You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Manchmal arbeiten die Handwerker Pie mal Daumen/ Sometimes the craftsmen work pie times thumb

in DIYHub2 months ago

I'm glad when you try to understand German. But I have to tell you that German is a very difficult language. Some words have different meanings in sentences. And I think that the translator didn't translate the German phrases clearly 😉

I am very happy that you can see my daily work thanks to Hive 😉

!LOLZ
!DIY

Sort:  

What do cats cook for dinner when they're in a hurry?
Minute Mice

Credit: reddit
@deeanndmathews, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of danielhuhservice

(3/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

English is also a very difficult language ... I know the translator is not up to it ... my advantages are the King James Bible and Shakespeare ... that well of older English helps a lot, because Shakespeare's English is closer to the Germanic form. "Thou hast" from 1519 is not that far from "Du hast" ... so that helps a lot.

Ich habe Deutsch in die Universität gelernt ... Die Liebe zur Musik zog mich an ... Beethoven, Bach, Brahms, Schumann, Schubert, und andere. I got to know the composers through reading their biographies, and Beethoven's letters in particular stood out to me ... he was someone who I would have wanted to know, and love as a friend -- not the easiest friend to have, but a true one if you could have him at all (just like his music)! Now if he had been a friend, I would have tried to understand him the best I could ... and so I did. I began on German in high school, while studying as a classical pianist. Later, I discovered Bach's keyboard music, and still later, because of the deep Christian faith I have, I loved hearing Bach's music in concert with the things I already believe, but now in a second language ... his B Minor Mass comforted me after the loss of a close relative.

And, thus it was, more recently, that Brahms's Vier Ernste Gesänge came up on YouTube at the time of the death of a relative ... and AGAIN, that got me through ... so, I have returned to German ... it does not hurt, of course, that now when I read German, this is the voice I hear in my head ...

I also even more recently found a little German Freikirche on my timeline ... and would you believe: Prediger Hans-Gunter Mohn is in his own idiomatic way preaching the same warm, loving, community-focused Christianity my pastor here is preaching? Closed captions help, but he speaks slowly enough so that I can increasingly understand him ... and also understand that, as you say, translators can only do so much ... one has to have a feel for the idioms to get it right.

I know that German is a difficult language ... but German is like Beethoven: not at all easy, but giving, and generous once the commitment is made ... and if it is too late, and already has your love, then that's all there is to that. "Muss es sein? ... Es muss sein!" as Beethoven himself wrote on his last string quartet!

Right now, I am investing in the crypto bull run ... in 2025 or 2026, I hope to go the Goethe Institute here in San Francisco, and renew actual lessons with some of these crypto and book profits. I do not flatter myself that I will ever master such a difficult language ... but the life of friendship is to ever seek to understand and love the friend better. That, to me, given how much joy and comfort Germany and its music have given me and still give me, is enough motivation to recall all that I have forgotten, and get further along. I also consider you a Hive friend ... so, it is a labor of love ... eine Arbeit [von] der Liebe.