Philippine Mythical Creatures

in Hive PH4 years ago

All photos below are drawn by me

In my previous post, I have shared my own experience with one of the well-known mythical creatures of the Philippines which is the Aswang. Supposedly, I want to write about other Philippine mythical creatures last week, but I apologize that I was not in the mood to write and I was only on the mood to draw.

But now, let me share with you other famous mythical creatures that we have.

TIKBALANG

Tikbalang are known to be a creature with horse as upper part of the body and has a human lower body part.

I also saw a Tikbalang when I was around six years old. I saw the Tikbalang looking at my father and neighbors who were drinking liquor at that time. When I share that experience with someone, they would just say that maybe I was just imagining things. But for me, I could say that what I saw was a Tikbalang.

SIGBIN

A sigbin is a dog-like creature with long pointed ears, longer tails, sharp fangs and nails, and bigger than a regular dog.

I was 14 years old when I saw a sigbin. It was already evening when I walked in the little hallway going inside the compound where we lived. I was alone that evening and when I was about to pass along the little hallway, I noticed this dog-like creature which is staring at me. I felt nervous and I don’t know what to do because I was scared with what I saw. He was eating something before he noticed and stared at me. Then I ran as fast as I could along the little hallway and I don’t know if it chased me.

When I arrived inside the neighborhood, I immediately told our neighbors that I saw a sigbin. They accompanied me and when we went back to where I saw the sigbin, but nothing was there. All we saw was the some left-over foods scattering around the hallway.

Others might say that what I saw was just a dog, but I can tell that its feature is not similar to a regular dog. It looked like a sigbin as shown on televisions and documentaries.

KAPRE

Kapre are known to be a hairy, dark and big male creature which loves smoking a tobacco and hangs out on a big tree.

We have 2 big breadfruit trees beside our house and most of our neighbors has shared that they saw a kapre on those trees. Our neighbors named him with “George”. Everytime we talk about him, we usually call him with that name.

I have not seen George personally, but we believe that he exists because we think that our neighbors will not gain something from sharing false stories.

MANANANGGAL

Manananggal is a female creature who flies while the lower body part remains on the ground. Like aswang, manananggal preys on pregnant women. Some also said that they don’t only choose pregnant women but they also victimized even a normal human.

I don’t have any experience with this manananggal and I have only heard stories on the television and rumors from friends.

DUWENDE

Duwende or dwarf in English is said to be tiny creature which loves playing with people. They said that duwende loves to hide things at the time when people need it the most and would just return that thing they hide when the owner does not intentionally look for it. It is also said that they lived in small branches of trees or in a mound. When duwendes are hurt by people, they will have their revenge by giving an unexplainable illness to those who have hurt them and the illness would be gone if they ask for Duwende’s apology. That is why we teach our young ones to always be careful not to touch anything in a mound and branches of trees because we might disturb or hurt a duwende.

We still have more mythical creatures in the Philippines but I only shared the creatures which I have knowledge about. True or not, it is a fact that there are still Filipinos who believes in these creatures especially those that have their first hand experiences.

I hope you enjoyed reading! Until next time! :)

(By the way, thank you @mrnightmare89 for choosing my entry as 1st place in your contest. Thank you for the delegation prize as well. God bless you.)

Sort:  

gihurot naman nmo tanan wakwak sa Pilipinas migo. hahaha

Pero nindot imong drawing og ok man sad pagkasulat.

Congratulations @jrico! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!