fixing a very old electrical socket

in DIYHub2 years ago

Hallo DIY friends!

This project has been hanging off the wall quite precariously for some time, since one of the screws that held it to the wall broke through the ancient plastic...

It is a relatively straightforward fix BUT it seemed more complex before I began, just because of the old wires, and the old fitting: I eventually chatted with Raffaele at the ferramento, and it all worked out.

This was the old plug socket, above.

And the new bits, above.

The old wires into the new socket centre block, above.

And the new centre block clicked into the whole rectangle which attaches into the hole, above and below.

This part was the fiddley-ist: the old-style elastic-band thing was quite difficult to hold firmly in place whilst I tightened these screws to make the two 'claws' clamp into the inside if the hole in the wall.

But I managed it, and it sat a bit bendy but solidly, into the wall. The finishing white part clipped in with some force, too! ☺️

It was a happy moment, switching the electricity back on, and seeing the lamp in action!

It's a small but significant job: all my electrics are outdated and some need urgently replaced, but I don't have the funds to pay someone to do it: if I can manage one job at a time like this, I will continue to fix it all myself. 🌞🙏💐

Big, good wishes to you all in your DIY projects today!

Clare.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Nice job! The end result is great, I don't trust myself with electrical projects lol, when I end up doing them I triple check that the power is off. On the other side of DIY I like power tools for carpentry related work ... Also dangerous but fun.

wow you're idol now;))
I've never done it in my life, and actually I'm a little bit afraid of anything connected with electricity, so I can hardly imagine I am doing it by myself...though you show it's not so difficult, I should try;)

Hehehe, @taliakerch - it is truly very simple: just be sure to switch off the electricity at the main meter, before beginning any electrical job! Everything is possible, with patience and methodical attention; even electricity. Most things in the modern world are designed to seem dangerous or too difficult to do ourselves, but one of the beautiful aspects of having little money, is that it forces me to do it myself, then I see it is relatively easy and costs much less to fix oneself! :-D Good luck with your efforts, friend, and thank you very much for your enthusiastic support!