Revisiting My Roots

in Hive PH13 days ago

Since we left my hometown ( Obong, Dalaguete, Cebu) way back in 2009 and transferred here at Ilihan, Tabogon, Cebu. I have been back there only once . This blog is about the second time we've been to Dalaguete since our first visit there .

1714133472963.jpg

So when my uncle (my mother's brother) asks my mom to visit them there, he want us to go with my mom. It's been a long time since we've seen each other and he wants to see us again. He lives with a good life because of his daughters working abroad. He sent us money to shoulder our fare back and forth.

1714197943040.jpg

I posted a my day at the begining of our travel. How excited I was, imagining what my hometown look like now,with my childhood friends , my relatives there , as well as the fact that I'm also excited to meet again my uncle's and titas there.

1714197263564.jpg

I took a selfie with my daughter as a remembrance of traveling together to my hometown.

1714197259703.jpg

We reach the South Bus Terminal, and we line up to buy ticket going to Dalaguete. We're still halfway there but my butt is already numb from sitting for hours in the bus.

1714197255635.jpg

After a long time of traveling, we have already touch down at our destination.

1714198790927.jpg

These are my mother's siblings, some have already passed away, and her one sister is in Manila. They are not complete in this picture. My mother is resting because she's exhausted from the long trip.

1714198779396.jpg

These are some of my relatives, but they are few in this picture but when we gathered together, we are too many and could occupy the whole barangay 😂, just joking around.

1714197215671.jpg

1714197222406.jpg

1714197211368.jpg

1714197219195.jpg

1714197232609.jpg

My kids asked me if they could go to the famous Obong Spring which is located just a short walk from my uncle's house. I went there with my kids and mom, how amazed I was by looking at the transition of the place . It was not like this before when I was young. How beautiful this spring is now, this is the place where I learned how to swim, this is my training place .

1714197229017.jpg

()

My cousin brought her daughter's portable swimming pool and let my kids experience being inside it. They are enjoying the moment, and I'm worried at the same time because the portable swimming pool might be flipped if the weight inside is not balanced. I know how to swim but I can't save people at the same time.

1714198721539.jpg

We went home after they were contented with swimming there. Then I meet my cousins and sister who are also going to Obong Spring to have a swim. They ask me to take a picture with them.

1714134230900.jpg

1714134234597.jpg

1714134225698.jpg

I visit our old house,the place where I grew. And I reached there seeing my cousins, uncle and some of our distant relatives have a drink there and chit chatting all day.

1714133482344.jpg

We went to our town's sea wall, and strolles , looking at the transition of the place.
1714197196390.jpg

We were celebrating my son's birthday, when my cousins came home from swimming. A simple celebration but still my son is happy, that's what'important.

1714197178778.jpg

1714197165232.jpg

The next day at about 4:pm in the afternoon. I asked my mom to go to the sea to get some seashells and cook it for dinner, just like we used to when I was young. The sea is also within a walking distance from my uncle's house. What you see is a port, ships wil take on dolomite here. Deliver it in or outside our country to make into dolomite made utensils or used in constructing a building. Have you noticed the manila bay? It is made from dolomite, and the dolomite they used is from this place .

1714197170058.jpg

1714197174054.jpg

1714202673577.jpg

I bring my kids with us to get some seashells. I want them to experience collecting seashells from the sea,because the place where we recently lived is so far from the sea. They are really having a good time.

1714197161442.jpg

We went home at almost 6 in the late afternoon because we could not see the shells anymore. It's getting dark, and the street lights near the sea are already lit up. It's time to go home.

Traveling from Ilihan to Dalaguete is so tiring but the adventure there, the scenery , the people whom I grew up with, my relatives is all worth the trip. I can actually say this place is home.

I will end my blog here, and see you in another post. I will show you my adventures of coming back at my hometown for the very first time since we transferred here at Ilihan.

Sort:  

What I love about your visit in Dalaguete is your bond together with your family in a spring.

That spring ma'am holds a special place in my heart.

I heard a lot of beautiful things and places in Dumaguete Ma'am @juralyrondina
That's good that you able to revisit the place and bond with your relatives and family.

I was reluctant at first to go there ma'am, but when I actually been there , everything was all worth the trip

Surely you enjoy your bond together maam!I hope I can visit Dalaguete too someday.Thankyou for sharing this &God bless you😊💗

 12 days ago  

Seems like you all had a happy bonding time with your family and relatives, like fun reunion woth them ✨❤️.

Absolutely ma'am, it was a delightful time. Having my kin together really recharged my spirit.

The visit must so exciting @juralyrondina since you've discovered changes of the place.

It was indeed ma'am. Seeing how much the place changes makaingon kos akong kaugalingon nga, dugay na gyud diay kaayo Kong wla kabalik ma'am. Mausab na ang tanan,

Yeah.. same here sa Tabogon. It did change a lot. 😅😅 @juralyrondina

It always Fun to visit to your uncle's house and have memorable moments there... it is great to Enjoy some happy time with your love ones...

Absolutely ma'am . It's always a joy to spend time there 😀