Say NO to single use plastic!

in Hive PH4 years ago

Plastic 06.jpg

This topic is far from new. More and more people start to understand the problem with single use plastic. I do use plastic things, but I try to avoid the single use ones. I'm a realist, it's impossible to ban all the plastic. But at least we can try to do our best and to minimize it. Here in the Philippines it's amazing how much plastic they use. Most of the people still don't understand the problem. If you go for shopping, you come home with more plastic bags than items.
Plastic 012.jpg

Last year I started to clean up to beach in front of the place where I live. It was the beginning of the Habagat. Habagat (southwest monsoon) brings cooler weather and means the end of the hot season here. From my place I can see the island of Negros. As soon as Habagat starts, a lot of trash is coming in the bay. I tried to understand to locals and why they don't seem to care of the garbage. I was really shocked by the answer... If we throw it in the sea, it will be gone. The waves will take it away. No one told them that the plastic isn't vanishing. It will stay in the water for decades and slowly breaks down into micro plastic, which you can't see. So for them the problem is gone. But the micro plastic is eaten by the fish, and guess who eats the fish. One hundred years ago it was not a problem to throw the shell of a coconut into the ocean, or a banana peel ... That's all organic.
Plastic 011.jpg

But meanwhile we live in the plastic time. As far as I see the problem is ignorance. Ass long as no one is educating the people, nothing will change. Luckily, slowly more people see the problem and try to use alternatives. When I go out for shopping, I always take my backpack with me for the groceries. I have my own tumbler if I want to buy a drink.

Plastic 03.jpg

Since 2 years I'm supporting 4Oceans. You can buy their bracelets or even take a subscription. For every bracelet they pull a pound out of the ocean. Don't have to mention that my arm is getting too short to wear all the bracelets :)
It's never too late to start doing your part. Some people find it hard to make the switch. I have to admit I did it in steps. And as times goes by, you discover new ways to say NO to the single use plastic.
Plastic 08.jpg

I made some cartoons to raise awareness, especially for the children ... They are our future. If we educate them, we can help the planet, one bag at a time. Feel free to share and spread the cartoons, spread the word to make this place a better and cleaner place to live.
Plastic 07.jpg

Plastic 05.jpg

Oh, by the way ... as you can see I'm not really good at drawing, but I hope the message is clear :)

Plastic 02.jpg
Plastic 01.jpg
Plastic 04.jpg

So next time take your backpack with you, refuse straws, bring your own tumbler, buy fruits and veggies unpacked, ...

Sort:  

No, you're good at drawing and the hard work you've done was amazing. People will ignore it when they don't suffer from it. But in our province, once a month we will clean our shore because when habagat strikes as you said. Many garbage will be in the shore.

Good post, by the way where is this?

Thank you for the loving words. It's nice to read that other people are doing the same and take care of out lovely planet. I'm located in Moalboal, Cebu.

Yeah because when we will do something already on it. We can't go back how it was before.

Thanks as well..

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you for sharing my posting :)