Headed to the Beach; A huge Surprise Awaits

in Hive PH3 months ago

You might be thinking of swimsuits and bikinis with the title but I and my wife just went to the beach to get talaba( oysters for my DIY aquarium filter). I got obsessed with fish keeping since my wife's boss gave her two Ryukin goldfish which inspired me to do my childhood dream I've always wanted to keep a fish but my Ma gets mad whenever I bring home one.

My wife @yoieuqudniram is ever supportive of what I want to do so I tagged her along with me since it was her day off.

The travel

I was the one driving the motorcycle so my wife was in charge of taking pictures along the way. it was a hot and bright day and the clouds were just curling on the horizon as if it was shy to show itself up.

Alae is 432.5 meters above sea level and we went downhill using the highway to Tagoloan, Misamis Oriental

The Sea smells so good!

Do you like the sweet fresh smell of the sea?

I bet you can smell these pictures in your head

From where we were standing was the back of Baluarte barangay hall and they built a seawall to protect the building but the whole shoreline was free for everyone to use.

Oyster Hunt

As soon as I parked the vehicle, my Wife and I went into the water, it was going hightide already and is not favorable for us; my wife blamed me for not understanding the blue and red prints on the calendar. Do you know about it?

I instantly regret leaving our slippers on the motorcycle. Most of the beach was covered with small oysters and it was very painful to walk on it. so we retreated

A dead sea urchin and small oysters underwater

Look at that water. Another egret that we have is that we did not bring extra clothes thinking that we are strong enough to resist the want to bath in saltwater

I befriended these two young ladies and asked their help to find me oyster shells. And they agreed yet there were too few on the shore.

Uploading IMG_20230115_111318_370.jpg #8
So the wife took courage and collected oysters in the water while I was on the shore beating them off from where they attached themselves.

Miracle happens to patient people

While we were doing that, a lady in her forties came to me, and asked why we were doing that and I honestly told her my plans. A few moments later, she guided us to her house and gave us the oyster shells her family just ate weeks before we came.

Imagine how big this miracle is!

It even exceeded the bag's capacity

It turns out that her sons were fish keepers too! were so tempted to buy yet, unfortunately, we don't have money yet since we planned on goin to an ATM machine on our way back.

One of his sons kept these albino parrot fish and they are just so wow

They also had their very own deep well and made fish keeping even better. Tap water contains chlorines that could kill the fish but it could still be used once the chlorine would evaporate

We did not go home empty-handed, the older brother gave us three apple snails. There are many kids of fish too but we were too busy with the oyster shells to take a photo

More seascape photography

Lots of people were having fun in the water. We want to bathe too but no on would watch our things if we do plus we don't have extra clothes to change with before going home and for sure our valuables would get wet of we go hoe wit wet clothes.

I learned from a friend that once electronic gadgets wold get wet with sea water, it would be ruined faster and sure than when it be wet with plain water.

The clouds also look amazing in the sky.

Before we left, I told myself to bring the kids here to have fun then my wife and I took each other's pictures on the beach.

When we reached home and rinsed, we realized we had many wound scratch from walking and holding the oysters. Yet despite the pain, I am very thankful that I could finally do the DIY water filter for my fish.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!