You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A MASTER CARPENTER"S DREAM HOUSE BECOMING A REALITY.

in DIYHub2 years ago

There is more to this than my words can really articulate, but it is legitimately an amazing story to hear. I personally just feel a little sad, as my home country is England and we essentially have no such space. You're lucky in england if you have even a garden at all. Everything feels very cramped, like Harry Potter in a broom cupboard, compared to the vast swathes of Land a hard-working American can acquire.

My expectations of an ideal future would be but a fraction of what I see here, less I become an American citizen haha... but like you say, it sounds perfectly deserved!

Sort:  

He's one of a kind for sure and having him as my brother is a blessing. New York State has a lot of open land, and purchasing a large swath of it is still doable.
I'm not sure I could live in a place like you describe, I tend to get a little strange around a lot of people and totally enjoy the seclusion and privacy that Living where we do brings.
I'm sure you wouldn't have a problem getting into the states, the boarders are wide open.

I've never accepted city life was truly for me. I grew up fairly rural/suburban. There are more people in this city than all of Australia (no exaggeration). But I also have to accept the fact that the opportunities were here. It is ultimately my plan to move back out in the coming couple of years or so finally, but even so, England i'll be lucky to simply get a quaint house with a garden.

Becoming a Mexican refugee over the US border however, that's a tempting idea!

That fact is hard to comprehend.
Many people, including myself, have not lived in their dream location because of the job opportunities available in that location. I did that for 40 years, but I also knew that when it was time to hang up the tool belt I'd be on my way.

You may want to give it a try. 😁

I also knew that when it was time to hang up the tool belt I'd be on my way.

I spent my time until recently idly cruising through life looking for something I didn't know what... well I found her now, so yes, this is more prominently appearing in my thoughts. We're already making steps to do so. It's just a shame the UK is literally crumbling to dust at the moment... bad timing XD