-Ber Months Bring Out A Merry Holiday Spirit In The Philippines.

in Hive PH2 years ago

A season of strength, thrill, surprise, joy, excitement, and a greater faith reflects in my noble heart when the -Ber season officially starts.

SeptemBER, OctoBER, NovemBER, and DecemBER definitely bring out a merry holiday spirit in the Philippines, and they are known as the -Ber months.

What does -Ber months mean to Filipinos like you?

-BER MONTHS

B-ring a cold season and Bayanihan spirit.
E-njoying of Christmas Traditions.
R-ekindling of holiday spirit.

M-aking delight in all-time favorites.
O-verwhelming amusement welcomes.
N-inong and ninang are remembered.
T-he countdown is starting.
H-aving quality time with loved ones.
S-inging a Merry Christmas.



Bring a cold season and Bayanihan spirit.

All year long, the Philippines experiences a hot and humid weather but the start of the -Ber season signals a cold season and the breeze is so relaxing. It is really colder than other months so I really have to prepare myself for my favorite thick clothes just like jackets, sweaters, scarfs, and boots where I find comfort and warmth during a very cold season. Perhaps it is only at this season wherein I could wear them without looking funny since my country has a tropical rainforest climate.

However, it is sad to say that during the -Ber months are also the times when stronger and more turbulent typhoons are entering the Philippine Area of Responsibility. This time my faith becomes greater and I never cease to pray for safety of everyone.

I could even remember way back in December of 2011 when a strongest tropical cyclone “Sendong” entered and that was the deadliest typhoon to date that has resulted to a very heavy downpours and flash floods had destroyed a thousand of lives and left a heavy mark in my heart.

How painful it was but the “Bayanihan” spirit was very evident in the Philippines during that time, as it brings unity and cooperation for a certain goal, that is to help one another no matter what happens today and tomorrow.

During times of disaster, Filipinos share love, care, and support for each other in all ways of help and assistance. And this also reflects rising up during the most challenging and struggling of times in the Philippines. In fact, I had truly witnessed it during that particular devastating incident when everybody was helping one another without expecting something in return.


Enjoying of Christmas Traditions.

The things that are already part of our traditions and cultures are being enjoyed during the -Ber months. Waking up early for midnight masses, exchanging and giving of Christmas gifts, visiting friends and families during the holiday season, preparing for Noche Buena with loved ones, going for holiday shopping, and joining Christmas parties are the exciting part as I am bringing out the little child in me. Christmas traditions are really very fun and enjoyable matters to look forward for in this wonderful season.


Rekindling of Holiday Spirit

One way of rekindling the holiday spirit is to have fun in putting up Christmas decorations. It is always very fun decorating during the Christmas season as I get my hands on for do-it-yourself and ready-made decorations like the Christmas wreath, Santa and his reindeers, Christmas bells, Snowman (although we do not experience snow in the Philippines), Nutcrackers (I always remember this when I am watching Barbie movies), Christmas flowers, Christmas balls, Christmas Angels, Candy Cane, Christmas gifts, Christmas Tree, and all the Christmas symbols cheering up and bringing happiness to each one.

As a matter of fact, every year, I am starting to put up Christmas decorations on the first day or first week of September together with my dearest sister @erikasue . How sad it is that I have to fix it alone for now. I made it with a very heavy heart all alone.

When she was around, she must have been the one who would fix this simple Christmas tree for our family. But then, what is left is the golden happy memory with her. She will always be missed, cherished, and remembered for as long as life remains.


Making delight in all-time favorites.

Part of the fun is to cook all-time favorite comforting foods. Since it is a very cold season, something hot and warm is good for the soul like the most favorite blend of coffee, aroz caldo, creamy mushroom with corn, bulalo, tinola, sinigang, lomi, lugaw, and champorado feel so great to taste. They are my all-time favorites and they are really so priceless as these foods warm my tummy and warms my soul too most especially when there is a heavy downpour.


Overwhelming amusement welcomes.

One thing that makes me very excited during the -Ber months is the overwhelming amusement places that welcomes our hometown like the presence of Christmas bazaars, parks, villages, recreations, and all amusing places to visit with my family and friends. Being a photography lover makes me cherish and capture preciously all the happy moments with my loved ones with the amazing Christmas views and decorations.


Ninong and Ninang are remembered.

It sounds funny to say that ninong and ninang are remembered during the -Ber season. Ninong and ninang are the Godparents and they are present in our lives to help us be guided in the right direction. Even if it is not Christmas, they are remembered but what matters most is the love and care more than any gift or anything else.


The countdown is starting.

The start of the -Ber season begins the Christmas countdown. It is getting so thrilling and very exciting to make a countdown. The counting goes on for a merrier holiday spirit most especially when it is the last 7 days before Christmas. Nothing truly beats an overwhelming spirit of Christmas. Christmas is full of excitements, thrills, and surprises.


Having Quality time with loved ones.

When everyone is very busy all throughout the year, -Ber months pave way for more holidays to spend quality time with loved ones. It is not every day that Filipinos get closer due to work, school, and other important matters to work with every single day.

Personally, it truly bring out a cheerful spirit as I have fun and just be happy with every simple thing I have in life. Spending quality time with my family and friends is so priceless. What makes me merrier is a beautiful season of sharing, caring, loving, and giving as I get together with my loved ones.

Let every party begin and cherish what we celebrate through various themes, favorite foods, games, parlor games, gifts, raffles, and a whole lot of fun. Perhaps it is not just a celebration but having fun and being happy pricelessly.


Singing a Merry Christmas.

The jingle bells, the singing of Christmas carols, and the singing of a merry Christmas make a cheerful heart. I could always remember when I was young, the memory was so vivid when me and my cousins went for a house-to-house caroling as we sang the yuletide tunes and made everyone smile with our cute, innocent faces of childhood.

It is one of way of feeling a special kind of joy and happiness as the jingles and carols are heard in the neighborhood. “Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way.” That was so memorable and enjoyable. How I wish I am just a little child where my problems and worries are away but all I could do at present is to rekindle the little child in me.

And most of all, Christ is the reason for this season. Through the singing of a Merry Christmas, I am letting the good reflection of His unconditional love and care to everyone.

Let this season of loving, sharing, and caring for each other dominate and dwell in our hearts. And let peace and serenity rule through the power of forgiveness.


I must say that I may have grown but I always have the soul of a little kid whose heart feels the lightest as the -Ber months bring out a merry holiday spirit in the Philippines. Nothing beats a wonderful Christmas season. Nothing beats a valuable Christmas spirit. And nothing beats a cheerful heart whose faith is anchored to the most Almighty and Holy one. Perhaps the -Ber months significantly reflect thrill, excitement, comfort, joy, love, hope, happiness, strength during toughest time, and faith in God who is the reason for this season.


Disclaimer: All texts and images are my own, unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

I'm glad you still find time to decorate early for Christmas, even in these very trying times you are going through right now, I'm sure @erikasue is happy seeing you (bisan lisud) nagpadayun lang gihapon sa mga sakit nga kakulian sa kinabuhi. This too shall pass! 🙏☺️

Praying that may this season brings God's healing power to mend your broken heart. ❤️

Malipayong Pasko in advance kanimu @pinkchic 🥰. Ang akong pinaskuhan nya ha, bisan ayaw nalang gud pusta. 😅

Dear friend @labanez , you know how heavy it is but in memory of my sister, I put up the decorations for her. I know she will not be happy seeing me mourning forever. To be honest, I am waking up every single day with a heavy heart. Still I cannot stop my tears from falling like I wanted to cry out loud. But I am just entrusting everything to God for He knows best and He knows what’s best for me.

Thank you so much my dear friend for coming here with your very comforting friend as always. Surely my dearest sister Erika loves you so much for you are a very nice friend and I could truly feel your pure heart. Know that it has been very nice meeting you. See you around.

Sure my friend. I hope I could send you. By the way, where are you staying now? Are you living nearby? My advance season greetings to your family as well.

Have a great weekend my dear friend. Sending much love. Take care always and God bless.

Joke ra tong pinaskuhan dear, hehe 😁.
The fact is, I have this hobby of handpainting tote bag, and I love giving them to my friends. Ug bisan dili ta kaila personally, I really wanted to give you one 🥺. Dili lang pang Heart Evangelista ha 😅 but it is definitely painted with a heart. ❤️ I know it won't lessen the pain you are going through right now, but it's the least I can think of in telling you that you are not alone in this battle, daghan kaayo ang nagpangga nimu, ug bisan stranger pa ta sa usa'g usa, usa nako nila. Words won't do justice so I wanted the bag to speaks for itself. 🥰

Kaso unsaon man ni? 😅

Wow. so sweet of you. I would be happy to have it from you. From the heaart kaayo. Its the thought that counts. Hehe. Thanks much amegah.

You got nice decors for the holiday, sis! Ber months are colder and also the start of Christmas for us Filipinos. In our home, we put decors in mid-November already, hehe.

Sis Erika will always be by your side! ❤️

Thanks dear friend jiji for the appreciation. I am like a minimalist in putting up decors, and what’s lacking are the Christmas gifts under the Christmas tree. Perhaps fixing for the Christmas tree would always be one of my happy memories with her. Have a great day, jiji.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @pinkchic.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I love your Christmas decors sis. I'm sure @erikasue would be happy to see those from heaven. Keep on keeping on.

Thanks my dear friend mura for the appreciation. Surely she will be happy, knowing that what I did was in memory of her. I really miss her so much.

Congratulations @pinkchic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love how you make acrostic here. hat's one of my favorite creative writing.
You said it all. But it's saddening that Erika wouldn't be part of your Christmas now. But I hope she's happy up there.

Thanks for the appreciation sis. You know I am just putting my emotions into writing. I really miss her so much and how I wish I could feel her presence now. Not really easy to lose a sister in the most tragic and sudden way. I admit until now, still mourning but I know that life must go on.

Excited jud ang tanan basta hapit ng pasko no.
Sige lang ,naglantaw ra to si erika ninyo sis🤗

Christmas decors in memory of her sis but deep from within, my heart is so heavy. Thanks much for the cares sis. Appreciate you being here. Lablab

Ana man jud ng life sis ,sakit pero need natong dawaton ,forever naa sa atong heart atong mga loveones bisan wala na nato makauban .

Thanks much for your caring and comforting words sis. God be with us always. Sending love.

Wow ang aga ng decorations sis @pinkchic. The spirit of Christmas nasa bahay nyu na talaga.

Yes, being a ninong and ninang doesn't all about gifts but rather being a second parents for them who will guide them to be a good person.

Yes sis jen but this would be the saddest Christmas ever. Thanks for dropping by with your wonderful remarks. Have a blessed Sunday.

Aw, this post brightened my day.
Winter holidays are some of the most beautiful holidays. Family, presents, cookies and "Home Alone" marathon 😂

#dreemport

@darthsauron Grateful of your kind words my dear friend garth. We may not experience winter in my country but spending holidays here is so wonderful. How I wish I could witness snow. Hehe. You know I have been dreaming when I was a child to play with the snow. That sounds funny but being a realistic, it’s so cold to be in the snow. And of course, I all agree with your words. Thank you so much for your time and attention.

Don't you have snow at all in winter?!?!
This is the most terrible thing. 😱😭You can't have a White Christmas without snow. Throwing yourself and your family into the snow, getting pelted with snowballs.

#dreemport

Yes, my friend. We have not experience a white Christmas but our decorations at home have variety of designs for White Christmas. Hehe. I have a snowman decor here.

What a wonderful post! I loved reading about your traditions.

Grateful of your appreciation my dear friend. Ber Months would always tell that Christmas is coming.

These months are months that people do meet their hardship. Many people and most especially our loved ones do have one problem or the other in these months.

Do you know what, ? It is what you believe that would happen. To me, I do not believe on this factor. I have taken these months as every other months.

Thanks for adding your significant remarks to my post dear friend. Have a great holidays ahead. Take care always.

Thank you for bringing us into the excitement of the BER months @pinkchic! It was fun to think of the bazars, the special foods, the warmth of family. Fuzzy feel kinda read, thanks for sharing! Visiting from dreemport :)

The pleasure is mine my dear friend. Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks. Have a great time and have a happy holidays.

Surely, if talking about ber-months, first thing we would remember is the Christmas Holidays since it is the highlight. After all, we have the longest celebration of Christmas.

Thanks for dropping by yane. Have a happy holidays. Lablab.