Easy to make shift dress

in DIYHub4 months ago

Hi, fellow diy lovers. Today I will be sharing how I made this beautiful and super easy-to-make shift dress for a customer. This dress is simple and elegant at the same time. Could be worn as an evening dress, for brunch, to church, and many other outings. It is super comfortable and easy to make. It took approximately 10 hours to make because I had to spend extra time trying to gather manually.

Continue reading if you want to see how this dress was made >>

Materials used
4 yards of fabrics
thread
And a sewing machine obviously



The sewing process


I cut out the front and back of the dress. The front has a neckline of 3.5 inches by 4 inches while the back neckline has a neckline of 3.5 inches by 1 inch. The length is slightly above the nipple point and the width is the bust circumference plus 4 inches ease allowance. My customer has a bust circumference of 42 inches plus 4 inches ease allowance which is equal to 46 in total.
The shoulder slope is 1 inch down
the armhole is 23 inches

Note: Whilst cutting I added half an inch sewing allowance all through.

The sleeve is divided into two parts; the main sleeve and the gathered part which will be sewn to the bottom of the main sleeve.
The main sleeve has an armhole of 24 inches which is the same as the armhole for the top and it has a length of 13 inches. The gathered part of the sleeve which is going to be attached to the bottom has a length of 7 inches and is 36 inches long which is double the bottom of the sleeves.

I sewed the upper part I previously cut and sewed the main sleeve together.
The dress has three gathered layers (tier 1, 2, and 3). Tier 1 is 60 inches long with a length of 15 inches. Tier 2 is 90 inches long and has a length of 12 inches. The last tier, tier 3 is 120 inches long and has a length of 10 plus 1 inch hem allowance.

I gathered one side of the tiers and sewed the first tier gathered side to the upper part, then I sewed the tier 1 ungathered part to the tier 2 gathered side, and then I sewed the tier 2 ungathered side to the tier 3 gathered side. I also gathered the bottom of the sleeves and then sewed them together with the main sleeves.

I hemmed the bottom of the dress which is the tier 3 ungathered side. I folded in half an inch as shown in the picture above

I cut the middle of the front neckline about 5 inches deep then I used a one-inch bais I made from the material as an interface.

I sew the interface around the neckline and leave an excess of about 15 inches to serve as a fasten

Voila, This is the final result! I hope you like it ❤️



I hope you enjoy this quick tutorial. Thanks for stopping by and have a fabulous day❤️



All images are mine and the thumbnail was designed using Canva

Sort:  

What a beautiful dress! I love gowns that are comfortable and easy on the body and this blue one looks like it. Well done! You're talented. Keep it up. !LUV 😊
#dreemport

rayoo, kemmyb sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It is beautiful, I have one like that but with short sleeves and shorter dress.

That color is beautiful.

Quedo hermoso, yo tengo uno así pero de mangas cortas y más corto el vestido.

Ese color esta precioso.

Yh, that would be nice too

I’ve always wondered how this dress was made
Your customer will be really happy when she gets her dress because this is really beautiful

She was. Thanks for commenting

 4 months ago  

that is such a nice and elegant dress. Nicely

Shift dress are one of my favorite outfits and this is really beautiful, I love blue too. My only challenge is that I am too lazy to sit and do all the gathers but I will happily rock one if you sew for me.

I swear, the gathers is a lot of work 😭

This is a very detailed tutorial and the dress came out so well.

I popped in from Dreemport because I am an awesome #dreemerforlife.

This is beautiful. I love the color blue. It makes it more attractive to the eyes. Blue colors are always flashy and brings the beauty out. This is a nice one and you did an amazing job here.

I popped in here through #dreemport

Oh didn't know this style is called shift dress. It's beautiful and with this tutorial anyone can make it.
Good job

#dreemerforlife #freecompliments

Wow! This looks very beautiful. Thanks a lot for giving us a detailed tutorial.

#dreemerforlife

Seamstresses amaze me.

I don't think I have this gift. hehehe I will jsut marvel at the ones who do! hehehehe

wonderful job!!! you should have put it on and took a picture modeling it for us!!! hehe