Useful 3D printing - Part 1 Office

in DIYHub4 years ago

Here I'm again with a posting on 3D printing. Sometimes people ask me why I have a 3D printer and what am I making. Well basically you can divide my prints in 2 categories: the useful and the decorative ones. I try to find a balance between the two. Off course it's fun to print figurines, decoration ... but it gives a good feeling when you do something "useful" with your investment :)

So here I will show you some of my prints I made since I started with 3D printing in february this year. These prints are all for my desk. I will lpost later the ones I made for the kitchen and the garden as well.

IMG_20200309_114651166.jpg

This one was one of the first things I printed. Sitting at my desk I noticed my screen was a bit too low so I printed a stand. It also had a little shelve where I can put post it notes.

Having a Mac, I hate the fact that you have to charge the Magic Mouse 2 laying upside down. So I found this design that is a stand with build in place to put the charging cable.
IMG20200905WA0002.jpeg

The next thing was a small holder for all my SD cards. Before I always had them laying around and now that's finally a bit organised :)

IMG_20200526_210003519.jpg

I also needed something to put away my pens so I printed a Voronoi pencil holder. Voronoi is a system that divides the space into sub-spaces in an organic way. I love this type of designs!
IMG20200903WA0005.jpeg

Living in a hot climate is not so good for your laptop. The battery heats up pretty well and I wanted to lift my laptop so I had some space underneath for cooling. Yeah, right ... Let's print a laptop stand :)
IMG20200415WA0006.jpeg

Do you also have external HD's? I wanted to have a system to keep the cable together with the harddisk. So I printed a cable holder. I attached it to the HD with an elastic band. No more looking for a cable anymore.
IMG20200503WA0002.jpg

As you can see, the possibilities are endless. If you can design it, you can print it :)
Hope you liked it and maybe it gave you some ideas of what you can do with a 3D printer.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @tibfox & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!