Inspirational Pottery - A Mug with a Lid

in DIYHublast year

My sister bought a t-shirt that had "No weapon" printed on it. Below those words was printed a biblical reference, Isaiah 54:17. A portion of the scripture states, "No weapon formed against you shall prosper. . ." This is a commonly used saying in the Christian church. There are even gospel songs written with this verse in the lyrics.

When I saw my sister's t-shirt, I became inspired to make her a mug with a lid on my pottery wheel. I have gotten so much better throwing clay on the wheel. I now can sit at the wheel and make practical pottery in a short amount of time and make it look good enough to give it away as a gift.

89A9CAA5-3EAF-4282-9812-F6ECC2918F35.jpeg

I started out with a ball of clay that was less than a pound. I threw it on the wheel and produced a cylindrical shape.

914C4C0D-388D-47FE-A482-B7269658D216.jpeg

I had to clean it up and dry it out until it became leather hard. I also made a handle for the mug. The next step was to make a lid for the mug.

379B9EAD-F907-4774-8CF5-B30986DF5603.jpeg

C16D42F7-8EB7-4D89-8BE9-01AAD1AC6BCE.jpeg

I had to measure the inside diameter of the mug so that the lid would fit right inside. After both pieces were leather hard, then I carved the message that I wanted to appear on the lid and the outside of the mug. I added a piece of clay in an oval shape to the outside of the mug to emphasize the writing.

A7252BF9-29E3-4C79-8E36-3AF42A1AEA8A.jpeg

27A7DA69-7E80-4A9A-8CC3-356C7ED1D305.jpeg

Once the clay became bone dry, it was bisque fired so that I could add a glaze to it. I chose red and black.

8B61F005-EED5-4BEE-BCBD-9433FAF7D09A.jpeg

The color of the clay that I used was a brownish red. The glaze should have been a candy apple red, but the color of the clay made it slightly different.

B6BD6492-99E8-422B-88F2-92E53816CB4F.jpeg

B30F8A18-0F4B-4357-9A82-6247CD37B71B.jpeg

I really like the final result. It does not look like a commercially produced mug, but it has meaning, it is functional, and can be used with hot coffee or tea.

I absolutely love creating things with my own hands. Especially when the things that I can create and make myself can be shared with others. You can always buy an inexpensive mug from the store, but there is nothing better than doing it yourself.

Enjoy your day!

5D2534D7-18A9-4EF6-B48B-EEB7D08A4F47.jpeg

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 last year  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHUB Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator slothlydoesit & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!

This made me nostalgic. Remembering those times we do this as class project.

!discovery
!DIY

!discovery 27


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 last year  
stevenson7 just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!