We Received the Sweetest Gift from a Relative: a Palm-Sized Mango, Sweet, Sour, and Yellow

in Hive PH15 days ago

20240519_164709_0001.png

It's been a long time since I last tasted an Indian mango. When I was a kid, I could eat that all the time during mango season. Together with my brothers and other friends, we can just pick some from someone's mango tree by using a long bamboo stick. That's another precious memory of mine from childhood that I will treasure forever. I also remember having a mango tree in school, and sometimes they would just fall to the ground. Lucky us because we don't need to climb up to be able to eat it. We just have to check thoroughly to see if there's a worm living inside of it already (≧▽≦).

Anyway, great news because Mommy D arrived home yesterday with her sister with a lot of mangos on their hands. My happy heart is dancing in anticipation of finally trying it again. To be honest, I want them just slightly ripe, not super ripe. But this will do too, after all, we got them for free (人 •͈ᴗ•͈). Look how happy the oldies were, (。♡‿♡。).

I'm not here in the photo, but I am also happy and excited. And please notice that big mango in my hand. I have a big hand, but look how it is almost the size of my hand. Actually, there is one much bigger than the one I'm holding here. And I'm keeping it because I'm the one who will eat it later. Lucky me. I'm not sure if I can eat it all in one sitting, I'm not so sure, (≧▽≦).

These are the four mangos with big sizes. According to Mommy D, these were delivered to their house in Bulbugan by her niece. It's from their own tree, and from what I remember, they really have a lot of mango trees on their land. I can see thrm whenever we will visit them. And now that it is already mango season, they are in full bloom.

What we are not sure is what kind of mango this is to weigh each of them at 3/4 or 750 grams. They are really big, and we love it, lol. One of these can already satisfy three people. We tried one yesterday, and seriously! It is just perfect. We ate it after lunch as a dessert fruit.

And this is the smaller version, I think this one is called Apple Mango, just based on its color, and that's according to Mama. I tried apple mango before, the green one, and we ate it unripe, which is super better than a ripe one. But I don't really know how to distinguish the difference between this and the Indian mango. All I know is their color, but what if the color changes to pure yellow now? Haha. Then it's hard to tell the difference already, lol. But anyhow, we all enjoy it, and it's superb!

It is sweet but has a little sourness in it, which balances the taste of the mango. Too much sweetness is really not my type, so this one is really perfect. And because it is a little sour, I still dip it in salt because, why not? Lol. The oldies are eating it with rice, like some dish they like. We don't have any dishes prepared this afternoon for lunch, and Mommy D suggested the mango as a viand, lol. But I only like to eat it after meals, so I just cooked some Pancit Canton paired with dried fish, and then for the finale, it's the mango. I still ate a lot despite the simpleness of our lunch, but simple is actually very good, would you agree? Heh.

20240501_143949_0000-removebg-preview.png

Lead Image Edited in Canva

Sort:  

Ang Dami namin nyan madam .. natakam tuloy ako sa mangga.. sarap mag shake

 15 days ago  

Hehehe naga isip nga ako maganda gawin sa iba. Gusto ko ng grahams pero maganda din shake. Kaso katamad lanh mag prepare kaya wag nalang hahaha

Grahama na lang madam..

Sarappp! Perfect talaga sa tag-init yan. Pero tag-ulan na. Nag harvest din sila Lola ng ganyan sa bukid at di na mawala sa hapagkainan ang ganyan.

Mommy D suggested the mango as a viand, lol.

Parehas sila ni Lola 😆 ginagawang ulam yung ganyan which is diko pa natratry.

 14 days ago  

Sa gabi naulan dito ee, dyan sa inyo? Sa umaga gulping init naman aguuuy.

Diko talaga maimagine na maulam ang mango. Parang ang weird lang.

Depende sa mood niya ate ropa. May umaga, hapon, tas gabi xD

Pero ganyan ang ulam dati. Sinasawsaw sa asin. Pero ako kasi hindi ko din keri. Hindi sa maarte o ano pero diko bet lasa kapag nakahalo sa kanin.

I love mangoes! Here in the Metro, super happy na ako na nakabili at php50/kg. Usually kasi mga 85-100 tapos maliliit pa hehe

 15 days ago  

Ang mahal na din talaga ng tinda ng iba sa mangga no. Kahit dito samin mejo mahal kaya di maka bili kahit gusto.

sweet looking mangoes! I too love to make it a viand hehe. I hope next year, same abundant blessings will come despite the hotness of the weather

 14 days ago  

Ehhhh, same to my oldies. They can eat thay alone with rice, but I can't I'd rather eat with soy sauce nalang tas pang himagas si manga 🤩

hehe I can do both. so delicious! well maybe you can but you just don't like it

Wow this Indian Mangoes are huge 😍😍😍 I barely see a size like that... It must be extra delicious 😋

 14 days ago  

Seriously, it is so huge I can eat the whole thing, haha. But yeah it's delicious 🤩

Amazing 🥰💯💯💯💯💯💯💯💯

Yuuum. Mango season na talaga ngayon noh. The mangoes look so sweet 😍😍

 15 days ago  

Yah, yah, kapag may puno kayo, ay naku, unli mangoes na, uwu

My mouth is watering while reading your blog and watching the mangoes Ma'am @ruffatotmeee

 14 days ago  

Hehe maybe it's time to buy or if you have trees, harvest some? Hehe

Together with my brothers and other friends, we can just pick some from someone's mango tree by using a long bamboo stick.
Tapos tatakbo pag nahuli nang may-ari. 😂

Loading...