Home Remedy: Cough Syrup

in DIYHublast year

Happy Monday!

Belated Happy Mother's Day to all the awesome Hive mommies here. I hope you had a wonderful Mother's Day, surrounded by your babies, young and old, plus your hubby, grand babies, and/or fur babies too if you have any 😊

I had a great one. My mother in law flew in from Hungary, so we dined out for Mother's Day. My youngest made me unicorn bath salt, my husband got me a new phone, not that I needed one, however the company I work at, been sending notifications for employees to upgrade their phones due to data security (but they don't give us $$$$ to upgrade 😁), so now I need one. Short story, I had a great day.

It's red sun and gloomy day here tho. I mentioned before how we have wild fires raging surrounding our town, evacuation orders and alerts been going off on our phones. It's going to be +32 C today even, and to top that, I've been getting asthma attacks when smoggy days started last week. I also don't stop coughing super badly regardless I stay inside.

Went to ER, they couldn't help with the cough (they said it just has to run its course), went through bottles of this and that medicines, nothing worked, it's so frustrating.

Now, for today's sharing. I am trying this home remedy that my coworker mentioned. Which is fermenting onion in honey. Have you heard this cough remedy? Supposedly it's been used for hundreds of years. Crossing my fingers!

20230512_165903_1684179767449.jpg

1 large onion
500 ml honey
3 garlic (optional)

Peel the onion and slice thinly

Peel the garlic and crush roughly.

20230512_165129_1684179798543.jpg

20230512_165210_1684180712668.jpg

Place sliced onion and garlic into a Mason jar and pour in honey.

Cover jar with its lid and let stand on kitchen counter for 12 H. Your honey will no longer be thick as it was, it will be runny. The onion and garlic will be soften, and they will float to the top.

20230512_165443_1684180379885.jpg

20230512_165610_1684180412427.jpg

Strain and chill in the fridge. It is good for 2-3 weeks (supposedly). You don't have to strain it, but it will only be good for a week max.

20230512_165819_1684180444202.jpg

20230513_210957_1684180475746.jpg

Consume per tsp for 2-3 times a day.

I read around, as soon as you feel you are catching cold or flu, a tsp a day is good. However, if you have annoying cough like me, it would take sometime to see result. So yeah, am crossing my fingers 😁 I do have an appointment to see my family doctor at the end of the month, as seriously, this cough has been persistent and annoying AF 😬

I have to mention, this cough syrup doesn't taste like chicken btw! I mean, onion 😁 Yes, the smell is wow, strong of onion, but yes, it tastes just like honey. My youngest has been coughing too, and I have been giving him this as well, a smaller spoon than mine. Today is our day 2, so hopefully there will be good results asap!

Toodles 🤗🤗🤗

Sort:  

Never heard of this natural remedy before buh would love to try it, it's the season where cough fly around over here, lol😁

I'll sure give u my feedback (fingers crossed too)

Sounds good but hopefully you wont catch cold or flu like ever tho 🤣

I hope so too, thanks

Never heard of this remedy. Curious to know if it does help with the cough.

Sadly to day, so far, nada for me. I do have persistent cough since december tho. Doctors cant find nothing 😕

MUY BUENO, LO HE PROBADO Y ES MUY EFECTIVO. SALUDOS Y GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR.

Gracias! Pero...it's not working it seems 😬

My cough has nearly been killing me these few days so much that my stomach/diaphragm hurts when I cough. Gonna try this now as I got a bag of chopped onions in the fridge which I need to use up, and just bought a large jar of honey today coz I been making a lot of honey lemon drink for my cold. Not a good week.

Now you mention it, I do remember someone mention to me previously about using onion to cure cough, might have been to boil water or something. So there maybe something in this old wives tale

Yes, i heard that version as well. St this point, am so frustrated im willing to try anything 😬🤣😬🤣

Oh, yes! Here in Venezuela, most of the grown-ups know about these home remedies, and I surely heard about that onion and honey remedy as well. My sister use to make one with aloe vera, ginger, spinach, garlic, honey, and lemon. She says it works.

This one hasnt shown me any progress sadly, tho!