Trying Natural Pigments For Easter Eggs Again

in DIYHub2 years ago

It's Easter! Rejoice and have a break from a week of hustling mega hard, shall we?

I shall bring you back in time to the moment I put the first eggs to get some paint on them. And I wouldn't be doing it on my own if I weren't hard into one thing — using pure, natural, harmless, natural, also natural pigments that I know of.


Easter_Eggs_01.jpg
The blue one's mine, the yellow ones are my wife's work.

I've got to be honest. I remembered Hibiscus and Curcuma working out for us just fine but this time I picked the wrong kind of curcuma. Reading the word on a box of herbal infusion did not do the trick. Boiling hot water and pouring it over the bags did not work ,either. There were other mixed things and the pigment was not strong enough. My wife later used the real spice in a pure state and it made some eggs excellently yellow.

Easter_Eggs_03.jpg
But let's get back a bit...These are my work.

While the one on the left did not work, the other one would have worked quite fine were I diligent in the procedure.

I did not boil the eggs properly, can you imagine? Because I only make omelettes, I don't usually chose to boil my own eggs. Anyway, it worked for some of the eggs, I did not break them all, after all.


Now...

Hibiscus boiled makes the liquid look pretty red...but it leaves blue stains. A bit like red wine does. So, it's all about how long the egg would stay in the hibiscus infusion before you pull it out. Well, I had no fixing agent such as vinegar, another amateurish mistake of a man not remembering the procedure properly...

Anyway, Some blue hues did appear, and some of them were quite deep.

Of course, were I staying at home during all of this and watching the eggs closely, I would probably have separated a couple who would have been some moderate blue.

But here we go.

Easter_Eggs_02.jpg


Peace!

M.

Sort:  

Hello @manoldonchev,

Nice work and I bet it was a pleasurable activity for both you and your wife.

using pure, natural, harmless, natural, and also natural pigments that I know of.

I particularly like that you've painted these using natural and herbal infusions. I really like that idea. The final colours came out pretty interesting I think.
I have some hibiscus tea, that somehow I'm not so keen on drinking. I was thinking of infusing some for a hair rinse. I've taken note about the colour turning blue...maybe not such a brilliant idea 😂

Ah, reading blogs might help you avoid some blue time with your hair, indeed.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 103 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2