I designed a beautiful shift dress for a kind hearted woman

in DIYHub8 months ago (edited)

I recently moved to a new neighborhood and for the past five months my experience living there has been very peaceful compared to my previous location, starting from the owners of my apartment, the Landlord, and his wife are very friendly, which is kind of rare, the reason why a lot of tenants prefer not renting an apartment where the landlord resides in, because some Nigerian landlord can disturb their tenant a lot, they want to be regarded as mini-god and therefore makes life difficult and tiring for their tenants, that was the story of my life in my previous residence, and when I started searching for a new apartment and liked this current one out of several others showed to me by the house agent,I felt downcasted upon realizing the landlord lives in the same compound, so it's just the landlord's family and my family in the compound, no other tenant, which means less crowd, it is a good deal, renting a comfortable space with an affordable amount, I accepted to pay for the apartment.

png_20231201_135615_0000.pngImage designed using canva

And so far living with them, they are the kindest of souls, we are more like one family now, and all those fears I had about having a tyrant landlord are all gone now, So it's my Land Lady's birthday today, she is a very calm and loving woman, I decided to make a dress as a gift for her, studying her style of dressing, I've come to know she likes simple shift dresses, so I decided to make one for her, which I gifted her this morning, she was very happy to receive the shift dress I made her and said she wasn't expecting anyone to gift her something for her birthday, she thought I had forgotten since she only told me about her birthday once, but no, I didn't, since she is almost my birthday mate, mine is December 7.

Without further ado, I'll be sharing with you today how I made this simple yet beautiful shift dress, it's easy to make, and anyone with a little knowledge of sewing can recreate this design.

Materials Needed

IMG_20231130_174243_070.jpg

  • Ankara fabric
  • Lining
  • Sequin lace
  • Thread
  • Zipper

Cutting and sewing Process

Step 1

I started by drafting and cutting out an A-shape midi gown pattern for both the front and back

IMG_20231130_180418_013.jpg

IMG_20231130_180250_712.jpg

Step 2

Next, I used the sequin lace to cut out a facing which I will use in designing the front neckline

IMG_20231130_175616_267.jpg

IMG_20231130_175949_028.jpg

Step 3

I cut out a basic sleeve pattern and also used the sequin lace as the hem of the sleeve.

IMG_20231201_110046_584.jpg

Step 4

I turned the front and back patterns with their lining for a cleaner finish around the neckline

IMG_20231201_105954_507.jpg

IMG_20231201_110020_518.jpg

Step 5

IMG_20231201_113452_336.jpg

IMG_20231201_113455_902.jpg

Continuing, I joined both the front and back pattern by the shoulders, attached the pocket pattern by their sides, and also joined the sleeves around the armhole

And finally, the dress is ready,

1701434895874.jpg

1701434843306.jpg

1701434964924.jpg

I told you it's an easy-to-make dress right? I hope you were entertained following my DIY Process, it is good to be nice to people around you, we make the world a better place when we do, and spreading love,joy,and gifts to those around us should be a part of us.

All images used in this post are mine

Thank you for reading to this point.❤❤

Sort:  

The dress is looking simple and beautiful and I love simplicity.

Making dress is not so easy also😅. I think you became expert and because of that, it became easier to you.
!PIZZA

Thank you @intishar, yes it wasn't easy at first, time and practice made it easy for me now.

Simplicity beats everything🤗

Congratulations @glorydee! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

 8 months ago  

This dress is very beautiful and stylish. Love its design. Thank you for sharing this.

Thank you very much for your kind words, It's my pleasure🤗

Congratulations @glorydee! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023

untitled.gif

congratulations

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@intishar(3/5) tipped @glorydee

Indeed we make the world a better place when we share gifts and kindness and love.

The dress is simple but lovely, that was so thoughtful of you to gift her this gift.

#dreemerforlife

This is a very beautiful dress. It also looks very comfortable and I am sure your Landlady will be very grateful for the gift.

Thank you for sharing.

#dreemerforlife