How I made a friendship outfit for myself and my Friend

in DIYHub20 days ago

Hello Hive

Screenshot_20240504-094913.jpg

Today I made a friendship outfit for myself and my friend using the same fabrics. She fell sick this weekend, and I was so worried about her. We became friends while working for a woman at a convenience store, and after seeing how she has been struggling to find a career and footing in life, I have picked some interest in her, hoping that we could work together and I could work out something for her to learn a skill.

Screenshot_20240504-103308.jpg

As a high school leaver, it has been difficult for her to pursue her education due to a lack of funds.
While on the sick bed, she has gone pale and short of breath, and you know just how we get scared when our loved ones become sick due to unknown fears.

Screenshot_20240504-102650.jpg

I have this fabric from a project I just concluded and wanted to share some of it with my friend. I wanted us to have similar outfits that I could use to always remember her and our friendship. I took out the pieces and began to cut and sew a shirt using her measurements.
We will be having the same type of shirt sewn using the same fabric.

Screenshot_20240504-102829.jpg


Screenshot_20240504-102857.jpg


Screenshot_20240504-105512.jpg

This is not the first time I will be making an outfit for her, so I know her measurements well.
Next, I joined the pieces of fabric on my machine, sewed, and woven the edges.

Screenshot_20240504-103129.jpg


Screenshot_20240504-103233.jpg

And here I made a collar for her shirt and fixed it to the neckline.

Screenshot_20240504-103150.jpg

After completing that, I realized that I still had some scrap of the fabric left and tried sewing a palazzo with it.

Here, I used 10” for the crotch and cut each leg of the pattern using the same measurements. The palazzo will be short because of the little fabric left.

Screenshot_20240504-103107.jpg


Screenshot_20240504-103054.jpg

Next, I had to join several pieces of the fabric left in order to get a band for the waist.
Here is how to fix an elastic to the waist band. I was learning how to do it the professional way. Although I made a lot of mistakes, the subsequent ones will be better.

Screenshot_20240504-103008.jpg

After joining the band to the waist of the palazzo, I had a very useful trouser to go with my shirt. I wished that I had more of it left so that I could make a pant for my friend too.

Screenshot_20240504-102932.jpg


Screenshot_20240504-102954.jpg

This is one mistake I have often made: not knowing the exact amount of fabric that will be enough to make an outfit for either one or two people. We really need those calculations so as not to get short on fabrics each time we want to do a project.

Screenshot_20240504-102551.jpg

This was how I was able to use my left-over fabric from my last project to make a friendship outfit for myself and my friend.

I was happy to see her this morning feeling better, and we did take some shorts. Creating memories like this is very important, not in the face of death alone, but when our friends and loved ones are far away. We will always have something to remember each other for.

What do you think of our shirt.
My first time making a shirt for myself and now I had to practice making another for my friend as well.

All images are mine .

Thank you for stopping by.

Sort:  

This is beautiful, please is there space for more friends? I am interested if not I'll sha squeeze myself in by force🤭 so I can also get new outfit🤗.

😂😂😂😂😂😂.
Come and enter friendship ooo
Application is still open before portal close

You dont wanna wear a less quality shirt like this one.
Designers own and better customized ones will look better on you.

🤣🤣🤣 anything coming from you is designers so I'm ok with it.

Abeg no cast me ooo...bikonu 😂

 20 days ago  

What a beautiful matching outfit. Brilliant work

Thank you so much

Whaoo this is beautiful and unique thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much iyawo...

You don come
Watin you de look for
Better go back to honeymoon

😄😄😄😄😄 I have to stay updated

The fabric is nice and the outfit look so good on you and your friend.