A Look into the Growing Workshop.

in DIYHub3 years ago

Tools are an essential part of what makes us human. The ability to refine them and make tasks easier is a defining part of our beings as a species. Whenever we work with our hands we want to achieve the best results possible, but sometimes our skills are not high enough to meet the goal. It happens a lot. A drawing teacher once told me: "I'm sure you can look at this -he was pointing at something I had to draw- in the way I can look at it: colors, texture, shadow; but I can see your hands need to work in a lot of things before making out what your eyes see".

And he was right. I mean I'm really bad at drawing, but taking those classes made me appreciate drawing even more. I could for example write a critique about something around posts. Maybe even inquire about particular techniques employed to make a painting. But that's as far as I would go around that. I made up my mind not to use my hands for artistic drawing.

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.20.15 PM.jpeg

Things in the workshop are different. I can work with measures and tools to help me get shapes. That compensates what I can't do with my hands and a pencil. But in order to repeat certain patterns, you need to have done previously. There you can see two of the most important things I have. First, my beautiful workshop diary -made by the talented @adncabrera-; second, my templates.

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.27.01 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.23.22 PM 1.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.23.22 PM.jpeg

Let's talk about the features of this nice handmade notebook. As you can see it looks sturdy. It can be closed and also has some pockets inside to keep the templates save. What's more, there are two bands to hold a pencil. It's just awesome. But the most important feature is that half of it is made of folded paper. This is a fine resources for designs and tracing new patterns. I haven't used it a lot yet, but I'm sure I'll get it filled up with new ideas for instruments and details about more and more things to do.

It's also handy as I can keep track of things I need in the workshop. I haven been buying some already, but there's a long way to go until I can go from having a makeshift workshop to a real one. But hey, it's like building a HIVE account. You can't do it in one swoop!

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.20.15 PM 1.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.20.15 PM 2.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20210223 at 7.20.15 PM 3.jpeg

Now, the templates. You can see I have templates for strumming guards, head stocks and heels. These are all for cuatros, but it's in my plans to learn o make more instruments. I want to be able to make all the instruments used in traditional Venezuelan music and even instruments from other countries, exotic instruments, and why not? baroque and renaissance instruments (that would be awesome!). For the time being, I try to make a template out of every idea that comes to mind. Some of them are adaptations of things I have seen on Instagram. There's so much material to digest and so little time. But I'll make more and more until I have not enough room to store them.

Also, this is just cardboard and paper at the moment, but the plan is to make wooden templates and precision is a must in this trade.

You know what they say: if you can think about it, you can make it happen

(I don't know if that's an actual quote or who said it, but I have had the phrase stuck in my brain for quite some time).


All pictures used in this post were taken with my phone.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bertrayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities