Meeting Online Friends: Is it Worth It?

in Hive PHlast year (edited)

Back in the late 2000s (Friendster/Multiply era), blogging was a thing and online communities were built on so-called boards or forum sites. E.g. Pinoyexchange, tipidpc ,etc.

As the internet grew, people such as myself started building an online persona. It's part of living online and you choose how much you want to reveal about yourself, or maintain anonymity.

Fresh out of university, I lived and worked in Japan. Assigned to a client company in Saitama (north of Tokyo), I lived in the suburbs with an older colleague. Except for work, there was nothing much to do there so I spent most of my time online.

I came to discover a forum site for Filipinos ("Pinoys") in Japan. It's no longer existent but it was named Timog Forum. There really was great interaction within the community as I've been actively posting on the boards; eventually, I joined my very first "EB". I think it's best to share my blogpost about it here:

Screenshot of my blogpost, I lost all my uploaded pics when Multiply site got decommissioned :(

The idea of joining an 'EB' was amusing to me because it used to imply people meeting up to flirt with each other. In our case, it was simply a gathering of fellow Filipinos who share similar interests. It was an enjoyable experience to finally meet individuals behind their online personas. Based on how I communicated on the board, some assumed that I was older, but they were surprised to discover that I was actually a timid young lad. I had already seen pictures of some individuals shared online, but it was nice to meet them in person.
Yamashita Park: Where I had my first EB

Through that online community, I actually have found some of my lifelong friends whom I still keep in touch with through the years. The friendship was formed based on our passion with photography and travels while we were in Japan. Truly, I can say meeting my online friends was definitely worth it as they became real ones.

Forming a bond with online friends turned photography buddies.  Image c/o Kate/Poulain
This post is in response to HivePH's April theme about meeting up as they plan to have their first meetup this April 29. I see HivePH as a thriving community, similar to how I saw forum communities back then. If you're passionate on certain things and at the same time would like to socialize more, might as well do it with people you share interests with. Besides, coming from years of the pandemic lockdown, I think it is worth celebrating meeting up with people. Of course, there would be different personalities you will be encountering which can provide flavor to your life.

Although I don't think I would be able to join the HivePH meetup, I hope it would be a success. Looking forward to seeing pics/vids of the event. Make us regret not being able to join. Hopefully soon most of us would be able to join as it shouldn't be the first and last one.

Cheers!

Curious about HivePH?  Join us in the Discord Server by clicking on the banner!

Sort:  

Congratulations @scion02b! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Bringing the community together is definitely amazing. Logistics might be hard in the Philippines but I'm sure smaller meetups should be possible for those living close by to each other.

I just read it would be in Makati. I'll think about it considering my usual weekend schedule haha. TeamPH meetup next time naman!

 last year  

So… you’re not in Japan anymore, I assume. 😄

Back then, EBs were usually a way to “flirt”, that’s really true. 😅 But yes, it’s nice to build friendships and relationships from meeting people face to face.

I hope you can join the next HivePH meetup, if ever there is!

Haha yes, I'm here in Metro Manila! I'm just not sure on the date as I might have something scheduled already. We'll see. I'm sure there'll be more. :)

I believe the term "EB" started way back the radio messaging days. Imagine encountering strangers only via voice in radio and trying to meet up with them. hahaha

Hindi pa ba sure yung sa April 29?

 last year  

Sure na yun! April 29 6PM sa Lobo Filipino Tavern. Sana makapunta ka.

OHHH sa radyo.. medj nauso nga yun. It’s fun to hear strangers talk on the radio. Then may sked din sila to meet. 😅

I remember Friendster days when you open someone's profile you get blasted by their favorite music. but that's an awesome experience meeting online friends and keeping in touch with them.

They made a mistake of allowing random comments invade the testimonials page hahaha! I miss Multiply though, andun yung mga Japan blogs ko huhuhu

I wasn't allowed to join EBs back then sobrang bata ko pa nun time na yan pero gustong-gusto ko since I find those folks cool and wanting to meet them IRL.

text-clan ang nasalihan ko back then wala pang pera pang internet noon. Mahirap ang buhay at ang internet ay isang luho lamang na pwedeng ma achieve kung kukupit sa alkansya.

Re meet-up of Hiveph sayang naman kung di ka maka join. Hopefully it will not be the last time that we will have such hahah tagal na ng group ngayon lang talaga nagkaroon ng solid plan to do it ( location issue and majority are from Cebu and other parts of Visayas).

Actually, accessible sa akin ang Makati, pero di ata ako pwede Sat evening ng 29th. :(

Ayuun langgg hopefully there will be more events kung di pa ma disband ang grupo after ng meetup dahil may natuloy na away. HAHAHHA

Let's see what will happen next on this and see you around!

 last year  

Wow! Familiar na mga platforms sa akin tong mga to! Friendster, Multiply. Dati rin akong natatambay sa PEX at tipidpc. I have a feeling inabutan mo rin ang MIRC. haha. Though hindi ako nag join sa mga grand EB dati, mejo ilag ako sa mga ganun noon dahil mas mahirap icheck ang profiles ng mga nakakausap ko noon. ALthough naka-join ako sa mga photowalk sessions with friends I met online. Masaya makajoin sa mga meetups with peeps na you share the same interest with.

Sayang naman, hindi ka makakasama sa HivePH meetup. may mga next pa naman (hopefully) sana sa sunod makajoin ka. :)

hahaha yes, mga high school ako nun, mga chatroom sa mIRC tapos eventually nagka-yahoo chat na haha

!PIZZA 🍕

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@juanvegetarian(3/5) tipped @scion02b