Reviving the Artist Within through Self-Portrait | Introduction & Art Blog

in Hive PH2 months ago (edited)

 " "432984358_7545903882133491_5841364430946603471_n.jpg""

 "sophia-bella-demo.signature.webp"
I am a 22-year old art hobbyist from the Philippines, hopefully back for good after a long hiatus.
This is dedicated to my old self - a self-portrait to revive my long-lost creativity and motivation.


 "eb-garamond.12-regular.webp"

As an artist, I think the desire to create art never dies; it is repressed. Many external factors can affect our artistic side - people may not like your art based on their preferences, your pieces may not earn that much at first, and other reasons. By experience, I have daily thoughts of art, but I just choose not to start creating. I guess many people may be found guilty of that - one moment, you'd find yourself lying down, and you'd be already bombarded with ideas of art...

"I wish to find my art style."
"I think this is a nice concept to draw."
"I do not have time for this right now, maybe later."

And who would know? You may have an entire timelapse and speed-paint in your head... but where's the artwork? In the end, it is just a creative thought.

Spontaneity and decisiveness are essential in art - sometimes, you just have to start scribbling. Overthinking may hinder you from beginning what you seek. Personally, this self-portrait was a product of these two, combined with heavy convincing that I should just "trust the process".

This art took me several canvasses - most empty and some doodled with lines, shapes, and shades.

 "image.png"

But, finally... I'm glad I could "just do it."
 "432441756_1448574046076794_2147875380473572184_n.jpg"


 "eb-garamond.12-regular.webp"

I think there are a lot of benefits to drawing yourself - it can be a tool for skill development and even free therapy. But those are just the basics. I think a self-portrait enables the expression of one's identity and character - also through the style it's drawn. It can even empower and boost self-esteem and self-confidence both as a human being and an artist.


 "eb-garamond.12-regular.webp"

As I have mentioned, the hardest part is always the beginning. If being positively impulsive is not helping at all, it is important that an artist has a foundation. This is where consistency vs. motivation comes in. Of course, I know that every artist is different in character and goals... but personally, being consistent is more effective than relying on motivation - it is better to do little daily than to do big on day 1 and do nothing on day 2.

 "1683057534946.jpg"
Source


During the hiatus, I have learned that I should not let myself be passive for such a long time; sometimes, you must get up and act to reach your goals. We should remember that there are external forces that may help or break us, but the final decision still starts within us.

If you are an artist on a hiatus, or maybe you're facing a major art block right now. Remember that your art does not have to be perfect at once; flaws are what make you human - experimentations can lead to final outputs; the key is also to not be too idle and stagnant.

I hope my beginning also helps you.
I am excited to meet you all.
Get your brushes and start drawing yourself!

 "sophia-bella-demo.signature.webp"

Hope everything goes well.


Hopefully, I'll be more productive, and I look forward to building my profile here better and in other platforms as well!