A Visit to Lake Bled (Slovenia)

in Travel Photographylast month
Authored by @Ashwin

20240316_123701.jpg

This weekend we visited Lake Bled which is a popular destination in Slovenia on the Julian Alps . It is a great destination for people to relax, enjoy the lake and even go for long relaxing walks along the lake.

We started from the capital city Ljubljana. The bus fare is around 2 Euros each side, so in total with 4 Euros going there by bus was fairly reasonable. We took the 8 am bus and it was not crowded at all and it made the overall journey feel very cozy.

We got to Lake Bled at around 9am. The weather was not perfect but was quite good. And there was a bluish tint to the location as you can see in the photos.

20240316_110148.jpg
Plenty of ducks swim on the waters

20240316_110552.jpg
To the center of the lake you can see the church and to the right on top of the hill stands the Castle

There is a castle on the side of the Lake which overlooks the entire lake and also part of the city. The climb to the castle is a bit challenging and since my friend had pain on his knees we didn't climb it. But I guess I will visit this castle the next time I am here, which I will plan soon.

20240316_111214.jpg

The weather was luckily a bit sunny though it was cloudy and we were lucky that it was not raining like it was in the past weeks.

There is an island right in the middle of the lake and we took a boat ride to the island which was a bit expensive at 14 Euros in total to go and come back. There is a church on the Island where tourists are allowed to light candles and also ring the church bell. (Excuse my wordings as I am not a Christian, feel free to correct me about the ringing of the bell).

20240316_115539.jpg
There are several options to go the island such as renting a small boat or an electric boat where a group of 10 people go and also a huge row boat which takes more time to get to the island but you get to soak in the whole atmosphere as you slowly glide across the Lake.

20240316_122823.jpg
The steps towards the church

IMG-20240316-WA0010.jpg

After spending an hour on the island, me and my friend returned back to the mainland. We had some food and nice beers before we said good bye to the pretty and peaceful Lake.

Thank you Slovenia.

  • Disclaimer:
  • All Pictures taken by me from my phone
Sort:  

What an adventure. I love visiting beautiful places, but it is the case that I ma so busy sometimes to visit these places. Thank you so much for shearing them with us.

Yes me too. It helps to reset our minds doesn't it. And no problem I was happy to post this and share this to the World. 😄

Yes my friend, relaxation is absolutely good for our minds.

Thank you for recognizing my article. It made my day. Have a good one all.