Campus Visit + Buhay Commute

in Hive PH2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Arques Wuhdrelis

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Hello, Hive!

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

It's only been 2 months since I started writing here. But I can't believe I already accumulated an amount more than what I have expected. If I think about it, I have never experienced blogging before but I have written on other platforms like Facebook, of course. But Hive is different, we know that. And I love being here. The kind atmosphere surrounding Hive encouraged me to be more creative. I can't think of moments when I have ever experienced such. Thanks to @tpkidkai and @rene.neverfound for guiding me here!

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Last week, the Student Affairs and Service Center in the university called for first-year students under College of Arts and Sciences to visit the guidance office for an intake interview. They said they were open during weekdays and office hours that's why yesterday, we decided to visit our university. We also agreed to settle for our tuition and school ID at the same time so we won't be needing to travel twice a week when we can process it in a day just fine.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

My friends, Yana and Shina, we've met during the admission period last month. We took Bachelor of Science in Psychology together. Shina is already my friend way back in high school so during that time, we just went with her mom. But now, it's the three of us including Yana. Honestly, I'm glad to have developed a new friendship because it's hard to find friends you can trust nowadays. I can meet a lot of people for sure but to have someone close that you can relate to is a different kind of comfort.

University of the Visayas, Accounting Bldg.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Okay, I tried taking decent photos but I'm too shy to even raise my phone so please bear with it. Anyways, Yana said she will be arriving late so while we were waiting for her, we decided to just pay our fees first. That includes my tuition for September which is PHP5,500 around $94 and the fee for my school ID that'd be PHP200 which is $4 I think. My semestral fee dues every prelim and finals week starting this September and just imagining that amount in four consecutive months is a headache.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

My father earns his salary lower than what he would have if he is still working in his former agency. But because of his reasons, he resigned and applied for a new one. Both my parents work on a 12-hour duty under minimum wage only so I get the struggling in terms of paying for my education. Plus, I have a younger sibling who's already in high school so it's quite difficult. I even argued with my mom that I should just find a part-time job so I can help but, of course, she's abhorrent of the idea. She wants me to focus on my studies alone but I can't help but feel guilty each passing day.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Fortunately, I met Hive. In this way, I think mom would never worry about me stressing myself physically just to earn any more. I was able to save my earnings in that short period I was here and promised my Dad I would make up for the lacking amount of my tuition fee. Kuya @tpkidkai suggested before that if I'm to save, I should transfer them to my savings in the meantime. I'm glad he told me so. It helped me prioritize my needs first, and kept me from spending everything in a blink. Lol. I may be exaggerating because it's not even half yet of what I should provide but lending my own keep to my parents, so we could pay for my tuition and renew the kitchen gas, seems an achievement to me.

Image from the waiting area.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

As we approached the building, there were criminology seniors who guided us through. I'm relieved they were kind enough to accommodate us with our queries but I can't somehow tell the same with the madame in charge of my payment. The line wasn't long so it didn't take an hour for my turn, but it was my first time paying for my fees so I kind of panicked. Plus, the teller was intimidating and scary. I don't know why most of them give off the same disposition. Maybe they're tired, yeah? But I still panicked thinking about it and almost dropped my wallet to the floor while I was silently counting my bills. She asked for my student number seconds later and I was stupid enough to hand her my phone screen. Thank God she still had a bit of her patience to tell me I should just say it directly. I paid for my ID and sling as well and the payment process was smooth, I guess so. There were no issues regarding my student portal whatsoever.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

After me, another senior student was prioritized for reasons that weren't clear to my ears but it was totally fine. We waited behind him while still observing health protocols, of course. Shina was up next so I just waited beside her and got the chance to ask the criminology senior where we could process our school ID. She told us the building name and room number with ease. And off we go after Shina finished her payment later on.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

The room was called 232A and is located on the 2nd floor of the new building. The building was just two buildings away from the accounting so it was convenient for us to go there. Thankfully, it wasn't lunchtime yet so we were able to claim our ID right then and there. Although, we had to resend our ID requirements through the e-mail address since Miss Marivic cannot open our files. Miss Marivic was the one printing our IDs and all that. There were probably a lot of students before us so I understand why she was timid and strict while she was doing all the work on the computer and printer.


⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Fortunately, we got our ID on that day as well but we expected to receive it a week after as per Yana's notice. I think it was just good news, that way we don't have to go through the hassle of presenting our study load anymore once limited face-to-face classes start next week. After receiving our IDs, Yana finally arrived at school. We waited for her near the registrar and went together to the SASC office to process our forms. We've known how we still needed to fill up a 4-page student form before we can proceed to the interview. But it was lunch then, we had to go grab our meal first and resume from 1 PM onwards.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

We just ate at our favourite fast-food restaurant blocks away from the campus so it wasn't much of a headache. And the time went really fast that we hadn't noticed it was past 30 minutes after we sat at our table. But we still enjoyed the food, of course. We cannot waste time especially after noticing the sky turning darker by the minute. So we went back right after our lunch. Eventually, it was a relief that we finished our interview early and we were able to head home before the rain poured hard.

Highlight of my day. Finally a decent photo.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Shina waved her goodbyes to us before we separated so Yana and I were only the ones heading to the pier to ride a ferryboat back home. The idea of commuting in a ferryboat after many years is exciting. I remember being in one when I was still a kid but it was so long ago that I hesitated for a good minute. I wasn't certain if my being getting nauseous from long-distance travels was effective in ferryboats too. And true to my fears, I felt my head starting to wave as we waited for more passengers. I was growing nervous in my seat. Yana, on the other hand, had no idea what was going on inside my coward mind so she continued telling me a funny experience of hers back in high school. But thankfully, I was able to stand that dizziness circling all over my intestines because when the boat started to move, they were gone in a blink.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Even with the threatening rain, we didn't encounter big waves on our way. I have forgotten this experience as I was very young back then so it kind of feels like riding a ferryboat for the first time. Despite the dark mist forming in the sky, the travel back to our place was smooth. It's just like skating in plain seawater. I even got to share jokes and laughter with Yana as if I never almost puked while we were on standby at Pier 3. But once we arrived and got off the boat, there were drizzles in the sky already. Yana and I took different routes so I bid goodbyes to her the moment we arrived at the terminal. I got home safely after I ride a tricycle once more. Although I was slightly soaked, I drank lots of water at home to avoid getting colds. Because that's what my mom always reminds me of.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

I think that is all for yesterday! Thank you for making it at the end of my blog. I am happy to share my day here on Hive and to extend as well my heartfelt gratitude. Thank you for your never-ending kindness and support! Have a safe week.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀


@rks.wuhdrelis

A warrior of liberty. With ink stains on her mind and soul. Maayong adlaw! This page contains the information you might want to know about the author. She goes by the name Arques and is under the username @rks.wuhdrelis. She lives in Cebu, Philippines, and is a proud Bisaya. Arques is an 18-year-old girl, on a mission to her dream college and a writer wannabe is her reputation... Read more.

Photos attached from this blog were taken by me. I really hope I can gather enough courage to take photos without being shy next time.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Glad that Hive was able to support the part of the tuition fee Desch. Told yah! If there's nothing that you are not seeing yourself spending something save it first as you may have one unexpected in the future.

BSPsych will be a greattttt course and there's a ton of classes that you will enjoy of for sure. I am in the Clinical Psych field, but now I am eyeing on the Behavioral Psych side hahah. Shocks but AB Psych is close to my heart too, so I am running out of thoughts if incase that I will go back to school and study again (online school ito if ever since I cannot do the regular student route anymore)

Keep on being active here and save up! Increase your engagement with other Hivers and do well.

Looking forward to your journey and learnings here and even as a Psych student.

Btw I also relate on raising the camera in public haha I seldom do that too thus I only rely on images from the internet each time that I take some pics.

and the ferry ride it has been 7 years I guess since I took the last one when we went to an island here in Rizal.

nakakainspire kayong dalawa kuyaaa @tpkidkai !!! kaya gusto ko rin mah psych na talaga eh 😭😭😭, hanggang ngayon torn parin ako jusko ano na

 2 years ago  

HAHAHA you will find what you want to - just keep on searching. Try mo muna ang 1st choice mo if ever na di talaga umubra then jump in another one.

yes poo, for now I'm thinking (mas) gusto ko ang nursing because matutulungan ko sila mama when it comes sa mga first aid since nagkaroon lang ng bagong occurrence rito sa bahay at nag need kami ng tulong pa sa cousin kong student nurse. my mama said na, go na sa nursing so that i could help many people raw po kaya itooo i think im having my vision na

agree din ako sa sinabi ni kuya, babe! you do you charrr if you think your first choice isn't for you, you can always shift. you don't have to worry about wasting years studying, we have our own pace naman. but if you've found a place in nursing, then, that's great!! i wish you good luck and good health. 😚

mwaaaa i love youu!!!! thank youuu always babeee

💗💗💗

I'm so glad that I was able to save and didn't spend on things that aren't needed atm. Thankful that you and Hive helped me do so, Kuya Tp.

Soon po, I will be on the same route as you! In our guidance interview, we tackled why I took this course and told them I'm interested in Clinical Psych as well. There's much more to learn especially now that we just started our second month, after this, we'll proceed to another major na. Intro to Psych. I'm excited!

I'm awkward in public most of the time that's why I couldn't take random photos without getting anxious 😆 and I'm lucky that the ferry ride was okay. I thought my head's gonna go 360° on me.

Thank you so much po, palagi. I'll do better each time.

Psych ka pala kuya tp? Ngayon ko lang nalaman hahaha. Tbh, isa sa mga kinokonsider ko ang psych na kunin this college kasi interested ako sa human behavior

immm reallly really glad that I've got to introduce you here!!!! im so proud of you

i love you!!!! THANK U LOTS 💕

Hello, nung nabasa kong psych napa-follow agad ako hahaha. Interested ako sa mga gantong field of discussion.

Same month din like you ako gumawa ng Hive pero ngayon lang kita naka interact dito. I guess kailangan ko pa talaga galingan sa pakikipag interact para mahanap ko yung iba hahaha.

Hi @cli4d! Nice to meet you. Thank you for reading, although first-year pa lang ako but I'll learn lots soon enough and hopefully, mashare ko rin dito sa Hive.

Ngayon lang din kita nakainteract hahaha 😂 I admit I also need to improve and make more engagements here in Hive. We'll work on it!

Good luck sa college life mo :)). Here's some good luck !PIZZA

Dear @rks.wuhdrelis,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

sure thing!

Thank you for your support @rks.wuhdrelis, really appreciate it! 👍

Congratulations @rks.wuhdrelis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

omyy another one. thank you lots, hivebuzz!

You're welcome @rks.wuhdrelis! Have a nice day 😊👍🌹

relate much sa taking pics in public huhu tapos blurry pa lagi ang pics

true. nakakahiya kasi hahahaha para tuloy ewan yung kuha 😭

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cli4d(3/5) tipped @rks.wuhdrelis (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!