Some of the Jewelry I have made in the last year pt.2

in DIYHub2 years ago (edited)

Hey all me again, wanted to share a piece of DIY jewelry I did. This one is much simpler process wise, no casting really, and all it required was an map torch. I got mine at Home Depot for like $40. Anyway I call this one Lost Time, kind of a deconstructed wristwatch. To me at least it seems more and more that watches don’t exist to tell time they just exist to signal status. The original utility of the timepiece has been supplanted by aesthetics and what once was the technical paradigm shift that allowed transoceanic travel routes to be explored for the first time is now no more significant than a bow in your hair. So why not just torch the whole thing?

And so I did.

F2A9D9C0-D304-4456-B50D-9EA54D5F959F.jpeg

Really came it cool for something which was a complete gamble, what was once a 1929 Bulova Imperiale ladies wristwatch is twisted and contorted into a protest against the concept of time itself.

Really fun to make too, just started melting the watch glass and movement and all, added some little bits of scrap gold and silver to fill in some places and add more shrapnel when needed. In the end it’s one of my favorite pieces as crude and simplistic as it is.

2EA74B53-DD4D-4FC5-9232-45911DE64DF4.jpeg

CC8035EF-DDD0-4DAA-AC5F-C411E3A541B9.jpeg

D61FECAE-D6E1-47E4-B2EF-0AC0B4E07520.jpeg

0B62937A-B172-4D4B-A6DA-4DAEBB9710E3.jpeg

B7543C73-9490-403B-9655-A9D48A88941A.jpeg

Of the four pieces I put up for sale on Mercari, this brutalist statement piece that I thought would never sold was the first to find a home with a really enthusiastic buyer :) very satisfying. Anyway goes to show you the value of a piece is the value your audience sees in it rather than whatever subjective interior criteria you hold your own work to, never hesitate to experiment wildly and exhibit your work publicly. You never know which pieces hit and which miss if you never throw them to the public for scrutiny. Can be psychologically daunting I know but the worst thing that can happen is nothing, seriously, no response is worst case scenario, everything else is good everything else is exposure.

Anyway hope you liked this installment and hope you all have a great night!

Sort:  

Interim level casting can be done with Delft clay, and it will give a surprising result with mapp gas heating. Besides, it's fun to play with!

👍😁💗

Oh definitely, I actually use Delft clay sometimes, with a little $10 crucible and the map torch I sometimes get surprisingly good results. If you’re interested check my blog the last post I submitted here before this one was a big heavy ring I cast in 2 pieces using delft clay. I’ve actually been looking into lost wax lately too but there seems to be a more steep learning curve there and much more drawn out process so I’ve been researching it slowly when I have time. Fun stuff though always new worlds to be explored.

Good on the delft clay! I'm thinking about using a tin can that's stackable as a cope and drag with the clay, just to see if it will work.

I'm looking at 3d wax printing to use for lost wax....

Keep playing!

💗😁💙👍🤠

I like the the tin can idea,if you could use plyers to roll the joining edge in on one it would probably be almost as good as the commercial ones. I actually built two wooden rectangular frames out of plywood scraps for mine. works well, Just lay it on a piece of cardboard on the ground, fill the bottom one, put whatever im casting and some baby powder in and fill it to the top. lift the top frame and run a knife between them and it separates clean at least 80% of the time. then slide the cardboard out from under just in case and pour. And definitely will keep playing, it's like an itch I gotta scratch. I'm sure you know the feeling haha.

Yes I do! I thought I'd look for a can designed to stack. They make them where the bottom of one can sits inside the top of the can below it. Solder on an alignment pin on one, Matching a tube on the other; and it's as good as a commercial unit. I milled one out of a piece of hardwood, but I bet a router would do the same job!

It makes good parts....

I can do a 7 pound brass pour, or the same volume of aluminum.

💗🤠💙👍🤕