The Zesty Orange Chicken Meatballs

in Hive PHlast year

Two years ago, there was a time when I was in the mood to experiment on ground chicken recipes. Last time, I shared a homemade glazed chicken nuggets recipe. This time I will share another ground chicken recipe I also tried two years ago. Pork meatballs with sweet and sour sauce is very common in our country. I want to experiment on a different variation of meatballs for a change. So I came up with this recipe that is made with ground chicken. I combined the meatball and orange chicken recipe on this one, which I call Orange Chicken Meatballs. This is how I did it.

INGREDIENTS

  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Ground chicken
  • Salt
  • Ground pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • All purpose flour
  • Egg
  • Powdered orange juice
  • Soy sauce
  • Sesame oil (optional)
  • Garlic bits (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

Prepare the chicken meatballs first. Marinate the ground chicken in salt, pepper, garlic powder and soy sauce for 30 minutes. Beat the eggs and prepare the flour while marinating. Mold the ground chicken into a round shape then roll it on the flour until each piece is coated, then drench it in egg wash. Slice the garlic and onion into small bits. Start cooking once the preparation is done.

Saute the garlic and onion until they turn golden brown. Fry the meatballs along with the garlic and onion for more flavor until they turn golden brown. Add water, soy sauce, powdered orange juice, salt and pepper for the sauce. Once you get the consistency and taste you want, add the sesame oil for the finishing touch. The amount of ingredients depend on the servings you want to make and the flavor you want to dominate. Lastly, garnish with toasted garlic. Spring onion is actually part of the ingredients but unfortunately, it was not available back then. So I only had garlic bits for garnish, which is optional. I would recommend having both garlic bits and spring onion for garnish as well as sesame seeds if they are available for you.

266501202_396436538948075_5583467437440392610_n.jpg

This is how it turned out. I prefer a balance between the sweet, sour and salty taste so I used just the right amount for the orange and soy sauce. I put a little bit more amount of garlic because I love garlic flavor. It goes well with the sauce. Its taste is close to the Chinese style orange chicken. Feel free to try this zesty recipe if you want to try something different or if you run out of ideas. This is best served with rice.

Sort:  

Dear @kris11,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!