Doom Stoner Metal RPG: MÖRK BORG!

in Tabletop / DND2 years ago

Hive Thumbnails correct.png

Hello everyone!

I know it looks like I wrote a post and semi-disappeared again, but it's not like that. First of all, I actually wrote this one last week, but I couldn't put images, and refreshed the page, and all I wrote has lost. Generally my browser keeps the data when I refresh, but it was the one specific time, and I felt exhausted. Now I feel better and this time I'll finish this successsfully!

I don't know what kind of music you're listening. I personally listen to lots of stuff, from Synthwave to rap, classic rock to dungeon synth, but my main genre is (obviously) black metal! And this game gives the full vibe of a black metal album!

What is Mörk Borg?

Mörk Borg is a near-apocalyptic darkest-est fantasy ever! It's also called as OSR (Oldschool Renaissance, or Revival), which means, this game doesn't have scenarios with long and detailed descriptions, and is kinda dungeon-crawl and hardcore! When I give the details, you'll see how it goes.

Screenshot_2.png

How to Play Mörk Borg

It's actually pretty simple! The game doesn't have any long and complicated rules at all. BUT. There are lots of different tables and lots of opportunity to bring misery and endless agony into the your game table.

First, let's determine the characters' abilities (or stats, or attributes, or characteristics, whatever you call) There are four abilities. Agility is for defending, balance, swim, and flee. Presence is for perceive, aim, charm, and wield Powers. Strength is for crushing, lifting, striking and grapple. Toughness is for resisting against poison, cold and heat, and also survivability from huge fallings, also determines your character's HP.

For determining abilities, you gotta roll 3d6 for all abilities. The results are equal to some modifiers from -3 to +3 and these are the minimum and maximum starting qualities. An ability can be increased to a maximum of +6.

After that, everything is kinda simple, but you have to be cautious:

  • In Mörk Borg, there is no race. You can describe your character however you want, but it won't change their mechanical features.
  • In Mörk Borg, there is no class. That means, you don't have to pick a class. Picking class is optional. So, there are "optional classes" instead of classes. Every optional class could give you an origin and a class ability. Also it could change your character's HP and Power value, as well as omen pool.
  • In Mörk Borg, there is no spellcasting. But magic is still there. Via magical items and ancient scrolls. But usage of these kind stuff has a limit. It's generally Presence modifier + d4, and this roll happens every morning.
  • In Mörk Borg, GM doesn't make a roll for anything, except picking stuff from tables. When in combat, PC rolls both for attack and defense, and uses d20. Difficulty is mostly 12, but different circumstances like enemy creature's equipments or abilities, or PCs' abilities or a spells effect etc, could change this Difficulty Rating.
  • In Mörk Borg, the end is near. Everyday GM rolls a die. Its type is determined by talking with players, depending on how long will the game take. When the result is 1, a misery reveals. GM rolls d66. After sixth misery, seventh misery 7:7 happens, and seventh seal breaks. The world burns deeply in fire. Everything vanishes. Burn your book.

There is a one-page rules summary on the latest page of the rulebook. Which is:  "Screenshot_1.png"

What I Like in Mörk Borg

I don't like fantasy-style games much, but I have to say that this game got my attention with its concept and art-style.

  • First of all, I like the systems which causes players to roll all dice, and gives GM the narrative role are my favorite. It's one of the reasons why I like the games with Apocalypse Engine mechanics. This isn't an Apocalypse Engine game, but still better than lots of other stuff.
  • Most of the fantasy games STILL have level-up method, which is kinda outdated. If you follow the industry, you could easily see that newest successful games don't use "leveling up" anymore. Instead, they use character advancement, which is slightly better, in my honest opinion.
  • Creators of this game inspired from interesting bands like Batushka, Mayhem, Watain, Electric Wizard, Darkthrone, Tiamat, Urfaust, Bongripper etc.

    Screenshot_3.png

It's kinda hard to understand the scenarios, because they're written in basic keywords, like those first edition D&D scenarios. I will try to create my own scenarios and use interesting tables for bringing more and more pain and agony on my game. I wonder if my players like it, or love it, or dying for it :)

That's all for now. I'll try to write another post in the next days. See you again with less chaotic games :P

Sort:  

This would not be a game for me but I like the art style of the images you provided!

I can relate to your problem with the browser while writing on an article because I had a similar issue once. I usually write my text in .txt files first and do the layout in PEAKD later because my current PC is not the fastest one and workin in the browser is not the best method. For some reason more than once I had two windows with the file open and of course saved the one where I just had written a few lines 😒.

I found a free software where you can also edit your text including the layout offline called "laverna". You write your text and code on the left and can see the result on the right side. You can just copy and paste your code and just have to upload and re-add your image files. Everything else like formatting and links is transferred correctly. It's especially great if you work on larger texts/ideas or several texts at once you do not finish in one session, because you can sort them in different "notebooks" and have a nice overview. I am using it also to collect ideas for posts I could perhaps do in the future different from my tutorial collections and hobby update stuff.

2022-04-13 07_52_17-Crystals For Miniature Bases And Terrain - Alle Notizen - Laverna.png

Sir... You are a life saver!! I'll definitely check this out! I thought if I use hive, peakd or ecency, but didn't know the difference between them. I was suspecting about their text editor. I hope this will help better. Thank you!

Glad to be helpful ^^

Congratulations @shatargat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!