Laid to the Final Rest

in Hive PH2 months ago

Death is inevitable and yet every death is painful yet no one can prevent it from coming. I've heard once that lucky are those who have gone first because somebody had laid them to their final rest; when our time would come would there be anyone to do so?


Late in January, I and my family went to lay my uncle to rest, he was the eldest brother of my father who have gone ahead to the almighty 6 years ago. Died of an old age due to excessive smoking, the root of his cancer and old age and his family dearly laid him to rest.

They were not in good terms with the other family members, especially his brothers so the family sought to make his death a secret but just as a smoke, it makes way to come out of where it was kept, we knew about his death and was confirmed by his wife.


The lack of funds made us visit them on the day of his burial, laying him to the final rest before Christ returns and take the dead to their new home.

My mother rented a multicab; a small passenger vehicle that could cater up to 16 passengers and carried us to the Divine Shepherd Cemetery. My sister who think of me as evil was with us and her young ones too. TI saw in my mother's face that she wanted us to reconcile but I could not just reconcile with someone who hives me a smirk whenever she saw me. She should know that her sin was hers and I was never part of it just like hoe she blamed me for it.

Anyway, here are some snaps I took in the vehicle

My mother, Aya on the left and Laling on right.

Indang and PJ who is crying because she had never seen her kuya in a while

@eylii and Czak beside me

It took us almost an hour to reach the heart of the city, the driver was smart avoiding RTAs to avoid tickets and fines.

As we traveled, I snapped on the wonderful sight and I am glad my phone camera is as quick as my hand could press the shutter button.

Pretty bougainvilleas on the road

It's been while since I wished to but a seedling of this multi-colored flowers

A dead tree but still standing

A wonderful mountain ranges ruined by spaghetti wires on posts.

Another pretty bougainvilleas along the road

The girls having fun together

And Czak in a cool mood

The famous statue on the divine shepherd cemetery


Before the burial, we sang songs praising God and bidding my uncle goodbye. It was a painful, even more painful as it brought memories when we bid goodbye to my father.

The last viewing

And finally, the burial


Food followed after and we had chitchats with other members of the family. I could not blame them for not inviting others to attend the last day on my uncle above the face of the earth but I hope God will light up their hearts and heal the pain each of them bare.

So there goes how we laid my uncle to his final rest, it was a day full of emotions yet gone he was but will never be forgotten.

This will be all for now, see ya around!