Painting a Scroll Case for RPG Dungeons And Dragons Tabletop Game

in DIYHublast year

Scroll Case Painting for RPG Dungeons And Dragons Tabletop Game

Or as a decoration.

Hello everyone, today I will show you the handmade scroll case painting project step by step. Let's begin!

Timelapse Video

Materials

  • This scroll case we extracted from the 3d printer. You can reach the link to the 3d model down below.

  • Black Spray Paint

  • Mask to use when applying spray paint

  • Acrylic Brown Paint

  • Acrylic Metallic Gray Paint

  • Acrylic Black Paint

  • Brushes

  • Music

  • Average 100-120 minutes of time (excluding 3d printing time)

Step One, Black Coating

First, as always, we spray the base with black spray paint. What we need to pay attention to here is to keep the spray a little bit away from the model and you should not do it on the model when starting and finishing, in such delicate and finely detailed models. So start outside the 3d model and then stop spraying on the other side after spraying over it. You prevent it from flowing and dripping. So it does not accumulate as drops.

Step Two, Painting The Browns (Wood)

The reason I painted it brown is that I wanted it to look like wood because my friends who play dungeons and dragons might find it in a Dwarf Mine. I know the details on it are very good for stone, but it didn't make sense for a scroll case to be made of stone. So I used a dark brown to give it a wood feel, I didn't want to use a light brown because that would make it look like cheap wood. It had to be durable and last for many years.
When painting brown, be careful not to overdo it. Do not fill in details.

Step Three, Painting The Metal Parts

When painting metal pieces, you need to decide which metal it will be made of. I chose Mithral metal, which is a shiny and shadowless metal with light blue tones and is one of the most powerful metals in the Dungeons and Dragons universe. Therefore, it is possible that it has survived in the abandoned Dwarf Mine where they will find this scroll case and it should still be shiny. That's why I decided to paint it thoroughly. But if you want it to be a bit more normal metal, paint it step by step with the dry brush technique.
Here I just mixed black and the blue-silver color of the metal with the dry brush to create a little bit of darkness and then I went over it last. So just to give it a little bit of an aged feel. Actually, it doesn't look old, it looks a bit dusty. Because we know that this Mithral metal is very durable.

Finally, I put in the papers I had made in my previous post and we know that they are letters and information. I'm not going to tell you what's inside because I don't want to give spoilers for the game, but I think it looks really cool when you look at it. When our heroes find this Scroll Case and they open it up, they're really holding something from the game's universe in their hands.

I think that's a great feeling. Imagine holding an item from the game you're playing in real life. Honestly, if you had that chance, what would you choose? Including magical materials. It was really hard for me to come up with an answer and that's where I lingered the most when I was writing the blog I was wondering what I would choose because there are so many beautiful magical items. I think I would choose something with healing abilities. I shouldn't tire myself out thinking about it anymore.

TL,DR

  • Coat the Scroll Case with black spray paint.

  • If you are going to make wood, paint the brown color you choose with acrylic without exaggerating and not too full, without filling in the details.

  • If you are going to make the edges metal, look at how the metal of your choice looks in nature and after it has been forged as a material. This way you can decide on the dripping paint to add to your metallic acrylic paint.

  • If you want to age it, paint it with a dry brush technique.

And that's all there is to it. I hope you enjoyed reading this post. I am sure that my friends who play my dungeons and dragons game will be very happy when they find this.

You can find the 3D Model Here (Scroll Case by jjansen February 17, 2014)

Thank you very much for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @arduilcelebren! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
 last year  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHUB Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator desro & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Thank you kindly 🤗🤗

Hello, excellent work, it is a very original creation, the main image looks great. Regards.

Thank you so much for your comment 🤗🤗

This is interesting DIY project. The final colors are cool and amazing.
!CTP

Thank you so much for stopping by 🤗🤗

That turned out great - I haven't seen a scroll case like that, cool how it interlocks :)

Yeah it is actually very easy to use 😁😁

¡Amigo usted no para! JAJAJA proyecto tras proyecto,que bueno que pueda compartir todo con nosotros aqui en hive y más aun explicar su proceso creativo.

Ahahahha thank you man 😁😁