Love over Power | How a Town was Miraculously Spared from Total Devastation

in Hive PH2 years ago
Ever heard of a story that left you in awe? Be it love, heroism, or anything in between. What if I tell you one? It's something that could make you feel loved and like you come back in time.

image.png

It's romantic and means a lot not just in history but also in what is preserved and carried forward to the present, which can be brought to in the future.

As I walk in the Calle Crisologo with my classmate as we look for a taho vendor, the story I once heard when I was younger came into mind.

image.png

I've been sharing a lot about Vigan lately, and some or a few might be wondering about it. Aside from being born here, there's really a lot to talk about this place, and that is something I'd like you to experience too. Anyway, here it goes.

During the last days of the Japanese occupation in the town of Vigan, the town was supposed to be completely burned up into ashes before withdrawing. Yet here comes a romantic love story between a Bigueña and a Japanese Military Commander that miraculously spared the whole town from being destructed.

The bigueña, a term used to call the local women, is named Adela Tolentino, and the other half was Captain Fujiro Takahashi. According to the story, on the night when the Japanese troops are going to leave Vigan, the captain talked to a priest to take custody of his wife and child because he didn't want his family to be in danger. The said priest was Fr. Joseph Kleikamp, a procurator of the Vigan seminary.

Now what happened is that the priest agreed to the plead of the captain in a condition - to leave Vigan together with his men without devastating the town. Soon after they left, the locals were happy because the city was spared from being shattered. However, what exactly happened to the captain after such an event is unknown.

image.png

image.png

Thinking about what the place would have been if it wasn't spared from bombing makes me feel sad. But fortunately, it was saved, and it's happy to see how the historic town was preserved.

Sure some improvements have happened already, but the ambiance when you're there while surrounded by the antique houses feels different and unexplainable.

Today, Vigan, particularly Calle Crisologo remains to be a top pick of the places to visit not only because of its instagrammable scenes and distinct ambiance but also because of its rich history that is worth telling to everybody.


All images used here are mine.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macjulez ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is one of my dream destinations unfortunately I am from southern Luzon, very far from Vigan hahaha. Still, hoping that will see this place with my own eyes :))

Love is so powerful talaga no? It can save but it can also destruct

I'd like to visit a lot of places too in the south but unfortunately, I'm too far away. But once I got a budget for it, I would take that opportunity for me to experience and see what the other parts of the Philippines could offer.

Yes, definitely.

Stay ka nalang dyan sa north, or sa ibang lugar ka nalang pumunta, wag lang dito sa Manila. Masisira ang buhay mo eme HAHAHAHA

!PIZZA

I never knew the story behind such historical place. Wow. Vigan, sure is beautiful. I hope to visit there someday in the future.

That would be awesome for sure. The long trip will be worth it because the neighboring towns and provinces has also a lot to offer in terms of destinations, food, history, traditions and the like.

WOW if it is a true story definitely that is something worth reading. Powerful naman ng love kayang mag save ng isang bayan.

I've been thinking a lot of it rin before about the source. I've read a news rin about the tale and such a story is being told by local tour guides and being showcased during festivals, particularly in street dancing and showdown.

If you'd like to watch it, you may do so by watching Kannawidan Ylocos Festival - Vigan Showdown

Here's the link:

I agree, this place is a top pick for tourist to visit and snap a picture with as part of memories. I've been here same place.

That's good to hear po. It's truly mesmerizing.

Ohh, there was a story behind it pala. This is good to know. I visited Kalye Crisologo many times but will never get tired of its beauty! Such a masterpiece!

Where you from pala miss. I've read nga one of your article about Vigan and I'm just smiling all throughout the post.

Indeed, it's charm never fades.

Oh, I am from the North too just like you hehe!

Congratulations @macjulez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cli4d(2/5) tipped @macjulez (x1)

Join us in Discord!