Hive PH Boot Camp | My Hive Vision and Goals

in Hive PH4 years ago

TLDR; If you have difficulties or concerns in Hive, you can contact me anytime.

Hello Hive!

I have been in touch with some ninjas of Hive PH and I really commend their work as anti-abuse on the platform. They are mostly unappreciated and sometimes even criticized for doing their job. While their work is commendable, I can't do that kind of job. I tried, but I couldn't do it. I'm too soft and fragile for that kind of work. 🤭

For context, we were aware of the latest plagiarism issues that happened here just a week ago. I was able to gather evidence and all I could have done was report it, but I didn't. Instead, I reached out to people who knew the person behind the account, but it was too late. He was already reported. To all of the people behind the anti-abuse community, you have all my admiration. Your work is not easy.

While we all agreed that the flagging was justified as he has been plagiarizing for weeks, it could have been prevented if he was properly guided on the dos and don'ts in this platform. Whoever recruited him should partly take the blame. The problem with recruiting people without properly guiding them is that they would resort to dubious activities such as plagiarism. This problem is rooted in the recruitment process itself. I bet you would promise that the one you recruited can just post anything and that's it, they have the potential to earn. I am also guilty of this. The phrase "post anything" becomes problematic. That's why whenever you recruit, you must not leave them after they have posted their introduction post.

In light of all of these, Mommy @romeskie and I decided to launch Hive PH Bootcamp. While the ninjas are busy fighting abuse, we will help anyone from committing those abuses in the first place.

Hive PH Bootcamp

Hive PH Bootcamp is on a voluntary basis. We were not paid to do this kind of work, but we feel the need to do so because it's lacking in the Philippine community. Our wish is to prevent another kind of drama that will possibly tarnish #hiveph or #philippines tags. We will do our best to help anyone who needs help. I would like to emphasize that this is not truly an altruistic work. I personally believe that this is just practical in the sense that this is beneficial to everyone in this platform.

How Does This Work?

There's no formal structure and there's no certain module that could be followed, but the idea is simple. Any newbie here in Hive who is a Filipino, living in the Philippines or abroad, can reach out to me @ybanezkim26 or Mommy @romeskie for guidance. Our Discord and Twitter channels are open. You can message me on Discord @ybanezkim26#5557 or DM me on Twitter @ybanezkim26. Mommy @romeskie is on Discord @romeskie#6068 and on Twitter @romeskie_. You can also ping us on Hive PH Discord server. You can ask any question that's related to Hive. We will try our best to reply to you as soon as possible.

I will personally make sure that you will be satisfied with the answer that you need. I may not have all the authority and knowledge in this platform, but I can always reach out to people who know better than me.

What Can You Expect from Me?

The first point that I would make is setting the right mindset. If you're in here just to earn a few bucks and then leave, you need to consider having a retreat and reflect if that's what you really want. I won't help you if you have that mindset. I'm here for the long term and so are my recruits. All forms of abuse are not to be tolerated, that I can promise.

The second point is quality. Quality might be subjective, but we can all agree it stems from effort. The amount of effort you put into something will always translate to quality. Anyone who wished to post mediocre content can continue doing what they want, but don't expect me to support it. One thing I hate is the sense of entitlement. No one is entitled to an upvote here. It's freely given. The irony is that those who felt so entitled that the whales should upvote them are those who post mediocre and trash content. Anyway, here are some of the posts I wrote that might help you:








The third point is the value of network. If you're thinking that once you posted your best content here, you already deserve an upvote, you're in delusion. You should reach out to people with common interests. This is a social blockchain after all. The reason why I'm still here is not because of the money I earned from my posts, but because of the people I met in the platform. I have made genuine friendships here and those can't be bought.

The other day I was messaged by someone on Discord. She's asking for tips on how to increase her earnings here. My immediate observation was that she's lacking in engagement to other's posts. She said she's giving upvotes, but upvotes are only meaningful if you have the stake on the chain. No matter how genuine your upvote is, you won't get noticed if it's just dust. A well crafted, a genuine comment is more meaningful and heartfelt for me. It means you have read the post and it resonated in you.

Just check out my reblogs and tell me what you observe. Some of them are my recruits and are blogging under my guidance.

My Hive Vision and Goals

Image courtesy of @doze

I think I already talked a lot of things here so I'll just leave some links for you to check out:



My Hive vision is to see Hive as a platform where people from all around the world and from all walks of life converge and share their experiences and add value to the chain. One would argue that this is already happening today, but the user base is still very small. I want to live to see the day when Hive is integrated into a lot of apps and websites. I want to see Hive as the successful Web 3.0.

Albeit abuse is not as rampant today as it was before, there are still many forms of abuses that are not confronted and often swept under the rug. I want to see Hive as a place where everyone is incentivized to share their best work. I want to see less and less mediocre content. I want to see that at least in the Philippine community. I want to see the Philippines as the powerhouse of quality content creators.

Someday, I want to see those I invited but didn't join will come to me and ask for a referral link where they can set up their own account. If that day won't happen, I'm still happy what I have now. It's still a win situation, but I see so much potential in Hive and it would be a shame if we fail in this together.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world even if he's still a poor corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Prevention is better than cure. Aminado ako, I am also too soft to be one of the ninjas. Kaya sobrang hanga ako sa kanila.

Let's not give them something to investigate on, Kim. Haha. Thank you for offering yourself to this service for the Hive PH community. Really appreciate it. 😍❤

Kayo po ang inspirasyon ko mommy. 😄
Sana may magreach out din kasi sayang ang post na to if walang magreach out. If you need help sa mga mentee mo ngayon, I can always lend some help. Basta ang goal is walang makitang anomalya ang mga ninja sa mga recruits and mentees natin. 🙈

Grabe. Ibang level kana talaga. Boot camp master. Hahaha.

What's good about this platform is the merit for quality and everyone can really do something about the abuses. There's control of proliferation of spam and plagiarized content, and hopefully also fake news.

Char sa bootcamp master. Tig answer ra diay ug questions. 😂

Those with the right intentions really value meritocracy. That's what made me believe in this platform. If you have the skills and couple it with effort, you'll definitely get noticed.

I support this bookcamp concept. Its needed. For instance im aweful at formatting. I could use a remedial course on how to make better presentations with my posts.

I used to go all put on my astronomy posts but since then have been at a loss for what i can do to dress up the post internally so that its more eye pleasing.

As for plagiarism. I think theres no excuse for that. Plagiarism being wrong is a universally understood concept. I could be deep in the amazon dealing with the yananamo tribe or deep in the ituri forests having a conversation with the pygmy natives there. People who have very little interaction with the modern world and even they would know and be familiar with the concept of plagiarism and that it is wrong. Its simple morals and i feel people commiting it are just ignoring their own morals hoping to take hive for fools.

Hi Dave! You can check out my post about formatting techniques so have some insights about it. You can always modify the code, of course, and make it pleasing according to your taste.

As for plagiarism, I agree that it's all about morals. Sadly, not everyone has a strong foundation with morals when it comes to money.

Thanks ill check it out. Ill be doing a post today so ill see if i can put your techniques and lessons to good use

Yay! I'll be on the look out for your post.

No voiceover here neither

You're taking away my food! 😡

Thank you for this!! Will DM you on Twitter if I have questions. Kay wala jud makaguide saako. The other day I was notified regarding sa pagchange sa recovery account and I don't know what to do jud. Third time nako nanotify. Naseen raman jud ko saakong gisendan/gipangutan-an. Naningkamot nalang kog ako jud. Maygani nasakto ra. 😅

Kinsa imong gibutang as your recovery account. It should be someone you trust with your life. Char. Pwede man ka magbuhat ug secondary account that will serve as your recovery account.

Anyway, if you have questions, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'll help in any way I can.

Ako first gibutang jud kay akoang account ra. 😅 Naa na sa last step nakadecide kog icancel. Naghimu kog secondary account and nachange na nako yesterday lang jud. 😊

Awh! Maayo nuon. Ana gyud

Is the said abuser the one I'm aware of or is there another one?

Great concept, hopefully all the newbies joining from Philippines will reach out to you, or you can reach out to them first to give them the support and guidance.

There's another one. 🙈

Yeah! Hopefully, they will reach out to me. I don't want to deal with the drama that could have been avoided in the first place.

 4 years ago  

Teach me how to blog po.

Stahp! Balik ka muna officially. 😂