Art Blog #3: With Every Sticky Paper! A Paper Mache Making Experience

in DIYHub13 days ago (edited)

Paper Mache CP (1).png

Konnichiwa Hivers! It's me, your ridgette again, and for today, I'm going to share with you all the process of making my very own paper mache. It's my first time making one, so it was really a challenge for me. I tried to search online for video tutorials, but unfortunately most of them include balloons as one of the materials needed in the making process. I have tried to find a balloon that I could use since last Sunday, but it seems elusive at the moment.

IMG_20240427_073854.jpg

ready to be submitted!

By the way, the paper mache is one of our projects in NSTP, and unfortunately, the deadline is fast approaching. I had no choice but to think of a way to make paper mache without the balloon. Even though it's my first time making it, I already had an idea of how to do so because I have watched some of my upper-grade schoolmates make paper mache before. I somehow still remembered the process, and I initially thought it was easy until I started the making process yesterday. It didn't go the way I wanted, and I really did a couple of trials and errors until I finally landed myself on the right course of my paper mache process.


Materials Needed:

IMG_20240427_073802.jpg

  • Mechanical Pencil (a pencil will do)
  • Eraser
  • Acrylic Paint (black)
  • Poster Paint (yellow and red)
  • Brush
  • Glue
  • Scissors
  • Old Carton
  • Glue Gun
  • Old Medicine Receipts

The Process:

1. Draw a figure of a small cat in a carton.

IMG_20240427_073327.jpg

2. Cut the drawn figure.

IMG_20240427_073211.jpg

3. After you cut it, place it again above the carton and trace its edges. Cut it afterwards.

IMG_20240427_073347.jpg

4. Make a copy of the cut figure, but this time make it smaller.

IMG_20240427_073401.jpg

5. While heating the glue gun, mix some glue with water. Stir it well so that the glue will not clump up.

IMG_20240427_073308.jpg

6. Then, stick the cut figures in descending order.

IMG_20240427_073436.jpg

NOTE: Be extra careful in handling the glue gun for it's really hot!

7. Rip the receipts into shreds.

IMG_20240427_073421.jpg

8. Dip it into the glue and water solution. Make sure it is soaked well.

IMG_20240427_073505.jpg

9. Stick the shredded receipts to the carton figure. Make sure that no space is left uncovered.

IMG_20240427_073450.jpg

10. Crumple some shred and stick it into the front of the figure. Then cover it again with shredded receipts.

IMG_20240427_073539.jpg

IMG_20240427_073525.jpg

11. When you're done sticking the shredded receipts, let them dry.

IMG_20240427_073559.jpg

IMG_20240427_073615.jpg

usually, paper mache dries completely after two days, but it didn't take me a day to make it dry..the heat is really something else!

12. After drying it, decide what color you are going to use to paint it. If you're done deciding, paint it with your chosen color.

IMG_20240427_073627.jpg

13. Make sure that no space is left unpainted. Paint and repaint it until you deem it necessary. If you're satisfied with it, proceed to the next step.

IMG_20240427_073639.jpg

14. Now time for the details. Paint the details on your cat's face.

IMG_20240427_073652.jpg

IMG_20240427_073703.jpg

my first attempt in painting it was kind of flop, so I repaint, repaint, and repaint it until I'm quite satisfied.

15. If you're done with it, proceed to the final step. With the paint brush, apply glue to the entire figure, then let it dry.

IMG_20240427_073722.jpg

IMG_20240427_073737.jpg

NOTE: It's optional to coat it with glue, but for me, I like to have a glossy finish so I coat it...also, the glue prevents the paint from smudging because unlike acrylic, poster paint will really smudge if you touch it, and I already learned my lesson the hard way before..


IMG_20240427_073827.jpg

TADA! IT'S DONE!!


Making the paper mache was probably one of the processes that started so uncertain. My first attempt at adding volume to the cat's head was a flop, but of 'course that didn't stop me from trying again. I tried to use another way to make the cat's head look bigger, so I added a big crumpled piece of paper to its front. Unfortunately, it wouldn't stick, and I ran out of glue sticks, so I had no choice but to abandon the idea of sticking that big crumpled paper. I started to feel impatient when I thought I hit the dead end, but later another idea came up. I crumpled the soaked and shredded receipts, then stuck them. This time, it worked well!

IMG_20240427_074021.jpg

my good old chainsawman toothpick creation...it really took me several days to finish it!

I'm really thankful that I was able to finish it faster than I had anticipated it to be. Based on my past experiences with making projects, it usually took me days or even weeks to finish something like this. I guess I didn't procrastinate this time because I knew that the deadline for this one was fast approaching. Motivation is really important if you want to finish something in a shorter time frame. Also, I'm the type of person who gets bored and distracted easily, so motivation is really essential for me to stay on track.

IMG_20240427_073812.jpg

Overall, like the previous art projects that I have made, the process was also tedious. That's why it is important to visualize the end product so that you'll have something to look forward to. This visualized end product will become one of your motivations that will propel you to finish the making process.

IMG_20240412_162721.jpg

That's all for now, Hivers. I hope that you learned something. See you at my next art blog!

Arigatou Minna-san!

Mata ne~
Sort:  

This is really nice and the painting is very creative. I did a lot of paper marche work in my junior school. Well done dear

Thanks @monica-ene, it's really my first time making paper mache, and I'm glad it turned out good ⁠ꈍ⁠ᴗ⁠ꈍ....

Well done dear.🥳

You are so creative and resourceful Ma'am @ridgette You made a great output out of recycled materials.

Thanks for the compliment @diamondinthesky, it's tedious to do, but after seeing the outcome, it really made me satisfied.

So creative maam,I love it. It's so cute, your painting skills is very nice,I want to try this at home surely will safe this blog for me to try this cute art! Thankyou for sharing this & God bless you maam!

Thanks very much for the compliment @chyxille ꈍ⁠ᴗ⁠ꈍ~♡ and also, you're welcome, it's a pleasure to share my fun experience in making paper mache!

This is so cute! and is really easy! thanks for sharing the step-by-step!

Thank you @pannavi! It's really easy once you get a good grasp of the making process.

Such a cutie.

Thanks @rochtells (⁠灬⁠º⁠‿⁠º⁠灬⁠)⁠♡...

Amazing! When I was in high school, we used to make a lot of paper maches during bulletin board contests and now I see my students love this craft too. Beautiful craft indeed!

Thanks @pinkchic! It's quite funny that I only experience making paper mache now that I'm in college. I don't why my previous teachers didn't let us make paper mache—I mean it's really fun to do, and I really learned something from the making process...

Congratulations @ridgette! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Thanks for the constant update @hivebuzz! I really appreciate it ⁠。⁠•⁠ ⁠ᵕ⁠ ⁠•⁠。.

You're welcome @ridgette.

If you like our badges and us keeping track of your achievements, we need your help!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on our proposal page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248. It won't cost you anything!
Thank you.

You're welcome @ridgette.

If you like our badges and us keeping track of your achievements, we need your help!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on our proposal page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248. It won't cost you anything!
Thank you.

We're pretty much similar in a way. I also need a lot of motivation to finish one project 'cause I always get distracted or sidetracked. Anyway, good job on finishing your project. NSTP is that one minor subject with few major tasks. I've been there last year, good luck on yours!

NSTP is that one minor subject with few major tasks.

Lol, this got me laughing! I really agree with you because, for a minor subject, it sure has a considerable number of major tasks. Also, our class schedule really falls on one of the major days of my week, Sunday. I'm supposed to rest and have fun on this day, but I really need to go to school because I'm obliged to. Thankfully, it's already the second sem, so it will be just a few months more before I'm free from it. Btw, thanks for stopping by @ayane-chan (⁠⁠˘⁠︶⁠˘⁠⁠)⁠.⁠。⁠*⁠♡.

This is creativity, you did so well with the paper marche.

Thanks for the compliment @ene22 。⁠•⁠ ⁠ᵕ⁠ ⁠•⁠。! Btw, thanks for stopping by also...