Food fight: Clash of the Tiramisu

in Hive PH4 years ago

_DSC9182.jpg

Today we gonna have a food fight. I love tiramisu, an Italian dessert. Thanks to one of my neighbours we could order real Italian products and get them delivered here in Moalboal. So one of the first things I made was the Italian tiramisu. I loved it ... It reminded me of all the holidays I've spend in Italy. But for the real taste, you need of course the right ingredients. So I ordered the Mascarpone cheese, ladyfingers cookies, a bottle of Amaretto and I could start.Tiramisu.jpg
Sorry I don't have more pictures of this one, but I was too excited and completely forget to take some snapshots 😆

Okay, that was a nice treat. But hey, I'm in the Philippines right now. So let's give this one a twist and make a Pinoy version of the Tiramisu. So the battle could start. This time I wanted to make sure to take some pictures so I can show you how to makes this yummy dessert.
_DSC9178.jpg

What do you need:

  • 200 gram Mascarpone
  • 100 gram ladyfingers biscuits
  • 100 ml whipping cream
  • 2 or 3 mangoes
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 cup of orange juice
  • rum

_DSC9181.jpg

First I took 1 mango and blend it so you have a smooth texture.
I cut the second mango in little chunks and kept a few slices for decoration.
Put the cream, Mascarpone cheese and yolks in a bowl and whisk it till it's all blended together.
Take some bowls of 1 large bowl and you can start with the layering.
Pour the orange juice and rum together in a small container, this is used to dip in the ladyfingers.
Dip the ladyfingers quickly into the juice. Just a couple of seconds, you don't want them to get soaked. This will be your first layer in your bowl.
Now add some of the cream-cheese mixture on top of it. This doesn't have to be a thick layer, just cover the ladyfingers.
On top of that you put some of the blended mango and a few mango chunks.
If you have a deep bowl you can make multiple layers (This will give the best result). So just start over with the ladyfingers, cheese, mango, ...
As a final layer I've put some slices that I kept separate for decoration.
And now the hardest part: put it in the fridge for a couple of hours. 😁

_DSC9185.jpg

This was the result of the clash: The Mango version was a big winner! No doubt about it. So starting with an original Italian dessert, I changed it into a Philippino mouthwatering dessert.

Oh by the way, normally they also put sugar in this recipe. I didn't used any sugar because the mangoes are so sweet here that you don't need to add the sugar.
If you make a lot, you can always put some in the freezer and save it for another time.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!