You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A New Year With RPG

in Tabletop / DND2 years ago

Thank you for this lovely reply!

1200px-Oldworldofdarkness-logo.svg.png

As far as I know, White Wolf's World of Darkness has ended around 2005 in chronology, and after that, Onyx Path Publishing took over the legacy and tweaked it a bit, as called "New" World of Darkness.
1335dfaa593542e66e25d0255df3832926159649b0a3e7cdd962b9e290b71086.png
After that, I guess it was around 2013 or 2014, Onxy Path Publishing had announced that "Old" World of Darkness (oWoD) will be called as World of Darkness again, while "New" one (nWoD) will be called "Chronicles of Darkness", and OPP created and still creates their content depending on CoD.
800px-Vampire_The_Masquerade_logo_V5.png
Around late 2018, White Wolf published 5th Edition of Vampire: The Masquerade and because of some sensitive content in the book, they had to change lots of stuff. Paradox Interactive got the rights of World of Darkness RPG content, and now they're working with Renegade Game Studios. And looks like Renegade has a permanent role, at least for now. They published a final version of Core Rulebook, and Book of Nod, and the sourcebooks Anarch, Camarilla and Sabbath. I'm not sure if The Second Inquisition book had released, but I hope it will explain lots of stuff people couldn't find in Core Rulebook and other sourcebooks.

I'm curious about your dice system right now, actually my aim is to be a game designer and author for tabletop RPG in general, but right now, I'm only a content creator and paid gamemaster. I'm working on my own game based on Apocalypse Engine, but don't have much time to improve the project. So, I'm always open for learning different game systems, dice mechanics and different approaches to known concepts.

Sort:  

Ahh that explains that, my players and I were a bit confused about the differences between oWoD (which we're mostly playing, though a lot of the hacks I've put in to streamline combat seem to have made their way into nWoD/CoD), nWoD (which seemed to be a distinct thing though it appears it's not actually) and CoD.

Thanks for the unexpected detailed writeup XD

I haven't read either of the Vampire sourcebooks yet (and really should as I currently have two VtM characters in one game and have been told by one of the players I was testing CoD with that he's going to reuse the VtR vampire he made because he liked playing it in the test) so I don't know what the "sensitive content" you're talking about is but given the nature of the game I can guess.

I kind of wanted the dice system to be easy for beginners to learn (I have a vague goal of I should be able to teach it to children in 1-2 sessions) but also open enough for GMs to be able to shoehorn into whatever they wanted. It's currently so open it's going to frustrate anyone who prefers having hard and fast rules to look up for easy arbitration ^_^;

So far it's had two combat playtests (first one worked out a LOT of bugs, second one went a lot better) and now needs a one shot playtest to check the other mechanics.

I've been thinking about blogging about development but as I'm prioritising the projects that are in my weekly progblog, updates on it would be extremely sparse. I think after I've taken it through a couple of playtests I might just throw an "alpha version" type thing online and let other people mess about with it and see what bugs they find. Maybe XD