My top 5 favorite street food in the Philippines.

in Hive PH2 years ago

Street foods comes from the word itself. A food in the street. There's a lot of street foods here in the Philippines. A different version in a different places. I have tasted some of the street foods here and I have my personal favorite. I will share it with you guys and let's check if its your favorite too.

I will start at my top 5

Top 5 - Fishball, Kikiam and squid balls.

img_0.843324270163669.jpg

These street food is very common in the Philippines. You can see vendors of these street foods anywhere. Usually they have a cart so that they can switched places to get more customers.

Fishball, Squidball and Kikiam are made of fish and squid paste then added a cornstarch to make it firm. They also added seasonings then they fry it as you can see in the image above. It is best serves with sweet and sour sauce ( for me). Fishball costs. 50cents per peice while the kikiam is 1php. The squid ball costs 2.50php per piece. How affordable isn't it?

Top 4 - Roasted High Land Legumes ( Peanut )

img_0.6897804410040627.jpg

Roasted Peanut or Adobong Mani is fried peanuts with garlic. There are two type of peanut that they offer, the one who has skin that looks like in the image and the one without skin. The one without skin is more bigger than with skin. You can also add chili on it if you want to. I love these street food because I can eat it when Im in the bus going home. There are also peanut vendor who sell inside the bus. Roasted peanut costs 5 to 10 pesos. It depends on how much do you want.

Top 3 - Ihaw Ihaw

img_0.2982217287011838.jpg

Ihaw ihaw comes from the English word " grilled ". Filipinos are resourceful. They discover a lot of body parts of chicken that can be eaten. Example of Ihaw ihaw is Chicken intestine, Chicken blood, Chicken Feet and Chicken head. They also had a barbeque and hotdogs. Other people doesn't want to try it but its actually taste good. It is best serves with vineagar sauce. Ihaw ihaw costs depends on the place but its actually range from 5 to 20pesos.

Top 2 - Chicken Skin

img_0.7330534872906119.jpg

Chicken Skin is from the word itself again 😁 It a skin of a chicken breaded with flour and fried until it becomes crispy. I am addicted to these street food. Every other day I am craving for chicken skin. But unfortunately Philippines is under GCQ so I am not able to buy one. Chicken skin costs 10 to 20 pesos per cup.

Top 1 - Egg waffle / Kwek kwek

img_0.06286282341489714.jpg

My all time favorite Kwek Kwek !

Egg waffle or kwek kwek is made of quail eggs coated with orange batter then fried. It is best serves while its hot and partner with sweet and sour sauce. Theres a place here in the Philippines that I will recommended to buy kwek kwek. Its located near Boni LRT station. I love their kwek kwek there. You can get a lot of cucumber to add on your kwek kwek. You can buy 1 stick of kwek kwek for only 15php. 1 stick has already 4 pcs.

So thats all guys. If you want to share your favorite street foods you can comment it down there.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

These are indeed yummy food! These helped me get through my college years! But my top 1 would be fried baga ng baka.

Those tiny ones in a stick?

 2 years ago  

Yes, that's the one!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yen1503.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @yen1503! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This post definitely made me drool 🤤 my personal favorite is that "isaw" or grilled chicken intestine dipped with vinegar mixed with salt and onions. Okay, now I'm hungry 🤣🤣