STYLING AN OFFICE SKIRT

in DIYHublast month

Hello everyone,
My name is @gemangel, and I’m excited to make my first post in this community and also, share with you one of my passions, sewing.


Today, I will be making an office skirt with side plating. Before I kick off, I would like to share with you a short story of how I learned how to sew.


It was only for a short period of time in my life that I was really idle. At that time, I was already awaiting admission to the university and wasn’t sure if it was going to come, so I decided to get my hands busy with something I love, fashion. Long story short, one month into my sewing classes, I received my admission letter and had to stop halfway through to continue with my education.

This image was edited with InShot


It was sort of bittersweet for me. From this story, I’m guessing a lot of you could have by now figured within one month there was not much I could learn to become a professional seamstress.


This images was edited with InShot


Well, you guessed wrong. I had learned how to sew a simple straight skirt, and I was in the middle of learning how to perfect a top when I was stopped halfway by a call to acquire more knowledge and chase bigger dreams.

This image was editted with InShot


Yet again, I will cut the long story short by saying I used my limited knowledge of sewing to perfect bigger styles like flare skirts, dinner dresses, and so on.


However, this is my first time trying this style, and I didn’t know what to expect.
I started by taking my measurements.
Length
Waist
Hips and waist to hips
Since it was an elastic fabric, I did need a zipper or darts. I used crepe fabric, which was approximately one and a half fabric materials, to make this skirt, and with the help of my cutting paper, I drafted the back and front patterns. When I got to the front part, I slammed and spread, then carefully calved out the front. This skirt took more than 6 hours to make; it was my first time, and I tried not to make any mistakes.


So tell me, knowing you know about the circumstances surrounding my learning how to sew and the fact that it is my first time, how do you think I did?

Thanks for Reading. I look forward to sharing more creative content with this wonderful community.

Sort:  
 last month  

welcome to the community. That's a really nice skirt.

Thanks you🤝

Very nice 👍 👌 wow

Thanks😊

Congratulations @gemangel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

We are glad to have you join us here, the skirt is indeed beautiful and you rock it real good.

Thanks a lot, I’m glad to be here as well