JUNE 2024 PAINTING BATCH - KNIGHT-VEXILLOR WITH BANNER OF APOTHEOSIS

At the first moment I got my hands on the new Knight-Vexillor, I'm totally impressed with the model design. A knight holding a huge sized banner. Literally huge, since the banner stretch width, almost as wide as the 40mm bases of the models. And whats even more, the banners decorated with a dual tail-penants, which spread far outside the base.

The meticulous engraving on both sides of the banners give striking details and also simple guidance to paint the murals. On the other hand, this engraving cause less realistic impression into the banners, where it much more realistic if its plain and the murals is hand-drawn.

The process of painting this model is not too difficult with only few colors combination being used. But to color the banners itself need a greater amount of patience on the intricate frame. I decided to use Hallowed Knight color template, so this model could be used in the upcoming 4th Edition - Skaventide. You can find the video of the painting process under here.

The first step is always prime the model with Abaddon Black. And then splash the 2 (two) main colors, which is Blue using Kantor Blue, and Silver using Leadblechers.

image.png

Next step I use Runelord Brass to color the pole of the banners and some of the hinges. And then paint the frame of the banners using White Scar. The flame tounge encircles the Sigmar's face are painted using Retributor Armor. And for the banner I decided to repeat using Leadbelchers.

image.png

The armor plate will need more shade on the recess area, and for this I used Soft Tone from Armypainter to give the dark-greenish shade. The bases are covered using Stirland Mud. For the penants I want a creamy color and therefor I used Wraithbone. The sword is the most important part, because I want to make a contrasting color compared to the rest. And for this yellow should make the absolute oppposite contrast of the blue. I used Averland Sunset and then put a white patch to give more metallic impression

20240605_220121.jpg

20240605_220111.jpg

Finally, I put the rest of the minor details such as:

  • Gehenna Gold to give gold effect of the armor edges
  • Alaitoc Blue on the gemstone
  • Armypainter Rough Iron for the handle of the banners and sword.
  • Mournfang Brown for the satchel.

20240608_073656.jpg

20240608_073733.jpg

image.png