Unveiling the Extraordinary: A Journey into the Unknown

in Hive PH4 months ago

received_392213830125547.png


As a senior high student, I often find myself being eaten by doubts and insecurities about my academic performance.

"Will I be able to maintain my grades? Is it necessary to excel in every subject to have a chance to shine? Will my peers still appreciate and accept me even if I am not consistently at the top of our class?"

These questions constantly replay in my mind, which triggered my anxiety and self-doubt.

But here’s the truth: grades do not define our worth or determine our future success. We are more than just a number on a report card. Each of us possesses a unique set of strengths and talents that extend far beyond the confines of traditional academic achievements.

I may not consider myself the smartest person in the room, but I have been a constant honor student. I struggle with certain subjects, yet, I have found success in unexpected areas. Despite lacking confidence, I have surprised myself with my ability to excel in public speaking. Even though I may not be good with words, I can compose essays. And I have found joy and fulfillment in participating in academic contests, regardless of the outcome.

In this blog, I invite you to join me on a journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance. Together, we will challenge the notion that grades are the sole measure of intelligence and worth. To find out the real purpose and importance of embracing our unique strengths and passions, and how they can contribute to our personal growth and fulfillment.

It’s time to break free from the pressure of living up to societal expectations and receive with open arms our unique journeys, that, true success lies in authenticity, personal growth, and the pursuit of our passions.


IMG20221002172638.jpg

received_161796853373785.jpeg

received_773927034259002.jpeg

received_116067664631917.jpeg

In the year 2023, as face-to-face classes resumed, little did I know that I would graduate with high honors. It was a pleasant surprise, considering that I had never achieved such academic success before. Elementary and my previous years in high school were not marked by outstanding achievements. The journey to this point was overwhelming, but with the help of my fellow students and friends, I was able to set my sights on this goal.

However, as the year progressed, I found myself craving for more. It was a strange feeling, considering that I had already achieved what I had set out to do. My old self would have told me that the grades I had obtained were more than enough to validate my hard work. But something inside me urged me to strive for even greater heights.

Unbeknownst to me, I had started putting immense pressure on myself. Day by day, I became consumed by jealousy towards my classmates and the constant comparisons made by others. This toxic mindset took a toll on my mental health. Insomnia became regular, and self-insecurities began to plague my thoughts. To add to the mix, I had also experienced heartbreak that threatened to derail my academic priorities.

Now, as I find myself in senior high, I still struggle with this habit of constantly pushing myself. I find it difficult to let go because I fear that I may lose motivation to strive harder without this drive. But I am learning to find a healthier balance. I am discovering that motivation can come from within, from a genuine passion for learning and personal growth.


received_1424657244926682.jpeg

received_1103022114044200.jpeg

Becoming an academic achiever is no easy fit. It requires perseverance and the ability to overcome various obstacles that can weigh us down from dealing with group projects where I often found myself doing most of the work to sacrificing my sleep to study for exams, having a night of breakdowns, questioning my worth, and disregarding everything. My journey to academic success has been filled with challenges.

Having a busy schedule, I often had to make sacrifices to prioritize my studies. This meant missing out on fun times with my friends, putting aside my fan-girl moments, and rearranging my agendas. It wasn’t always easy, but I knew that achieving goals required dedication and focus.


SNOW_20240123_223132_848.jpg

SNOW_20240127_183815_918.jpg

Amid my struggles, there is one group that I am eternally grateful for – Seventeen. I want to express my gratitude to all the members, especially my bias, Hong Jisoo. Even though they may not know me personally, their words and the support they provide to their fans have been a constant source of inspiration and motivation for me. Whenever I felt like giving up, their music and messages would always find a way to uplift my spirits.

They never make it feel like a burden to cry. They create a safe place where it’s okay to let things out, to feel vulnerable, and to seek comfort. They have become my safe space, a source of validation and understanding without judgment, and remind me that I am not alone in my struggles.


OldRoll_1706426841328.jpg

received_219876874491930.jpeg

received_594261479382574.jpeg

received_1134008480563041.jpeg

Aside from Seventeen, I am also grateful for my friends. I may not always be open to them especially when it comes to my mental and emotional health, still, their genuine care for me is still there when I need it the most. Even the smallest gestures have helped me to look forward and to keep going despite all the breakdowns and downfalls. I will forever appreciate these people right here for having them. Because of them, I found another hope and freedom.


received_1588729148602427.jpeg

OldRoll_1707706632173.jpg

From being awarded 3rd honor to moving up to 2nd honor, I can truly say that all the hard work and sacrifices were worth it. As I reflect on this past semester, I realize that I need to be kinder to myself. I pressured myself to excel, to achieve the highest grades, and to constantly prove my worth without having to enjoy the process of learning.

To all the students who are still searching for their worth, I believe in you. Keep pushing forward, and I do not doubt that you will find answers at the right time.

Sort:  

Maintaining a good reputation and minding anticipatefrom others makes our life hard and unease. I know we need to reflect from others but we dont need to allow ourselves to be eaten by this process. All we need to do do is have fun and enjoy the things we are doing. By this you will find peace.

thank you so much, sir!

You did great @thesoulofsol13 , keep up the good work👏👏

Congrats @thesoulofsol13 for your success 🥰. Just bear in mind we don't need to compete with others but only to ourselves. But be sure that we will not give too much pressure on ourselves. Just relax a bit and enjoy being young 🥰.

indeed, ma'am! 😊

Just enjoy everything you have and achieve,keep it balance.

The school pressure is a lot more real than some will believe. I had to deal with that for 15 years of my life and took me a while to actually figure out who am I and who I want to become! As school doesn't really help you with that, nor does it prepare you for the bitter faces of life!

for real! all you have to do is just to let yourself get out from the cage and enjoy whatever opportunities may come!

You are a great person @thesoulofsol13 and I know that you will do a lot of great things in the future and achieve more. Don't pressure yourself too much. I know that we can't really control our thinking when it comes to our academic performance but I hope that you will know how to control how you respond to the pressure and everything negative you feel. Alsoooo, we have the same bias in svt 😍😍

omg, i can't believe i found a co-carat here who's also a joshushushu stan! nice meeting you, i really appreciate your words. thank you so much! 🤗