Homemade Barbecue Glazed Nuggets with Turmeric Curry Rice

in Hive PHlast year

Let's have a food trip with this combo recipe. I was craving for chicken nuggets back then but I want to eat a healthy version instead of the frozen or processed one. I came up with the idea to cook a homemade chicken nuggets and I want to put a glaze for a twist and added flavor so I searched for a recipe and followed the tutorial I found. I want it served with fried rice. This is an experiment I have done with ground chicken while experimenting on a unique variety of fried rice. Here's the recipe.

NUGGETS

I prepared the nuggets while the rice cooker is working on my rice. Here are the ingredients I used for the homemade nuggets.

  • ground chicken
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • salt
  • ground pepper
  • flour
  • egg
  • bread crumbs
  • oil
  • butter
  • barbecue sauce
  • sugar
  • paprika powder
  • garlic bits

Since I want the flavor to penetrate inside, the first thing I did is to marinate ground chicken in garlic and onion powder, salt, and pepper for 30 minutes. While marinating, I started to beat the egg to be used later.

The next step to mold the ground chicken into your desired shape then roll it on the flour. Drench it in egg wash until each piece is fully covered. The last part of preparing the nuggets is to cover it with a mixture of bread crumbs, paprika powder, garlic powder, onion powder, and salt. Start cooking the nuggets.

Put the oil on the pan then fry the nuggets once it is hot enough. Add butter and continue frying until it is golden brown.

For the barbcue glaze, mix the sugar and paprika powder with barbecue sauce until they are dissolved. Heat the mixture on a separate pan until you get your desired consistency for the glaze. Set aside. Once the nuggets are cooked, pour the barbecue glaze mixture and flip the nuggets until they are all coated. Garnish with garlic bits then set aside.

TURMERIC CURRY RICE

I craved for a unique fried rice to pair with the chicken nuggets. I recall having turmeric and curry powder in the kitchen so I decided to make a fried rice with these flavors for a change. This will also make the rice look attractive with the bright yellow color coming from both turmeric and curry powders. Here are the ingredients for this unique fried rice.

  • plain rice
  • turmeric powder
  • curry powder
  • garlic
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • ground pepper
  • oil
  • butter

Saute the garlic in oil then add the rice. Add the turmeric, curry, and garlic powders on it then add salt and pepper. Mix well then add butter. I garnished this fried rice with small amount of garlic bits. It's optional but I love more garlic flavor so I put some. I could have added spring onions too but I was not able to do so because it's not available that time.

THE MEAL

258891712_264134322377628_7255075413900112182_n.jpg

This is how the recipe turned out. I did the plating on the pan since I'm so hungry and I don't have much time to arrange everything on my plate. I'm so glad that it turned out well for my first try. The amount of ingredients is up to you. It depends on the number of servings you want and the flavor you want to dominate. The nuggets are tender inside and crispy outside with its crumbs and glaze. The turmeric curry rice is flavorful. Its taste is close to java rice. This meal satisfied my cravings with the balanced taste of sweet barbecue flavor coming from the nuggets that contrasts the buttery curry and turmeric flavors of the rice. Feel free to try this recipe. You will surely love the sweet and salty blend of this meal. Bon appetit.