Exploring downtown Bongao | Tawi-tawi, Philippines

in Hive PH7 months ago

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (26).png


Time for some food trip!

After trekking Tawi-tawi's sacred mountain, Bud Bongao, we hurried to a restaurant that offered the finest of Tawi-tawi's local delicacies. We rode a tricycle from Bud Bongao's Tourism Office to the restaurant. Despite the apparent distance of Tawi-tawi from my hometown, Cebu, tricycle designs are more or less the same.

G2128145.jpg

I was surprised to learn that there's not just one but a handful of other restaurants lined up in one street offering more or less the same delicacies. I couldn't remember which restaurant we went to. I couldn't care less; I was hungry.

IMG_20190611_130207.jpg

When you look at the world map, the Province of Tawi-tawi is nearer Brunei than it is to Manila, Philippines' Capital. This place's proximity to Brunei might be the reason why some food I tried that day tasted nothing like Filipino.

Each restaurant offered a wide array of food selections that were best for merienda. Of course, there were the usual kakanin but with a twist only you could find in Tawi-tawi. You can buy each snack item separately but you can just order the set so you can try everything they have. Expect some strange-smelling food to be served.

Some food we ordered included:

Wadjit – Wadjit is Tawi-Tawi’s version of biko

Tsikalang or Tabid-tabid – These are fried, rolled purple glutinous rice.

Pitis Patani – It’s a purple-colored rice cake with bukayo (sweetened coconut strips) filling.

I didn't memorize their names; you could never expect me to do that.🤣 I just bumped into these names in a blog narrating their food trip in Tawi-tawi, too! To be very honest, I didn't particularly love their food. I found it too hard, too dry and the food we had didn't give me what I expected of the usual Filipino merienda. I guess I was just looking for rice and some pork adobo for lunch! Or maybe, the restaurant we went to isn't the best in town. Nonetheless, I still recommend Tawi-tawi's interesting take on merienda. But don't get me wrong, you can always try their food any time of the day.

IMG_20190611_130532.jpg

IMG_20190611_131828.jpg

IMG_20190611_130738.jpg

IMG_20190611_132955.jpg


Shopping time!

After our snacks/lunch, we headed to Bongao's busiest place, their public market also known as Tabuh Bongao Public Market. Bongao is the center of trading in this part of my country and with that, you could expect it to look like Divosoria in Manila or Carbon in Cebu.

IMG_20190611_140613.jpg

Its narrow and often unmaintained streets were crowded with people who came for their home supplies. In the absence of huge malls and shopping centers, public markets such as this one are the best source of anything you need for your home from food, clothing, and beauty products, to furniture and other services such as Pera Padala, dental services, tailoring, and other healthcare needs are all in here.

IMG_20190611_133828.jpg

IMG_20190611_133958.jpg

IMG_20190611_133909.jpg

G2048118.jpg

I was shocked to learn that most of the items they sell here are from either Brunei or Malaysia. Even bottled water, noodles, and other basic necessities and prime commodities are all from Malaysia/Brunei. I bought a few Malaysian noodles that I couldn't find in Cebu and beautifully dazzling pants that would save my life later on this trip.

G2078126.jpg

IMG_20190611_124729.jpg

IMG_20190611_124725.jpg

IMG_20190611_134038.jpg

IMG_20190611_134402.jpg

I wandered a bit on my own without losing sight of the rest of my company. The public market is located just beside the pier; I spotted a few speedboats floating in the murky water. Just a theory, the owners of these boats were out to buy stuff that they'd bring offshore to smaller islands, either for retails or personal use.

G2058121.jpg

IMG_20190611_134754.jpg

IMG_20190611_134751.jpg

IMG_20190611_134738.jpg


Buying pasalubong

I'm not a huge fan of buying pasalubong every time I'm out of town, but other tourists with me were enthusiastic about buying their family members, friends, and workmates a few items.

It's been a longstanding tradition in the Philippines that if you go out of town, you should bring something, either food, clothes, or any souvenir for that matter when you go back home. I don't think it's right to assume that you'll have something from a friend returning from a trip. It's costly and seriously for backpackers like me, it's just additional baggage that I had to carry for the rest of the trip. That's torture! I'm going on a trip of a lifetime not to buy souvenirs for people who doesn't even understand why I'm traveling in the first place.

G2108136.jpg

IMG_20190611_135613.jpg

IMG_20190611_141229.jpg

IMG_20190611_141336.jpg


Bongao Municipal Hall

Right across the souvenir shop is the humble Municipal Hall of Bongao. When I saw it, I understood how this place might've been financially struggling with a lot of things such as solid waste management, road repair, and construction. Their municipal hall was so small that I easily mistaken it to be a mere Barangay Hall.

IMG_20190611_140748.jpg

IMG_20190611_141147.jpg

IMG_20190611_140844.jpg

G2088129.jpg


Balobok Rock Shelter

And just when I thought we'd covered everything, I was wrong. Ate Sheila was truly one of the best hosts I met; she ensured we'd wisely spend our remaining hours in Tawi-tawi before we headed back to Zamboanga in the afternoon.

After shopping some more, another tricycle ride took us from Bongao's busiest place to the serene Balobok Rock Shelter. It might not look like a heritage site at first glance but believe it or not, Balobok Rock Shelter is said to be one of the first settlements in Southeast Asia dating back to 8,000 years ago[]. Some archaeological items/artifacts such as "earthenware shards, polished stones, and bone tools were discovered there" [].

Sometime in 2020, about 6 months after this trip, a bill declaring Balobok Cave a national heritage site was passed with clear intentions of preserving and promoting this archaeological site. I was happy to learn that there were huge improvements in Balobok Cave right after the bill was passed. They've installed wooden walkways and a massive and sturdy staircase from atop the mountain down to the other side of the cave made exploring the cave less dangerous.

IMG_20190611_150435.jpg

IMG_20190611_150059.jpg

IMG_20190611_150628.jpg

G2158155.jpg


Rock Formation in Tawi-tawi

Unfortunately, I didn't get the name of the last destination we explored in Tawi-tawi. It's close to Balobok Rock Shelter/Cave, hence, Balobok Rock Formation could be its name, but I didn't get the exact name if there's any.

Nonetheless, the rock formation presented a death-defying path to the edge that would give you a better glimpse of the waves crashing below. If only we had more time, I'd definitely take a dip here. The water was crystal clear and the rock formations were the perfect spot for cliff jumping.

IMG_20190611_151558_BURST001_COVER.jpg

IMG_20190611_151242.jpg

IMG_20190611_151141.jpg

G2168160.jpg

G2178163.jpg

G2198169.jpg

IMG_20190611_151416.jpg


In no time, we were back in Ate Sheila's homestay where another set of homemade food welcomed exhausted travelers from an eventful day filled with trekking and more trekking.

IMG_20190611_164110.jpg

IMG_20190611_161816.jpg

Sadly, we had to pack our bags as quickly as we could and head back downtown and to the pier where we should catch the only overnight boat ride from Tawi-tawi to Zamboanga City. If we miss this boat, we're doomed!

G2278198.jpg

G2288202.jpg

G2268195.jpg

G2258192.jpg

One of my most unforgettable moments from this trip, well there were tons, but if I could choose one, it'd be driving along Tawi-tawi's airport runway. I mean, I never thought that I'd experience riding a motorcycle traversing a runway. That's insane and we did it a few times during this trip.

IMG_20190611_165009.jpg

G2298204.jpg

IMG_20190611_165045.jpg

I have nothing but respect for Tawi-tawi's people and culture and tradition. I'm forever grateful for the circumstances in my life that led me to Tawi-tawi and the rest of the destinations I visited during this trip. Truly, everything happens for a reason.


image.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Such a lovely trip and the food looks delicious. Great captures.
Thanks for sharing with us @patsitivity 😊
Hope you are ok
Big !HUG

@littlebee4 you're an absolute joy in this community. Thank you for asking how I'm doing. Been doing changes in my routine to get out of the dark days. And writing has helped of course. 🥰

You are so welcome 😊
That’s good to hear you changed up your routine to get out of the dark days.
Writing helps a lot.
One day at the time… you are strong!
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@littlebee4, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @patsitivity and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Dear @patsitivity, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @littlebee4.
(1/3)

Ka happy gud og nawng. Hahaha.

Basta makalaag kay happy lang permi 🥹

Ang sarap Naman Ng mga food nila and I am amaze kasi iba din Ang mga name. Ang Pilipinas talaga Ang daming dialect ehhehe

Trueeee @jenthoughts! Weird for me yung names ng mga food nila, of course reflective of their local dialect yan.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2023

Wow. It is a very nice place to have a wonderful vacation with family. I also want to try their delicacies. It looks yummy to my taste. Thank you for sharing ma'am @patsitivity.

I don't recommend a family trip in Tawi-tawi tho @edver143. I'll share in my post why.

Wow napaka refreshing na place. How I wish I could be there anytime soon. Thank you for sharing this one po I enjoy the virtual tour. God bless.

It's a pleasure to share to people why Tawi-tawi deserves to be explored din. 🥰