Putting smiles on people's faces through sewing/ Simple gown with puff sleeves for my little friend Mariam

in DIYHub4 days ago

Hello everyone

IMG_20240415_220400_943.jpg

Greetings to you all out there and I hope you all are doing great, it is always a pleasure for me to share my creativity here in this community with creative minds and seamstresses like me. Sewing has always been what I love to do not just for the money but for the joy and how it makes me feel each time I put a smile on someone's face through what I do.

Most times, I made outfit for little children around me, both boys and girls from left over fabrics, while sometimes, the parents bring their fabrics and I sew for free as gift for the little ones even for adults as well, like those that are closer to me and trust me, it makes me feel happy putting smiles on people's faces in my little way.

Today, I will be sharing with you the making of this simple gown I make for my little friend Mariam. Mariam is a little girl, that has been staying with grandma right from when she was a baby, grandma also love Mariam so much as she is her grand daughter, the little girl is so hard working that I love her as well, I said to myself that someday, I will make an outfit for her, recently, the opportunity presented itself as I was gifted this 2yatds of fabric, I decided to make it for Mariam as promised which will be a surprise to her and grandma.

This is the making of gown outfit for Mariam.

First, I folded the fabric in four in a way that will be enough to cut out the front and back as well.

IMG_20240415_201534_084.jpg

On the fabric, I marked and cut out the neckline, armhole, waist, hip and full length measurement, since this is all the fabric I have, I had to make sure that there is left over to make the sleeves, so, I reduced the length to a short gown. The front and back were sewn together while the neckline was neatly sewn with a bias tape.

IMG_20240415_205954_746.jpg

I made a simple puff sleeves from the remaining fabric I cut out from the full length of the fabric.

IMG_20240415_201946_276.jpg

IMG_20240415_201942_867.jpg

The hem of the sleeves were gathered with an elastic band while the other side was sewn to the armhole circumference of the gown.

IMG_20240415_211306_764.jpg

Finally, the dress is ready for Mariam as I sew the hem of the gown with a little slit by the two sides for easy movement when walking.

IMG_20240415_220400_943.jpg

This simple gown was delivered to grandma for Mariam, both of them were so happy for my little gift, grandma received it with great joy as she said this is sallah cloth for Mariam has she has no plan for any outfit for her but miraculously, God has made it happen through me, I was so happy as well as she prayed and blessed me. It gives me great joy to put smiles on people's faces in my little way.

Thanks for reading through my post, until my next post.

Sort:  
 4 days ago  

It looks amazing. Nicely designed. It shows your skills. Well done!