DIY: Recycling components from an old PC monitor. [ENG+ESP]

in DIYHub2 months ago

Blue Modern Computer Repair Services LinkedIn Post.png


In life there are times when not everything goes as we would like and this applies largely to the world of electronics. Today I will tell you how I got my hands on a monitor that was destined for the trash, but thanks to my father-in-law I got my hands on it.

The monitor in question only had a damaged screen and several fractures in different parts of its casing. Seeing the state it was in, it was obvious that I could not repair it, since I did not know how damaged it was inside and I did not have the display that this monitor has. So without further hesitation I invite you to see how little by little I was reviewing what components of the monitor I could rescue and reuse in future projects.

En la vida hay momentos en los que no todo sale como quisiéramos y esto se aplica en gran medida al mundo de la electrónica. El día de hoy les contaré como llegó a mis manos un monitor cuyo destino era la basura, pero gracias a mi suegro llegó a mis manos.

Al monitor en cuestión solo se le veía dañada la pantalla y traía varias fracturas en distintas partes de su carcasa. Viendo el estado en el que se encontraba, era evidente que no podría repararlo, ya que no sabía cuan dañado estaba por dentro y tampoco poseía el display que lleva este monitor. Así que sin más vacilaciones los invito a ver como poco a poco fui revisando que componentes del monitor podría rescatar y reutilizar en próximos proyectos.


separador Diy Hub.png


Tools // Herramientas

✅ Voltmeter
✅ Screwdrivers
✅ Disassembly levers
✅ Circular brush
✅ Continuity tester

✅ Voltímetro
✅ Desarmadores
✅ Palancas de desmontaje
✅ Brocha circular
✅ Tester de continuidad


20240218_121138-01.jpeg


separador Diy Hub.png


The first thing I did was to remove the base, which was damaged and was barely holding up the structure. Then I used a continuity tester to do a superficial check of the power input to know in advance if there was a possibility of a cut. The results were negative for a break, but I still didn't plug it into power yet.

Lo primero que hice fue retirar la base, la cual estaba dañada y apenas mantenía en pie la estructura. Luego utilice un tester de continuidad para hacer una comprobación superficial de la entrada de alimentación y así saber de antemano si existía la posibilidad de que hubiese un corte. Los resultados dieron negativo a corte, pero aun así no lo enchufe a la corriente, todavía.



The next step was to remove the screws and the outer casing to access the internal components. To do this I used a screwdriver and some disassembly levers to make this process easier.

El siguiente paso consistía en retirar los tornillos y la carcasa exterior para acceder a los componentes internos. Para hacer esto me auxilié de un desarmador y de algunas palancas de desmontaje que hacen este proceso más fácil.



With the back cover removed I could see that the moisture had not reached the back of the monitor, so I decided to connect it to the power supply. To my surprise the screen turned on and was showing signal, although the display was in very bad shape and I would not be able to recover it.

Con la tapa trasera retirada puede observar que la humedad no había llegado a la parte trasera del monitor, así que decidí conectarlo a la corriente. Para mi sorpresa la pantalla encendió y mostraba señal, aunque el display estaba en muy mal estado y no podría recuperarlo.



At this point it was clear to me that repair was not going to be possible, so the only other option left was to use it as a huge studio lamp. For this I had to continue disassembling the screen to remove all traces of dirt and residual moisture.

Llegados a este punto ya tenía claro que la reparación no iba a ser posible, así que la otra opción que me quedaba era utilizarlo como una enorme lámpara de estudio. Para esto tenía que continuar desarmando la pantalla para eliminar todo rastro de suciedad y humedad residual.



As I was well aware, the monitor had powered up with no problems, which meant that the board and other electrical components were in perfect condition. With this in mind I carefully removed it and put it away safely, since regardless of whether I could make a lamp or not, the only thing that would truly be useful to me is this piece.

Como bien sabía, el monitor había encendido sin problemas, lo cual significaba que la placa y demás componentes eléctricos estaba en perfectas condiciones. Teniendo en cuenta esto la retiré con cuidado y la puse a salvo, ya que independientemente de si pudiese hacer una lámpara o no, lo único que verdaderamente me sería útil es esta pieza.



With the most important part safe it was time to remove the display, as it emanated a strong odor because it was a little swollen and had some crackles. To do this it is necessary to disassemble some metal bands that it has all around the edge. These bands were in terrible conditions due to the humidity to which they had been exposed.

Con la pieza más importante a salvo era hora de retirar el display, ya que de él emanaba un olor bastante fuerte debido a que estaba un poco hinchado y tenía gritas. Para hacer esto es necesario desmontar unos cintillos metálicos que tiene por todo el borde. Estos cintillos se encontraban en pésimas condiciones debido a la humedad a la que habían sido expuestos.



Once the metal straps had been removed, I just had to use a screwdriver and remove the display plate, which is screwed to the back of the screen. This plate seemed to be in good condition, so I decided to keep it even though I am not good at micro soldering.

Una vez los cintillos metálicos habían sido retirados, solo debía que hacer uso de un desarmador y retirar la placa del display, la cual está atornillada en la parte trasera de la pantalla. Esta placa parecía estar en buena condición, así que decidí conservarla aunque no se me da bien la micro soldadura.



From now on I would work on the base of the lamp I wanted to make. For this I removed a plastic frame that had the screen on the edge and thank goodness I didn't need to use it because in the procedure it broke. I also removed the reflective sheets that most LCD screens come with and reconnected the power supply to the lamps.

A partir de ahora trabajaría sobre la base de la lámpara que quería hacer. Para esto retiré un marco platico que tenía la pantalla en el borde y menos mal que no necesitaba usarlo porque en el procedimiento se partió. También extraje las láminas reflectantes que traen la mayoría de pantallas LCD y reconecte la alimentación de las lámparas.



When I plugged everything into the power supply I could see that unfortunately the moisture had also wreaked havoc on the deeper layer of the shade. I was then presented with the dilemma of leaving the lamp like that or continuing with the disassembly to clean the back of the acrylic. I decided on the second option and removed the acrylic piece along with the lamps.

Unfortunately, after cleaning everything, I plugged it back in and the lamps did not light. After checking them I realized that I had cut them and they were unusable. So I can only assume that I had charged them during disassembly 🤷‍♂.

Al conectar todo a la corriente pude ver que por desgracia la humedad también había hecho estragos en la capa más profunda de la pantalla. Entonces se me presento el dilema de dejar así la lámpara o continuar con el desarme para limpiar la parte trasera del acrílico. Me decidí por la segunda opción y retiré la pieza de acrílico junto con las lámparas.

Lamentablemente, luego de limpiar todo lo conecte nuevamente y las lámparas no prendieron. Luego de revisarlas me percaté de que había hecho corte y estaban inutilizables. Así que solo me queda suponer que me las había cargado durante el desarme 🤷‍♂.



Now all the plans had gone down the drain and all I had left was the board with the electrical components. And to make sure it was still working I connected it to the power to check that the lamp connections still had the correct voltage. Luckily everything was still working and at least I can save that.

Ahora sí que todos los planes se habían ido por el retrete y solo me quedaba la placa con los componentes eléctricos. Y para asegurarme de que todavía funcionaba la conecté a la corriente para comprobar que las conexiones de las lámparas aún tuviesen un voltaje correcto. Por suerte todo seguía funcionando y al menos puede salvar eso.



And then this would be the end. By way of summary I can tell you that as such you can take advantage of the acrylic plate, the reflective sheets and all the electrical components. These elements will soon be reused in new projects.

Y pues este sería el final. A modo de resumen les puedo decir que como tal puede aprovechar la placa de acrílico, las láminas reflectantes y todos los componentes eléctricos. Estos elementos serán reutilizados próximamente en nuevos proyectos.



separador Diy Hub.png


2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHwFmYKkraGFYmHjrWK4gjrnfbYnAEWgiu7haPNvaeCAPaoSvqgV87wSQda4UzpKaAEHTpcJz95U6thCwr6azqBiXRtBeAZZKTgmJcpei7ZhAZjyFv7g.png

Thank you very much for reading my post. If you liked it, please leave a comment and consider following me so you don't miss my next posts. I'd love to know your opinion and your thoughts about the topic I discussed in this post, see you in the next one!

Muchas gracias por leer mi post. Si te gustó, por favor deja un comentario y considera seguirme para no perderte mis próximas publicaciones. Me encantaría saber tu opinión y tus ideas sobre el tema que traté en este post. ¡Nos vemos en el próximo!

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHwFmYKkraGFYmHjrWK4gjrnfbYnAEWgiu7haPNvaeCAPaoSvqgV87wSQda4UzpKaAEHTpcJz95U6thCwr6azqBiXRtBeAZZKTgmJcpei7ZhAZjyFv7g.png

Cover page created in Canva

Translated by DeepL

published with ecency gif.gif

Diseño sin título (2).gif

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @edeyglezsosa.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Eres muy bueno en lo que ases felicidades

Muchas Gracias 🫂

!discovery 30
!DIY

Thank you very much for your support.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 2 months ago  

Those parts would definitely come in handy. Great thinking

Yes. Mainly the electrical component part which was in perfect condition.

Oh so it was even working when you checked
This is such a skill I wish I had
Unfortunately I’m just not a big fan of electronics
Unless maybe you teach me😅

It would be a pleasure for me to teach you some electronics. However I will continue to upload this type of content for you to learn.

Alright
Thank you

tremendo trabajo has realizado

Gracias 🫂

Hola, a mi me gusta también conocer el funcionamiento de las cosas eléctricas del hogary he hecho pequeñas reparaciones, pero no se usar los testers y tengo poco tiempo. Gracias por compartir, felicidades.

Gracias a ti por detenerte a leer.