Late Night Watercolor Art Session

in Hive PH14 days ago

1000015747.png

I couldn't sleep but I was not in the mood for any crocheting at the moment. I was just scrolling through my facebook feed then I found this reel. I thought I'd give it a try. Have you seen those videos where the person was there, lying on their bed, just scrolling through social media then they found a really cool video then they thought "Oh, that's cool! I should really try this!" I became one of those people. Haha

Anyway, I made this watercolor painting of a coffee cup because I've been teaching myself how to paint these past few months. I now realize what people say when they say "It's never too late." Indeed, it is never too late. I'm still learning something new everyday. I'm actually thinking of joining a 30-day challenge next month. Hopefully, once my daughter's exams are done and my submissions are completed, I have a free month before we proceed to preparations for next schoolyear.

Let me share a few things I learned in this watercolor painting. My daughter narrated to me the wet on wet techniqye when she had her watercolor arts session last year. I thought that was interesting. I applied that in this painting. I used wet on wet to achieve that frothy texture. I also learned about lifting the pigment if you accidentally colored in too much of the space. I got a little bit too excited with the yellow and brown mix dabbed on the wet paper. The effect was really cool. I had to use a crumpled paper towel to make some white spots on the coffee.

1000015748.png

Another thing I learned was blending. I started the shadows a little dark, then I added some water to kind of lighten up the gray. The teacher in the video also taught amazing color mixings. I did not know that if you mix some orange to ultramarine, you'll get a sort of grayish color. There's gray in my daughter's watercolor set, I planned on using that one but the mix of orange and ultramarine was a lot more pretty. It was a bit challenging to make thencolor lighter though because I started dark right away. That's the thing I re-learned about watercolor today. If you want to make a sort of fading effect, you need to do a light wash first, then add another layer if you want to make it darker. I used to tell that to my daughter, I just seemed to have forgotten.

I also tried a little bit of calligraphy, just like on the video. I've been trying to learn calligraphy but I couldn't seem to apply it properly on my arts. I thought now's a good time as any to just scribble away. And so I did. The letters look a little bit wonky. But I'm proud of it.

I used a Fabriano 200 GSM watercolor paper for this quick artwork. I was surprised at how quick it was done. The watercolor I used was my daughter's. It was a gift from her aunt. I am loving this set so I am going to buy one for myself.

I saw another tutorial on how to make a realistic coffee. I might give that one a try too. I think it might need a lot more time so I guess I will do it on the weekends. That's it for now. Toodaloo!

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Your paintings are like an artist done work on it. You are great in learning anytime.

This made me remember when you said sometime that you never liked Fine Art class but I’m glad you’re into it now. I’ve also been in cases when I would not have anything to do and once I see something on social media, I just give it a try.
Your coffee cup looks very nice. You gave it a good try

 13 days ago  

Same here, painting lang muna hobby ko for now. Magastos na nga kakabili ng ibang gamit. hehe.

Not everyone can do this work, it takes a lot of work, it takes a lot of time, this watercolor painting is also very beautiful.