Hobby Victories: My First Competition

Good morning my good people!

How’s y’all doin’? Sorry I haven’t been active on here, a lots been happening irl 😅

So! I recently received my Golden Gobbo 2nd place mug, and I thought I’d just share some stuff here that comes to mind. (I’m a bit under the weather so this may be incoherent 🥴)

So! Lets start off with what the competition was-
It was last October and was for a single model of whatever origin and faction. Warhammer or not.

So I decided to enter with something that had a few countries involved! The model itself came from my friend in Amarica while the color scheme was from a YouTuber (Brink of Art). And of course painted by me, in South Africa. Add the competition that was in the UK and what’d ya know, 4 countries were involved in this!

So what did I enter? Oh just a promotional Primaris Marine.

But all that preambel is boring! Let’s just see what I painted!

I had quite a lot of fun with this one, and put a LOT of effort into it. Probably the most effort I’ve ever spent on a single model that wasn’t a dedicated character.

This was also my first attempt at orange believe it or not! I’m shocked at how easy it actually was too 😅

And, through much debate between the judges and some other VERY well done entries, I had placed 2nd! In my first ever competition!

Now its no Golden Demon or whatever other prestigous event, but I am DAMN proud with what I accomplished!

I’m also currently working on March’s challenge, but I’ll post about that later 😉

I plan on collecting several of these wonderful little mugs 😁

I just hope it doesn’t take 6 months for the next one to get here 🫠

Sort:  

Congratulations ! That's a nice marine you did - a good but challenging colour scheme and very well executed. I'm always impressed with the quality of entries in these kind of competitions, so getting any kind of place in one is a definite achievement 😀