WE'VE NEARLY FINISHED THE 4X4 EXPEDITION VEHICLE OF OUR DREAMS!

in DIYHub5 months ago

WE'VE NEARLY FINISHED THE 4X4 EXPEDITION VEHICLE OF OUR DREAMS! Well, nearly - we have to say making the Defender 130 into a pop top would be the absolute dream, but hey! Second best dream!

IMG20231203164607.jpg

We're absolutely exhausted. It's the end of term and my brave, resolute and determined husband has not only held down a full time job but has worked incredibly hard to build this one of a kind expedition vehicle. Some days he looks 87, especially with bloodshot eyes from hayfever and lack of sleep. Yet he persists, stoically, admirably. Some days I think he'll collapse - he very nearly does - but a good feed and a good cuddle and he's back on it again.

IMG20231203164551.jpg

IMG20231203164514.jpg

I'm not sure we would have started this project had we known how arduous it would be. But it's looking pretty awesome, so I guess we can live with the grey hairs. When we're on the road, it won't matter. But goodness me, we are now at the point we're feeling damn good about what we've achieved.

The drop down side table has been installed. This is actually from the 130 as we are getting a new one made for that. It's an essential bit of kit - it makes for a lot more space to cook dinner and takes up no room inside. WE didn't want to carry a folding table!

IMG20231126130848.jpg

We decided to clad the left hand side interior wall in cedar. This is nice and lightweight. We used the ridged side that would normally be glued to the floor or wall - it adds some interest.

IMG20231126150409.jpg

The interior frame was my brainwave - we found it hard to find anything to line it with for the circular window so I thought we could put in a square frame instead! I think it looks good.

IMG20231206142746.jpg

IMG20231203165147.jpg

IMG20231203164826.jpg

I wanted to break up the wall a little with a couple of shots from our coast, something from home to take with us. One is my shot of Bells Beach on a big swell, and the other is Dad's. Jamie wouldn't let me as he likes the lines. But I have plans...

Jamie came up with a genius idea for the diesel heater which sits now under the chassis near the petrol tank. It's on a hinged platform that drops down when we need to fill it. That amount of diesel would last about two weeks with it running often. We'll need it in the cooler weather.

I finally found the right doona cover to have both downstairs (the single one for me) and upstairs (double). They were on sale and cheap, and the colours work perfectly.

IMG20231203161517.jpg

IMG20231203161629.jpg

I also made a curtain to go between the cab and the back, which will help trap the heat in the front in colder weather.

I'm sure there's a lot more to talk about, but for now, let me just let out a big WOO HOO!!!!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

I !LUV this project. I just bought an old sedan that I use going around short distances. I don't think I can do anything similar, but I was hoping to make it like a cool old car. You have an amazing husband. 😎

@juanvegetarian sent you LUV 🙂 (1/1)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Haha yes he is amazing!!!!

You can build super cool things in sedans!

I'd be fun to see what I could do with it. Depending on the time I can spare, it might take a while for me to even start. LOL. 😆

Wishing both of you an abundant journey ahead, definitely looks like lot of work is invested on that vehicle.

Thanks mate

I always wanted this for myself this Is beautiful congratulations 🎉

We definitely count ourselves lucky

You guys deserve it enjoy
!ALIVE

@riverflows! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ caelum1infernum. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

It's fabulous! Well done! May it be the envy of all who see it. And may you have the trip you have dreamed of all this time, all ducks in a row, all loved ones healthy enough. xoxoxoxo

Thanks lovely. Fighting with those unruly ducks right now.

Whoo Hoo! Congratulations you both have done a marvelous job creating your dream vehicle. You are going to make so many wonderful memories on your adventures.

Cannot wait!!!!!

Wow! This project is lovely. Well-done This looks very cozy, all I imagine is sipping a coffee while lying down in this cozy car. It is worth the short "WOO HOO!!

Thankyou!!! We can't wait to be on the road

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 42500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 43000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day

I have a lot of questions now. How ? When? Where? This looks like it took a lot of time and energy to accomplish. It’s beautiful.

Haha well one question at a time!

We are putting it on a ship to go to the UK from Australia next Friday.

That’s really lovely

Certainly looking very good, that cover was just the right touch!

Two days to go!! Poor Jamie has a cold but must push on...