Finding Peace in the Countryside: A Day in the Province

in Hive PH27 days ago

When you live in a province, there's simply no room for laziness. You need to start your job early and get things done so that when the sun is high, you've already finished your tasks and won't get affected by the scorching heat later in the day. Particularly in the current climate, where the morning sun can be blistering as early as 7 AM.


The reason why it's essential to complete tasks early is to allow you to rest once the sun is up.

That morning, upon waking up, I accompanied my father to the farm to gather saba bananas that he would send back with me to the city. He suggested that instead of buying bananas from the market, I should just bring the ones grown on his own farm, which would be more cost-effective for me in the long run.
It's heartening that even with my own family, my parents still look out for me. Without hesitation,I brought the bananas my father got for me to prepare for my departure the next day.

This is indeed the reason why residing in the province is more convenient and satisfying. If you just work hard and know how to plant, you're assured you won't go hungry because, wherever you look, there's free food available. It's not like here in the city, where you have to spend money almost every day just to have something to eat for daily sustenance.


After returning home, my father and I had breakfast and took a brief rest due to the sun's scorching heat, which was beginning to affect our skin.


A few minutes passed before I heard my mother's voice telling me to go to the market and buy the items she needed for her small grocery store. Upon hearing it, I just grabbed the money and her shopping lists and left immediately. I didn't spend much time shopping and went straight home afterward.

During lunchtime, our parents advised us to take a break for a while. They mentioned that later, when the sun's heat isn't too intense, we'll go to our farm to harvest the peanuts they planted.

Following my parents' advice, I rested under the tree for a few hours before I heard the signal from them to get ready because we were about to visit our small peanut farm.

Due to the relatively small size of the peanut farm, my parents decided that our family would handle the harvesting ourselves.
Alongside my parents, siblings, and my two nieces, we managed to finish the harvesting before nightfall.

Before that day ended, I once again accompanied my father to visit his small coconut plantation, where he takes care of coconut trees that produce coconut juice, which he turns into vinegar.

When my father decided to retire from his work, which gave him the main source of income, he chose to focus on farming, and making vinegar became one of his pastimes. It's amusing because even though my father is getting older, it didn't stop him from climbing trees and working hard.

And due to his homemade vinegar, we save money from buying it since he sends us his homemade vinegar, which is convenient for us because aside from saving money, coconut vinegar tastes better than the ones we buy at the grocery store.


I observed my father as he extracted some juice from the coconut. After my father finished collecting the juice, he offered me a taste, and out of curiosity about its freshness, I tried it, and I was pleasantly surprised by its sweetness.

My father explained that to turn it into vinegar, it needs to be stored for a few days until it naturally ferments in its own container. Once the coconut juice reaches a certain level of acidity, it can then be processed into vinegar. When we returned home, he gave me some of his homemade vinegar that he would send with me back to the city.

Life in the province is truly amazing; you almost get to enjoy free food all the time.That's why occasionally, when I have the opportunity, I return to the province because city life can become repetitive, unlike here in the province, where each day brings a variety of activities.


And that concludes my blog. Thank you for taking the time to read it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @supremooo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Thanks again for always reminding me @hivebuzz.

You're making waves @supremooo! Your first upvotes on Hive are already making an impact. Keep spreading the buzz!

Yes , thanks a lot @hivebuzz .

I agree, Tatay Bene's fresh vinegar is the best! We actually brought one big bottle of that here in the city. I am so happy to see that you share this here in Hive, couz! Also, the peanuts which are the fruits of their hard work. I'm looking forward to more province life updates! 💚💚

You should also taste the fresh coconut juice; it's tasty and won't get you drunk quickly either. I can't wait to finally go home next time for more adventures.

Appreciate and agreed to what you've said. Living in a province is indeed amazing. It is a peaceful place to live that you could also enjoy the breezing wind and planting some plants in the farm. Especially that vinegar, it is also nice and one of the best preservatives we always bring back to city if my grandparents made it some for us. 😊

Indeed ma'am @fire.phoenix . Living in the province is truly delightful and appealing because you're almost provided with everything, particularly food, without much expense. As long as you exert effort, you won't really experience hunger when residing in the countryside.

I agree with your statement. Appreciated it so much!😊

You are so hardworking @supremooo. I salute you for that ☺️.

Thanks for your compliment ma'am @richdreamer .