Making my first ever Fascinator head wear for my self for a friends wedding

in DIYHub12 days ago

Hello Hive

Screenshot_20240427-115317.jpg

Today we have the wedding of one of my friends and a hiver in this community, Marylove, and I want to use this medium to make a headcover for myself. In recent times, I usually feel very confident wearing a head cover each time I am going to church, but because we have seen some traditional African print fabric for ourselves, it will be totally odd to wear an English beret over our outfits. I have never made a head cover before and really wish to wear something beautiful and decent for the occasion; hence, I decided to see if I could create something fashionable.

IMG_5208-1.jpeg

I have been a good friend to Marylove and have onboarded her to the hive ever since I noticed her creative skills in fashion. I didn't want to mention her name here because I believe that she is coming to give us the full gist of her love story, and I don't want to be a spoiler. It is a beautiful thing to see two hearts become one, and coming to celebrate these people and give them a lovely album is always worth it.

The outfit for the occasion is almost ready, and I will be heading out at about 10 a.m. this morning to grace the occasion, but before that, I had to be sure that I dressed well with something fashionable to cover my hair.

To do this, I picked up these items.

  • Pieces of the sewn fabrics
  • White materials
  • Bonings
  • A candle gum

IMG_5049-1.jpeg

Actually, I wanted to surprise everyone by showing them that one can use traditional fabric to make any type of matching headband for themselves that will look modern. The fabric may be an African print, but we can make something out of it that will match other outfits.

Process

  • Started with adding some stay to make the fabric stiffer to work with.

  • Next, I weaved the edges of the fabrics with my interlock machine.

Screenshot_20240427-091843.jpg

  • I created some circles to pleat the white fabrics all around it.

IMG_5059.jpeg

Screenshot_20240427-091929.jpg

  • The next process I got some bonings, cut a piece of fabric, and stitched them to cover the boning. This will add the elegance required to the headwear.

Screenshot_20240427-091959.jpg

Screenshot_20240427-092110.jpg

  • Then here I used candle gum to stick in some decorative materials to cover the rough edges.

Screenshot_20240427-092132.jpg

Then I needed to add a band or rope that I could use to tie it around my head.

Screenshot_20240427-092015.jpg

This is simple to make, yet very elegant and useful for a stylish head cover. Besides, one can make use of very cheap materials to make something as beautiful as this.

Thank you all for coming around; for now, I am off to enjoy some partying.

Sort:  

So beautiful! I like to use leftover small pieces for hair accessories. I made my daughter's wedding veil from leftover netting and lace from the dresses. !BBH

@monica-ene! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

It’s my first time seeing fascinator with ankara print
It looks really pretty and it stands out.
Well done

This is amazing 😍
Even the color combination is superb

Thanks dear

I loved the colors you used, and the effect you gave it was like a little crown that could be used in some Cosplay! super!

Hahaha, such a crown indeed. Thanks for the kind words dear.

Very stylish! You will look divine....congrats to the happy couple!

Thanks dearie, I love the outcome and so many other people too

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Well done!

Thank you so much 🥳

It looks red carpet friend, this is a lot of elegance, I think you will be the center of attention, you look great with the dress, everything matches perfectly.😁❤️🤗

I already want to see the pictures of this wedding, it has me intrigued, I hope they are very happy.❣️

Oh dearie. Thank you so much.
I had a wonderful time yesterday and will be telling about the story very soon.

It seems you love attending weddings oh anyways the fascinator looks beautiful I hope I get one for myself soon.

Common nah, baby girl has got to have fun too 😂🤗.
Thanks dear.

That's true, Life is just one oh and it would be too boring without fun.