farm. It's indeed abundant there. It's too expensive in the marketplace but free in the province if you plant, because you will actually reap what you sow.
IMG_20231114_184209.jpg
KOLORO_1698799293394.jpg
KOLORO_1698799560949.jpg
KOLORO_1698799577623.jpg
Moreover, we also have this little hut on the farm, which was made from bamboo trees. My father and his brothers built that one as a resting place.
KOLORO_1698800577591.jpg
KOLORO_1698800191634.jpg
KOLORO_1698800274149.jpg
KOLORO_1698800295929.jpg

SCENERY ON THE FARM

KOLORO_1698799470468.jpg
KOLORO_1698799321304.jpg
KOLORO_1698800603636.jpg
KOLORO_1698800065482.jpg
This is what you could see on the farm. A place where you could definitely feel the therapeutic embrace of nature. Stay tuned for more exciting stories and vistas I'll be sharing with you soon.


1699961840728.jpg
Overall, this photo concludes this blog. Salute to all loving parents out there and to those who stand as parents for their siblings. You are all appreciated and recognized. You've been our constant inspiration in life. No matter what, we will always look up to you. Thanks for your selflessness and sacrifices.

Kudos to all farmers around the world who have been the constant providers of everyone's food, especially rice, corn, fruits, and vegetables. May you all have more harvests and a prosperous life.

Lastly, thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog, my dear Hivers. I value your unwavering support always. See you all around!

Sort:  

The vibe on the province farm feels different. Especially when you are with your loved ones. Happy to see you ejoying your time.

Thank you so much, sir @intoy.bugoy, for your constant support. 🥰 Definitely, it's very heart-melting seeing my parents' labor within the abundance of the farm. I mean, they're of age but still have done all these things. They deserve the world, and I'm working on providing that to them. Yes, I definitely enjoyed my time there. ❤️

Province life is the best. Everything is fresh. Kadako sa inyong hacienda. Hehe

Thank you so much, @missleray. 🥰 Grabe sad kahago ma'am kay lage dakodako jud siya buyag. 🥹

How I love to see the plants in the farm❤️You are so lucky of your parents Ma'am @jeannmazing because they are so hardworking.Thanks for sharing❤️

Yes, ma'am, I am indeed lucky, and I'm forever grateful for that. My parents didn't grow rich, and what they actually just told us is that they don't want us to experience what they've been through before. All that serves as my motivation not to give up because they're definitely my source of inspiration and strength. Thank you so much, ma'am @lovinglymers.

You are always welcome Ma'am @jeannmazing ❤️🙂

How are you dear friend @jeannmazing good morning
I hope you are doing well in your midterms. It's great to get away from our commitments and have time to spend in #hive
How beautiful is what you say about your parents, they will be very proud of you.
A wise decision by your father when he acquired this beautiful farm last year.
I love to see the land planted, and the fruit they have reaped from what they planted with so much sacrifice. My congratulations to all
Beautiful photographs, you can see how beautiful the landscape of your farm is.
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid day.

Wow, thank you so much, sir @jlufer, for your very engaging feedback. I am so happy that I somehow touched you with my story and with the photographs I took on the farm. It is indeed beautiful, and what made everything more beautiful is the labor of my parents, which you just acknowledged inspirationally. This has motivated me more to share a lot of things like this, highlighting my parents' hard work. Yeah, I surely will give updates with the fruits they'll reap soon, at the perfect time. I appreciate the greetings, and have a good day ahead! 🥰

Wow. Thank you for sharing your family farm ma'am @jeannmazing. Your story reminds me of our farm when I was a kid. It's really refreshing to explore the features of your farm.

That's good to hear, sir @edver143. I'm happy that I somehow reminded you of one of your childhood memories. Those may include tough moments, considering farming, but those are what shaped you into who you are today. It's my pleasure to share this wonderful labor of my beloved parents with everyone, and I totally agree, everything that can be seen on the farm is refreshing. 🤗❤️

Farming has been the main occupation on my father side. I am a farmer's son, but I grew up a city boy and spent most of my childhood focusing on academics and towards a career away from farming.

Now as I get older, I appreciate farming but more on the business side. I don't have the skills of a farmer just like my father had, but I would like to continue farming as a business. Thank you for sharing such farming blogs, these are things I look forward to here in Hive. I will be learning from posts like these :)

It's definitely heartwarming, sir @scion02b, the explicit appreciation that you have for your father's main occupation. It's actually a wise idea to have farming as a business. Though it would take a lot of investment as well as risks, the fruits to yield after all the tears will be reaped with so much joy. I wish you all the best for your future farming endeavor. Thanks for dropping your thoughts here, I much appreciate it! ❤️❤️

Farming has been the main occupation on my father side. I am a farmer's son, but I grew up a city boy and spent most of my childhood focusing on academics and towards a career away from farming.

Now as I get older, I appreciate farming but more on the business side. I don't have the skills of a farmer just like my father had, but I would like to continue farming as a business. Thank you for sharing such farming blogs, these are things I look forward to here in Hive. I will be learning from posts like these :)

This makes me miss province and my childhood a lot! Thank you for sharing this, ma'am!💗

You're welcome, ma'am @higeeyuh, and I thank you too for dropping by. I appreciate it and I'm glad that I've been able to give you a nostalgic feeling of your childhood days. 🥰

Congratulations @jeannmazing! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023

Thank you so much, @hivebuzz, for constantly reminding me of my achievements here on Hive! 🥰

You're welcome @jeannmazing! Have a nice day 😊👍🌹

Wow, salute to your parents @jeannmazing , I know someday, they will eventually reap the rewards of all their sacrifices and hard work, no doubt. Continue to make your family proud madieeeee, naa kay kiss nko unya😘

Thank you so much, @mswhimsical! 🤩❤️ Soon, they will, and I am looking forward to abundant harvests. 🥰 Yay, naol kiss² 💋

Iba talaga ang vibe pag nasa farm, no? Super nakaka refresh ng soul, especially pag bagong harvest ang food. :)

!PGM !PIZZA

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Tama ka po dyan, sir @splintercell-01. 🤗

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@splintercell-01(1/5) tipped @jeannmazing

Well... I value your blogging!

What a beautiful, interesting human you are. Really glad to have found you and look forward to seeing more of you journey.

Very cool! 😎

Wow, I really appreciate that. I hope that you know how your words mean a lot to me. To be honest, it makes me so happy knowing that you've seen me positively, especially my blogs, as valuable. Yes, I assure you, I'll be sharing more of my journeys. Thank you so much, @nickydee. ❤️❤️