You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 6th Hive birthday & little freewrite on fulltime Hiving

in Loving HIVE ❤6 months ago (edited)

I suppose that's rough and requires a transition. Because it's so unfeasible to do in North-America I can forget that folks can actually consider this/crypto their full income. In the meantime, you have accumulated a bank of AMAZING photography. Ever thought of developing a product or sales via a third party website that sells photoprint swag like blankets, calendars (whatever else they do these days) and you earn a commission and probably no cost to start along with hive. I think you should find ways to try to cash in on all this photography and material/knowledge you have accumulated. It's only dead after 7 days if you think it is. It doesn't solve everything immediately and finding a more permanent mundane job will probably be a thing you will have to face but perhaps a temporary one. Perhaps sell your photography skill via a portrait photo sessions for a fee.

Sort:  

Location is a very important factor when you work online. There are many Hivers here from countries like Venezuela, Cuba, Philippines or Nigeria and some of them easily live off Hive even at the current prices. In my country, I would need some 3k USD a month to live a decent life and we are not even among the most expensive European countries, quite the opposite actually...

Thanks for those kind words about my photos. Yes, I have been places and probably have a few dozens of thousands of pictures in my files but I have taken them all just with my phones and the quality is thus far from great. I do have a portfolio at ShutterStock with some 1500 photos but the sales are a joke. Literally a few dollars per month. So when I need to look for a job (and that will be very soon), I will probably search in the area of translation / copywriting, which is what I did before I stumbled on Hive (Steem).

I suppose location makes a difference for sure. Too bad about Shutterstock. Obviously sounds like you don't have to fall to the bottom of the traditional labor market, you already have some experience in something valuable.